We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place, Better People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, Better People”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We visited this lovely place after going to the Tabacon resort our previous three visits. While Tabacon has moved away from his roots and became very sterile and formal, Mountain Paradise offered what we remembered from our first trip to La Fortuna, great service, wonderful views and privacy in a great room. We rented a room with a plunge pool and was very lucky to have a clear view of the volcano in the afternoon (no clouds at all) from our pool - simply breathtaking!

Room Tip: Make sure you get room with plunge pool near top of hill - if clouds aren't there - great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatorgolf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    317
    124
    37
    36
See reviews for
313
668
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is gorgeous! From the wonderful customer service to the beautiful breathtaking views of the volcano! We had a hard time leaving, because we loved it so much! It was clean, comfortable, the food was delicious and the room design was beautiful, it was very private and secluded enough to feel secure. We had outstanding service, Julio Morales Ulloa provided awesome attention! Thank you, Julio! I do not have one single complaint!!!! Many people can say that WiFi was the only issue(WiFi in the room was not offered) but COME ON! why in the world do you need to be using WiFi in your rooms? Isn't that what a tropical vacation is all about? being AWAY from the social media noise! and If you truly need to be in touch with those overseas, than relax at the pool with your phone! They have great connection from reception, pool and dinning area!

El hotel is algo hermoso! Desde que llegamos nos encanto la vista del volcan, la comida riquisima y la attencion fabulosa! No nos podemos quejar de absolutamente nada! Como Nacional, puedo decir que estoy muy orgullosa de decir que tenemos lugares hermosos con servicio excellente como aqui, en Mountain Paradise. Les recomiendo que se queden aca y que prueven lo que es "vivir la vida buena!"

Room Tip: Wake up a bit earlier to see the beautiful view of the volcano! You'll get beautiful pictures an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a week during spring break, Beautiful hotel and the staffs were very helpful. Booked a suite condo with own swimming pool. Condo was very well decorated and the beds were surprisingly comfortable with mosquito nets though there was no mosquito in the room at any given time. Very large suite with a wonderful bath with showers and artificial falls. Service were very fast and the staffs were very helpful, nothing took more than 5 to 10 mins to get to the room even during their busiest week.

Breakfast was wonderful with very good costa rican foods and order to make omelette.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Black H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel has a gorgeous volcano view. A lot of fun activities close by- some tours we did outside of the hotel-otherwise they arrange them for you and you don't have to drive.
The food needs improvement-I would recommend eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was very comfortable for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caspatlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

LOVED this hotel! It's actually better than the pictures. It's like the name days, paradise. The restaraunt is great and reasonably priced compared to the restraunts in town. The people were super friendly and eager to please. The only negative is the patio door leaves a gap and some bugs get in. Not an much as I thought, just a couple. If we return to Costa Rica, we will definitely stay here

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maypearltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo beach
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful resort with great rooms and a wonderful staff! The bathrooms are incredible. Tremendous view of Arenal and super close to the La Fortuna waterfall. You feel like you are at the base of the volcano at this resort.

While sitting at dinner at the restaurant we watched the cone if the volcano play hide and seek behind the clouds. Great hotel staff with a great sense of humor!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keithcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hotel was nice. Restaurant was the worst meal I have had in years. Went to La Fortuna everyday after we tried the restaurant to pick up some carry out. Pool is heated and really nice. Had a great view of the volcano.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriss V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,851 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,818 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing