We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect magical holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Private Pool Area
Main Entry
Enjoy daily breakfast poolside in the 'Cielo Rancho'
Entry from Cielo Rancho
Kitchen area
Common area
Stairs to Upstairs Master Suite
Downstairs King Bedroom
Downstairs Queen Bedroom. Also equipped with a small Murphy Bed for a young child.
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom walk in shower
Upstairs open bar area
Upstairs bar sitting area
Upstairs Master Suite.
Master Suite View
Master Suite bathroom.
Casa Cielo Entry in Evening
Various types of Haliconia flowers atract many species of hummingbirds around the property.
Montezuma's Oropendula feeding on one of our banana trees.
One of the many flowering plants in our gardens.
Chestnut Billed Toucans are regulars at Casa Cielo.
Humming Bird taking a break in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect magical holiday”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a family of 7 (3 adults and 4 children ages from 7-14) traveling together. I would say that my expectations were pretty high prior to arriving at Casa Cielo based on the previous reviews not to mention we were spending the Christmas Holiday away from home.
We arrived to a beautiful home that was immaculately clean. The views from the second floor open air living space are breath taking. The children loved their time swimming in the pool, watching the many birds on the property and using the hammocks. As adults who were looking for some rest outside of excursions we appreciated that the kids were happy and we were able to relax with amazing views in amazing accommodations.
Perhaps the best part of staying at Casa Cielo is the manner in which you are treated by Paul and Rosie. Most importantly they are an absolutely lovely couple with perfect instincts about what their guests need/want. Paul is exceptionally helpful with booking excursions, providing good driving directions (trust me this is pretty important where not much is marked) and tips on pretty much anything that will help you while in the area. Rosie prepares much of the daily breakfast which is amazing...an excellent base to start your activities.
Since we were there over Christmas we did request dinner for Christmas Eve. The dinner was perfect. Every person enjoyed the wonderful mix of tamales and traditional US holiday foods. We were even treated with a few fireworks to top off the evening....as you may guess the children were thrilled with that surprise.
Overall I can't recommend this property highly enough. Paul and his family (I forgot to mention their two adorable children) operate an environment that is far better than any hotel could offer. We will definitely be back to Costa Rica and to Casa Cielo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
We are so happy that we were able to make your holiday in Costa Rica a memorable experience. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and I hope to see you again someday in the future. Pura Vida!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kouzov
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Casa Cielo”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We visited Casa Cielo in mid December 2015. The house and the host fully deserve 5 stars: we were helped with advise from what to do in Arenal to booking all our activities. There is so much to do in the area, Costa Rica is great. And our hosts made the experience memorable, helping in every possible way. The breakfasts and dinners that they cooked for us were fantastic! Thank you Rosie and Paul!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2015
We really appreciate the nice words and it was a pleasure to have you and your family as guests at Casa Cielo. Our goal is to help create lasting memories and show our guest all that Costa Rica has to offer. We hope to see you again someday! Pura Vida!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshsav
SAV
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the joy of staying at Casa Cielo for a weekend and it was absolutely wonderful. The pictures do not do the house justice--it is just gorgeous. The outdoor area is just wonderful--the pool, hammock, dining table, water display, it was all so peaceful. Paul and his family were incredibly kind and awesome hosts. All of the food that we ate was EXCELLENT. Paul was also wonderful about communicating with me via email prior to our trip to help plan our activities. He knows some of the best guides in the area, and his assistance was so helpful. Also, Martin, the private driver that he used, was great! Awesome driver and so nice. My only regret is that we weren't able to stay for longer. I certainly hope we can return to this piece of paradise one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lgclgc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“PURA VIDA-the best of the best”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The photographs do not capture the serene views, relaxed atmosphere, and amazing hospitality that is offered at Casa Cielo. Paul and Rosie were so gracious and hospitable, making delicious meals and helping plan all our adventures! I cannot say enough wonderful things about this house and this vacation. I highly, highly recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pura Vida!”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I recently traveled to Casa Cielo for 3 nights with 7 other girl friends. We found the rental based on the great Trip Advisor reviews, and I can only echo all the positive comments. Paul was extremely prompt in responding to all emails prior to the trip and planned our entire itinerary based on the needs of the group. All of our adventures (including a tour of the hanging bridges, zip lining, and white water rafting) were perfect and well worth the cost! We also had dinner two nights and the house. Paul and Rosie willingly prepared whatever dinner each of us wanted and all were deliciously eaten poolside. The breakfast followed suit, as we were all able to order whatever we wanted and all dishes were amazing!! We could not have asked for a better stay. The ease of planning thanks to Paul, along with the reasonable price, is unmatched. Hope to be back soon, Casa Cielo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Planning done by Paul - made the trip so incredibly easy!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people, great house”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house & pool were perfect for us & our 3 kids. Perfect for bird & animal watching while relaxing after a full day of excursions and hikes. Great views. Calm.
Paul & Rosie are great hosts, really making an effort to make sure everything was perfect. No stress and helpful. And the breakfasts and dinner were excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really easy, no stress
Liked least: The roads to get there were a bit rough due to rain
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“PURA VIDA”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Casa Cielo is very deserving of all five stars and I'll gladly tell you why...
First, prior to our arrival, (during my planning stage) Paul was always prompt to replay to emails and answer my many questions. I found his knowledge of the area and good communication skills to be extremely helpful. Secondly, when we (a family of six) arrived in Costa Rica, my luggage was lost and had not arrived in San Jose. Paul went above and beyond to help retrieve my luggage. Paul spent hours on the telephone, tracking my bag...he even met the lost delivery driver at the local supermarket, to ensure I received my luggage as soon as possible.
Next, Casa Cielo is even more lovely than it appears in the pictures and the grounds are very well maintained. In addition, coffee was prepared each morning to be enjoyed poolside. Breakfast of tropical fruit, fresh juice, and pancakes or omelets was absolutely delicious! I can honestly say that every meal prepared was scrumptious and truly enjoyed by all six of us. I recommend planning to eat dinner at Casa Cielo during your stay. My family especially enjoyed the wood fired pizza and chicken tacos. Given Paul's helpful planning and attention to details, the beautiful home, and excellent food...Casa Cielo is the place you want to stay! PURA VIDA!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;