We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$153
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$531
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$341
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$157
US$126
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$509
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,412)
Filter reviews
1,412 results
Traveller rating
815
368
143
47
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
368
143
47
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfall showerregular showerswim up barcosta ricaheated poolla fortunaarenal volcanowet barrocking chairsfree shuttlegolf cartlive plantsmaster suiteking bedprivate patiohotel grounds areour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,059 - 1,064 of 1,412 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Mountain Paradise Hotel was a 5-star (diamond) experience in a one owner/operator hotel. With exemplary service and first-class accomodations, Mountain Paradise offers the feel of a high-end flag-operator in a world-class location. The owner has plucked staff out of the hospitality and lodging world from locations such as the Four Seasons and allowed them to put their fingerprints on their collective areas of experience and wisdom, relying on their training in those areas, and it has worked. What a wonderful place to stay. I would highly, highly recommend Mountain Paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reedskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We stayed here for two nights, in a premium suite, and there were three in our party. The hotel staff was accommodating and friendly, the grounds were beautiful, and the rooms themselves were nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The room was very near the pool (still completely private) which was very nice. The breakfast they served was excellent, and we had a wonderful stay. I would certainly go back (and still probably wouldn't see the volcano given my luck).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_dream_of_travelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Forget that there is an enormous, picturesque Volcano dominating the landscape from almost anywhere on the hotel grounds. There is, but it is just icing on the cake. The service from the minute we walked in the lobby was fantastic. They were very attentive to every detail (as we were being driven via golf cart to our suite, we asked about towels at the pool and within 2 minutes of being in our room, pool towels were delivered). The bar staff, especially Ivan, was exceptional and catered to our needs wherever we were, whether it be in the pool, in our room, or in the restaurant. The rooms were large and very well appointed. The pool area was something special and we had a hard time getting out of it. The aromatherapy massage was out of this world!! All in all, this was a GREAT experience and my wife could not have been happier. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Arenal and I haven't even mentioned the spectacular bathrooms yet!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaydog-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

This hotel surely comes up to its name. It is a real paradise to stay here. The rooms are very spacious and the bathroom is ridiculously huge. There is a shower and a waterfall you can shower in. Just amazing. The bed are very big and offer a great sleep. There is jacuzzi to the bungalow but it's a bit too small. On the other had we weren't there to sit in the jacuzzi so didn't really mind.
The only downside about the rooms is the fact that it can be incredibly humid. But that's probably because the roof is wood and a lot of humidity comes from outside. So if you are trying to dry any clothes in here you better use the laundry service.
The restaurant is above average but again prices are too high. I have even seen stickers that were place OVER the low season rates. So if you know that they charge at least 30% less on their food during low season....
The pool is great altho you won't see a lot of people in it to my experience.
So put it all together and you have a great hotel with great staff and nice rooms.
Another great feature is the free wifi on the whole property. So for those who can't live without the internet....this is a nice place. I do recommend getting out of your hotelroom and exploring the area tho. :)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwinaarschot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at this resort outside Fortuna. While there are many places on the road outside Fortuna, this was great. No hidden surprises - except that it was very clean(recently renovated) with beautiful accomodations. Our bathroom had a waterfall shower, very comfortable beds and a big TV with cable. Just outside were flowers and hummingbirds while the pool included a swim up bar and hot tub. There's an entrance gate on the access road that is staffed 24 hours a day really eliminating any concerns over safety. Moreover it imparted a sense of comfort and relaxation as if you were in your own little compound. You'll probably want access to LaFortuna for exploring and outside dinners... and they run a free shuttle but its hours are limited. A cab arrives quickly and costs around $10 US to get downtown. We were doing a lot of activities so we were happy to come home to a quiet place. The staff is very accommodating and will try to do anything you ask of them.
But the most noteable aspect of this place is IVAN. Our host in the food and service division. He was there not only to make sure we had what we needed but even more to make sure we had a great time. The first night we ordered from the menu - I recommend local fish -it's awesome but my son liked the meat as well - I guess they have a fair amount of local beef. Then we came home tired from a rappelling trip and asked Ivan to make us a dinner - whatever he had fresh. Man that was awesome! They'd knock you over the head here for that kind of idea in terms of cost but he had as much fun doing it as we did eating it. And it was no more expensive than the standard menu items. And one day the kitchen made a lunch for us to go as we had a long trip to a rafting expedition. we also had a meal sent to our room and that was no problem.
On the occasion that no one was at the pool bar when I wanted a beer i simply helped myself and squared-up with them when they came over. It all added up to relaxation.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohiotraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews