We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
1 review
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

Would like to thank the entire staff for the great service...highly recommend! The pool had a great view of the volcano.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alexei5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    302
    121
    37
    33
See reviews for
304
650
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

We stayed at Mountain Paradise for 4 nights in early October. Although it as about 2km down an unpaved road, a 4x4 is not needed.

The rooms were some of the nicest I have had to pleasure of booking. The rooms are quite large and the showers are great (massaging and waterfall showers). We had a good view of the volcano from the front patio, and the hummingbirds were constantly flying arounds the vegetation closeby. We also had a couple visits from the tame bunnies that roam around the resort.

A buffet breakfast is provided in the morning at the resort's restaurant and features a good variety of cold and hot items including an ommlete station. Otherwise the dining at the resort was a little expensive, and although they tried to be "gourmet", the food fell a little flat in the execution.

For the most part, the staff was friendly and helpful. We did have a little trouble getting them to setup a reservation for Eco Thermales, but is was no big deal. They were having some problems with the phone and internet systems. I'm not sure if was just a resort problem or more widespread. A couple small issues with the room were taken care of quickly.

The location is convenient to the town of La Fortuna and the unpaved road to Arenal Observatory Lodge/SkyTrek. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Mountain Paradise and would consider it again if the price was good.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank racintiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

Don't plan on any help if you have a problem at this place. We went on a tour of the volcano and came back to find that our computer had been taken from our room out of our back pack along with numberous other small electronics by one of the personnel. Someone who had a key Which is quit a tragedy. It was a nice place to stay. We recieved no help in finding our computer or creating a police report. We want all who decide to stay here to remained armed and guarded.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wounded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

My Boyfriend and I stayed at Mountain Paradise and from our arrival to our departure it was a wonderful experience. The staff are very friendly and help you in any way possible. The hotel offers free transportation to and from La Fortuna (Where the waterfalls are located) They have a wide variety of activities to choose from. Our room had a wonderful view of the volcano, 2 rocking chairs and a jacuzzi on the back. The beds are very BIG and COMFY. The bathrooms were very attractive - they have a regular shower that massages you and a waterfall shower. (AMAZING). During the day you hear the humming birds singing, and you see them feeding off the beautiful gardens that are literally outside your room. I give this place 110%. The pool is beautiful and it also has a bar. The hotel has a very nice restaurant, Spa, & souvenier store ...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiTravelers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

This place in incredable def/hidden jew one of my greatest experieces, to be honest the best by far the most beatifull place I'd ever been... The view is amazing, went down the with my family needed a get away and boy I tell you wondelful experience the staff was incredable, not only did they speak english but made us feel as one of their own, very caring/warm people, i was very impressed all and all beyon my expectations...
Very romantic place at night time, I recomend the hiking to the volcano the sight s unreal it makes u feel like an Indiana Jones movie. the kids enjoyed the pool to the max, the food top notch and finaly got to taste the so famous "Gallo Pinto" for breakfast, its to die for...
My wife is already talking about taking an other trip and nonstop talking about the spa and the pampering...

No cons to this hidden jew if you're in Costa Rica some time u should consider checking this place out...

Indeed paradise feel free to contact me...

Marvin Morgan
Boston, Ma
mmorgan4@partners.org

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toppdogg617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

All the comments about the hotel being "paradise" are true! The grounds are fantastic, the view of the volcano is superb - although the top can be covered sometimes. The hotel as some very unique design aspects that make it very nice. The showers, patios with jacuzzis and the open air restaurant.
The biggest draw to this hotel is the service. After reading some reviews where people said the service was sub-par I couldn't believe my eyes! Unfortunately, those people must expect to be treated like royalty because our service was fantastic. The front desk will set up anything for you and are always willing to make your stay more comfortable. The wait staff at the restaurant was extremely attentive and anyone working was polite and helpful. After setting up tours with the hotel through several of the tour companies in town the evening before the front desk had a a golf cart outside our door to pick us up in the morning the second we walked out the door. It is a quiet relaxing place which is great after a day of trekking around in the rainforest.
The food was great in the restaurant for dinner and lunch - we only had breakfast once and it was a typical buffet. Coming from New York the value of the food was wonderful.
We booked everything through the hotel and although we might have paid about $10 more - it was well worth it! They make all the arrangements and have the tour company pick you up and drop you off right at the hotel.
Stay here - you will love it!
**do the horseback riding tour to the waterfall and canoe trip (our guide Julio was fantastic if you can get him)
**the night volcano tour is worth it just be prepared for a very bumpy ride!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelloK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

This hotel was the favorite of our trip. It was beautiful! The view of the volcano was awesome, the grounds were beautiful and the staff was very attentive. If i return to this area I would not hesistate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing