We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Even Better Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Even Better Service”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Upon arriving at Mountain Paradise, my new wife and I were greeted with warm towels which were nice after a long car ride. After checking in we were taken to our room. It had a spectacular view of the Volcano, spacious bathroom, nice little patio with a jacuzzi and every single member of the staff had a beaming smile. The pool is nice with a swim-up bar and usually a friendly bartender offering his knowledge of the surrounding area. There are infinite activities to do every day as any traveler to the Arenal area probably already knows. The hotel already has a convenient list of these activities for you to chose from but they are also very helpful in making other arrangements as well.
Breakfast and dinner are both awesome at the restaurant. The complimentary breakfast includes the best fresh fruit and juice along with a traditional rice and beans, eggs, plantains, etc. The manager, Ivan, went out of his way to remember our names, make us feel at home and educate us about the best things to do. We had already reserved a particular canopy tour and upon hearing this, he wisely directed us to a different one which was incredible. He also offered a delicious dinner menu with different specials every night including an incredible tuna dish that was as fresh as it gets. The hotel also drove us up to the side of the volcano so that we could see some lava flowing down at night. The grounds are well kept with beautiful flowering tropical plants everywhere. The staff is amazing and accommodating. In this area you don't spend much time at your hotel, but when you do, Mountain Paradise makes the experience one you will not soon forget. Thanks again, Ivan.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dextersjungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    325
    129
    41
    36
See reviews for
326
675
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

La Fortuna was a last minute decision for our trip to Costa Rica. We stayed only one night at the Mountain Paradise, so we didn't get to fully appreciate the experience. When we arrived, the girl at the front desk came to us with cold towels and a smile. What a great first impression. We were taken by golf cart to our room which was spectacular with french doors that opened to our 'back yard' complete with hummingbirds and a jetted tub. The grounds were lush and beautifully kept and every bungalow was secluded. Shortly after our arrival, the front desk called to ask if we wanted to take a free night trip to the volcano. It was raining hard, but we went and saw the lava rushing down the side of the volcano. The air conditioning in the room was the best we found in Costa Rica. Breakfast the next morning was great and the orange juice was so sweet it must have had some strawberries in it as well. If we had this trip to do all over again, we would have stayed an extra day or two at the Mountain Paradise.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregontina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2010

From myn first step on the property, the lobby, the room, the resturant, and the wet bar awesome! Than there is Ivan the food and beverage Manager great person I believe we made a freind for life, always ready to help you with any need. than their is Roy the wet bar Manager great Kid hardv worker very informative and knowledgeable, than we have Arenia the Chef great personnallity and an even better Chef, and lets not forget Fabien the Head Maintenace man I liked calling him Johnny on the spot, and we have the Front desk staff especially Magali went out of her way to help us with our tour company, and last but not least the owners Mr. & Mrs. Soto and their lettle boy I believe it all strats with their hard work and Ethic. Over all we had a GREAT time...........

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gator6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (California), California
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Rooms were spacious. Staff was attentive and friendly. Short drive (or shuttle ride) to La Fortuna and is very accessible to all adventures . It was a nice relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dahmdahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Hello fellow travellers!

Myself and two friends travelled to Arenal in Costa Rica in April 2010, and booked the Mountain Paradise Hotel with Expedia for 4 nights - based on comments posted here and a friends personal recommendation. We were NOT disappointed!! The hotel is gorgeous with lovely grounds, beautiful heated pool with a swim-up bar and a view of the volcano, huge tasty breakfasts (rice & beans anyone!), helpful and friendly staff who genuinely seem to enjoy their jobs.

The hotel is not within walking distance to La Fortuna (town) but that never posed a problem as taxis were easy to arrange and cheap.

We stayed in one of the Premium Suites as there were 3 of us - it was just perfect. Clean, great view of the volcano, looks exactly like the website picture, waterfall in the bathroom (yes, you read right!!)...and everyday there was a different animal made from bath towels on the bed!!

We loved our stay here and will definitely come back, if we are lucky enough to be in Costa Rica again! Also make sure you contact Desafio Adventure Company for ziplining, canyoneering, whitewater rafting - fantastic guides! And say hi to Diego and Carlos for us!

Bek, Georgia & Tammy

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2010

The staff were all very friendly & service with a smile which is ALWAYS VALUABLE when you are the customer. It makes you and them feel great. My partner and I were confirmed for 2 nights and we needed to extend our stay for 1 more night which was no worries with the owner. We were able to bargain for the 3rd night for our rate plus the tax.

You'll be amazed with the fabulous decoration in your bathroom which has 2 showers: a waterfall one and a regular shower.

I fell in love with the property since majority of the rooms all have a jacuzzi outside the patio area with some privacy.

Security is awesome since its 24 hours here so you are definitely safe here at this property. The property is only 3 years old from what the owner told us.
The location is great to plenty of tourist attractions such as the Arenal Observatory Lodge and to town-La Fortuna both less than 20 minutes away via car.

My only drawback was the free wireless Internet did not work on my netbook in our room #319. However, it worked awesome once we took it to the lobby or restaurant.


I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this property to anyone visiting La Fortuna area.

I definitely would re-consider staying here upon my return trips back to La Fortuna, Costa Rica in the very near future.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckaoworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mine Hill, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We stayed here for the first half (3 nights) of our honeymoon from 4/2-4/5 2010. Having never been to Costa Rica before, we didn't really know what to expect. Once we arrived at the Hotel Mountain Paradise we were taken aback by the view and the location, not to mention a fresh cool towel offered by the wonderful front desk staff, after our arduous car ride.
To match the beautiful grounds we were escorted to our room which was simple and authentic. The view of the volcano was unbelievable. The bathroom was huge with two showers (one typical shower and one -literally- a waterfall). The room at first seemed empty compared to your average resort hotel room, but soon made perfect sense once we learned the Costa Rican lifestyle.
Outside of our room we spent a significant amount of time at the pool area which was small, but in a cozy way. Be ready for the pool to be heated - the best place to hang out is in the pool under the shade of the swim up bar - yum! It was here that we got our first taste of domestic rum accompanied by a cold delicious hunk of pineapple courtesy of Ivan the Food and Beverage Director of the hotel.
Ivan went out of his was to make us feel comfortable and made it clear that he would get us anything we needed - nothing was out of the question. We had several meals at the hotel - breakfast was expansive with lots of choices. The rest of the menu was a good mix of typical and American style food - everything we ordered was great.
The Hotel Mountain Paradise is not a fancy resort, but it is a small, beautiful and well run hotel. Because of its size the staff is able to meet your every need, they knew our room number and names by the second day. If you are looking for a comfortable, inviting atmosphere with unmatched views of the volcano - this should be your hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaraFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,322 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing