We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

What a hoot this place is. Friendly staff, thank you Isaac, for your service and humor. The grounds are fabulous and lush. We slept with the doors wide open to our own private patio and view of arenal. It was like sleeping in the jungle but safer. In the morning, I went walking the grounds and got some great pics of nature. Food was good and bed was comfy. All in all a wonderful lush experience. And don't forget the waterfall shower..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    302
    121
    37
    33
See reviews for
304
650
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights and loved it. The pool was nicely kept and clean. The rooms were beautiful-especially the bathroom! I adore the waterfall shower and now want one at home. Our room was a bit dark, but we didn't spend at ton of time there.

The staff was helpful at the desk and in the restaurant. The food at the restaurant was good, the breakfasts were great and the coffee was superb.

I recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen447-447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My boyfriend and I were upgraded to room 401 - Premium Suite Villa. We had our own massive private jacuzzi looking upon the volano. Our villa was secluded from all other villas, it was like our own private hideaway. The villa had two huge bathrooms, one with waterfall shower. Two large bedrooms - one with king bed and the other with two queen beds. The decor is a little outdated but the size of the villa makes up for this.

The staff take you via golf cart to your room. The staff were very friendly, arranged a day tour for us and then dinner at the Tabacon springs - a must see.

Our stay was an absolute steal price wise! $110 a night including breakfast. We would go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Ask for room 401
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

It's a amazing experience for us. Very neat, clean rooms, nice bathroom, great views. The staff made our stay very memorable one. Alexandra, Daniel, Noel, Arlen, Ana and all other staff members took good care of us. You guys ROCK!!.

Keep up the good work guys!

Phani and Surya

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

My family and I decided to make a last minute change to our hotel and decided to call mountain paradise... needless to say was the prefect place!.... without any problems they accommodated our party of 10 and having a small child the staff was extremely accommodating.
Our rooms were clean and very cozy despised their big size, the beds comfortable and the bathroom amazing.
A lot of our family were teens and children and they just loved to heated pool which was very relaxing at night time with the beautiful view of the star fill sky.
The daily breakfast was very typical to Costa Rican culture and was very good. For lunch and dinner we alternated between restaurants that were always good and very accommodating to our large party.
Overall this is a wonderful place to stay, my family loved it!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

After an awful experience at Montanas de Fuego, we moved to Hotel Mountain Paradise. I cannot tell you how wonderful the experience was. They came to pick us up at Montanas de Fuego at 7:30 PM. Upon arrival, we were greeted by fruit cocktails brought to us by Diego, the manager at the hotel restaurant. We quickly checked in and were transported to our rooms.

THE ROOMS

The rooms were amazing! The rooms we stayed in had 2 beds - one king and one queen. The beds were super comfortable and the bedroom spacious. A glass door opens at the foot of the bed to show a breathtaking view of Volcan Arenal. The bathrooms are incredible too. Not only were they HUGE but they also were amazingly clean. The shower is like a waterfall and each bathroom has a privacy toilet. Each room has A/C and heating (I know it’s Costa Rica but believe me the nights are very fresh at least in November which is the time I normally go).

THE AMENITIES

Hotel Mountain Paradise has much to offer by way of amenities. There are two restaurants - one located inside the premises and one located just outside the premises. The restaurant inside the premises offers free breakfast each morning and IT IS GOOD. Fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, and a Costa Rican house breakfast will hit the spot! Diego and his staff are attentive, accommodating and quickly solve any problem you may have. The restaurant outside the premises has lower prices and good food although the plates are smaller.

Both restaurants had amazing views of the volcano!

The pool is heated and the head bartender at the pool, Johan, will impress you! I do not drink alcohol and he accommodated by making me some drinks that were not even on the menu! Ask for the Caribeño - a non-alcoholic wonder by Johan. There are three different pools of varying depth - perfect for children and adults.

Go for a night swim - they are the best!

THE STAFF

The staff is TOP OF THE LINE! Isaac checked us into the hotel and got us accommodated. We have a one year old baby and needed a playpen and a fridge. Isaac was prompt in sending these requests to us! The staff at reception was awesome. Polite, friendly and accommodating your every need.

I mentioned Johan who was awesome at the pool bar. He was always accommodating, had towels for the people swimming and is a good conversationist - not to mention a great bartender.

Diego and his staff at the restaurant were attentive and made sure our experience at the restaurant was first class.

Noel was in charge of tours and adventures at the Hotel Mountain Paradise. We dealt with him on a daily basis. He is the man! He truly loves his job and he genuinely cares for the people in his tour groups. He makes sure you have a great time. While we were there he always had a wonderful disposition to help and make sure your stay was perfect. On tours, he is very knowledgable about the surrounding fauna and wildlife and is always ready to answer questions. He has friends in every town and his charisma, joy, and excitement are contagious. I encourage you to go on the hikes, and the boat safari of Caño Negro - both will impress you and challenge you - plus give you a chance to get a feel for what life in Costa Rica is like.

Along with Noel, Mauricio is one of the drivers. He does an amazing job of keeping the vehicles clean and ready to operate. His driving is smooth, and careful and he has a GPS-like knowledge of the roads.

During one instance my brother and I went into reception to find a customer with some very specific requests about his tours. As I listened to him speak I was sure that they would not be able to accommodate him - but they did. Every single one of his requests was met!

I know I may have left some of the staff out of this review but to a person - every single person on staff is awesome and willing to help in any way they can! I cannot wait for next year!

In all, the stay at Hotel Mountain Paradise was amazing. The prices are right, the rooms are awesome, and the staff is a true partner in your vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Went here on our honeymoon. For my wife and I, it was more of a "home base" during our 3 day stay in Arenal. The hotel was more than accommodating for our tours and late night requests. The room was cool! I would caution those who are easily "bugged out" we had 2 types of showers in our bathroom, but there were plants. Not that thats a bad thing, but the plants weren't in pots, they were growing out of the floor. A little weird for some, I'll admit, but not bad. No internet in the room, have to walk to the restaurant for wifi. Overall the hotel was good, could it have been better, yes. Some room for improvement. But a good job for a US couple looking for jungly accommodations. Would return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ethan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing