We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Bermuda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just come back from a week stay in which we travelled for a wedding from Bermuda that took place at this hotel. Absoultly amazing time , it was paradise !! We enjoyed every moment of our stay . Our rooms was situated nicely with a Volcano view , the rock waterfall shower was great feature, spacious bedrooms and the Jacuzzi on the porch was lovely and it did fit 2 people just comfortably. Brealkfast was really good and Lunch was just as good , we did not eat dinner atthe hotel as we had planned dinners off property most nights .The pool was so relaxing and warm OH! lets not forget our Bartender Brian ak(CHOPPA) his smile was infectious and he was always singing and dancing while serving us our yummy drinks . Weather you are lounging poolside with an umbrella drink or laying off in the hammocks, walking about on property looking at all the birds and animals , it was truly a relaxing time . OH... lets not forget the amazing Volcano view ,on a good day you can see it so clearly. The front office staff were friendly and did try their best to be accomodating . Special Thank you to Christian and Gilberth who were awesome !! What a great asset to Hotel Mountain paradise .Christian & Gilberth helped organize our rooms along with making sure we all had a great time at the wedding that they helped put together so well. The bride wanted to not stress about anything and No stress it was . The hall was beautiful and the food at the wedding was tasty. Patricia in reservations arranged our tours which all was really fun, ATV, Zip-Lining etc.. There are several Hot springs spas in the area which you can reserve for the day and use their facilities .The Town was a 10-15 min drive from the hotel and though it wasnt a big town there was plenty of souvenir shops and resturants to choose from , if you want to go local and try the Typical food than stop by the SODA's they are the local resturants in the towns they are not much to look at and is nothing fancy but for $5 USD you get a full meal and a tasty one at that .All in all Hotel Mountain Paradise in Arenal ,La Fortuna was wonderful we would definaltly come back to stay.

Room Tip: As for a room away from pool area for more privacy Rm #103 was right in the path and your Jacuzzi fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OGBERMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    308
    121
    37
    33
See reviews for
305
659
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife, our 13 year old granddaughter, and I stayed there from 4/12/14 through 4/18/14, a spring break period for many school districts in the US. The hotel is situated about 10 minutes or so by car or taxi outside the town of La Fortuna. It has spectacular views of the Arenal Volcano from pretty much anywhere on the grounds. It is not a large resort so we felt very comfortable about letting our granddaughter wander about the grounds by herself, to the lounge area, to the pool area, to reception, knowing that we could easily find her. There were lots of other kinds there, ranging in age from toddlers to teenagers.

The staff were very welcoming and made an effort to know our names and our preferences. David and Michael in the dining room, Mercy and Esteban in reception, and Chappo (?spelling) the bartender at the wet bar in the pool, were particularly helpful to us. We ate almost all our meals at the hotel because the food was excellent and the service was prompt and professional.

Our room was really an apartment- two bedrooms, two full bathrooms, and a kitchen, with a small private pool on our patio. In truth there was no need to use the private pool since the main pool is heated and had this fabulous wet bar.

It was easy to get into town by either taxi or by shuttle (although the printed shuttle schedule is only approximate) and easy to get back by taxi since there is a central taxi stand in the center of town with taxis always waiting.

Room Tip: our suite and a large double bed for us and another room with two singles, great for a family of fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I'm writing this review because the temperature of the pool was AMAZING. It was so nice to sit in a pool that warm. We stayed in the pool for at least 2 hours. You are able to see the volcano from the pool which is neat. In regards to the rest of the lodge, we stayed 2 nights. The room was interesting with the waterfall shower. It was more fun to look at then actually use. The room was OK. It was very rainy so this caused many earthworms to crawl under the door and into the room. The small hot tub located on the patio was full of bugs so we weren't tempted to use it. Also, it was kind of small for 2 people. The TV in the room is small and strangely located 12 feet high. We ate breakfast and had 1 lunch here. Both were acceptable, no complaints. We went to Benedictus restaurant one night for dinner which is right across the street from HMP. Benedictus was a great experience, just getting there is exciting, I'd highly recommend having dinner there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the reception. We were in the farthest room and it can feel like a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEBSTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my husband's and my second stop on our trip to Costa Rica. The location is good because the resort is located near many of the lovely activities that the area offers. The pool and bartenders were pleasant although the drink quality was lackluster. The grounds are well kept but we found our room to be dark, musty, outdated, with hard beads and a poor value for our money. We were told prior to our arrival that we had a direct view of the volcano but we did not. Breakfast at the restaurant was included in the room fee and offered good variety and was average quality. The first night we had dinner on the premises and found dinner to be inedible overall. I honestly feel bad even writing this review because was are not ones to complain, especially while we are in paradise but I ordered two entrees and found myself unable to eat them even by force. We were not issued a refund on either items and were charged ~70$ for "our meal". My husband ordered a steak that evening which he was able to tolerate but it was also of very poor quality. We were also charged for tap water and the service was subpar. Otherwise we took a taxi to a local steakhouse and were charged $20 for a ride that was <5min away. The third night we walked down the hill to the najara restaurant <1 min walk away and had a lovely dinner with excellent ambiance, quality of food and drinks, and service. We found ourself severely regretting that we had not stayed there instead. On a positive note, the view of arenal from the hotel restaurant was wonderful. In terms of activities, the brochure in the room that list excursions had black marks through several items on the menu, and when we went to book the tours were quoted different prices than what was listed. One of the tours price difference was $100+ more per person. The concierge service gave us the impression that they did not know what they were talking about because of this, and this happened several times over the course of our stay. Because of this we ended up taking taxis directly to the activities that we wanted to engage in. We could not help but feel nickeled and dimmed by the prices that the hotel charged to take us around and ended up just taking one way taxis to various locations and caught a less expensive local taxi back to the resort. As I mentioned I hate to write a poor review but I feel as if there were to many shortcomings to overlook. I would not stay here and again and I do not recommend it to anyone. We actually regret having spent any money here and were glad to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krobs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Staff out due themselves. They will literally bend over backwards for you. Brian "Choppa" The wet bar bartender treats you like he has known you your whole life. He goes over the call of duty to make sue you feel at home. Very friendly caring staff. This is the first place I have been on vacation were I literally have not one complaint. The FREE breakfast is delicious. From eggs made at your request to french toast, rice and beans, fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juices. We were there for a wedding from Bermuda and they over did themselves when preparing and organizing the wedding. From the food the service and the fireworks to the free shuttle and friendly staff I would recommend this hotel 150%. We will definitely be going back. And if your spanish isn't that good. No worries they all speak english and better than you think. Rooms are amazing and huge. Waterfall showers to the jacuzzi on your porch over looking the Volcano.

Room Tip: Cheap rooms and definitely worth the value. 5 stars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our family stayed at Mountain Paradise for one week (April1-7)We were there for our daughters wedding along with family members and friends.
EVERYTHING was amazing.The grounds are beautiful,the pool warm and inviting and can't say enough for the helpful , friendly staff.The food was excellent,the buffet breakfast was perfect....lots of fresh fruit,eggs made at your request,pancakes,french toast....everything and more! We had breakfast,lunch and dinner and all was delicious.
The staff outdid themselves with the wedding.If you are looking to have a PERFECT ( and fun ) wedding Mountain Paradise Hotel is the best! Highly recommend the fireworks.
Amazing place , amazing people, amazing service!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We loved how the rooms felt like little cottages and it was very quiet. The room was very large and perfect for what we needed. The free breakfast was great. We especially loved Brian at the pool bar. He was fun and sweet. I loved watching him dance to the music. The front desk staff was helpful in booking us an outing and making sure we made it.
My only complaint would be they need more chairs at the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing