We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Buddy, You are in for One Heck of a Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Private Pool Area
Main Entry
Enjoy daily breakfast poolside in the 'Cielo Rancho'
Entry from Cielo Rancho
Kitchen area
Common area
Stairs to Upstairs Master Suite
Downstairs King Bedroom
Downstairs Queen Bedroom. Also equipped with a small Murphy Bed for a young child.
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom walk in shower
Upstairs open bar area
Upstairs bar sitting area
Upstairs Master Suite.
Master Suite View
Master Suite bathroom.
Casa Cielo Entry in Evening
Various types of Haliconia flowers atract many species of hummingbirds around the property.
Montezuma's Oropendula feeding on one of our banana trees.
One of the many flowering plants in our gardens.
Chestnut Billed Toucans are regulars at Casa Cielo.
Humming Bird taking a break in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catshorts
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Buddy, You are in for One Heck of a Stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The house itself is beautiful, really well maintained, and cozy yet modern. Paul and his family took great care of us. The breakfasts were hearty, filling, and offered a view into the local cuisine, and were accompanied by an informal bird show, since plates of fruit are left out in the morning to attract some avian amigos. After dinner the first night we were hooked- I think we ate dinner there every night of the stay since we knew it would be a solid choice. We had pizzas two nights, and the vegetarian lasagna. They had plenty of veggie friendly options. In general the hospitality was impeccable.

Going into this portion of our trip, we had some ideas as to what we were interested in doing. During our stay we ended up white water rafting, hiking Arenal, and going to the hanging bridges. Paul helped us plan our trips. He has preferred companies and guides that he works with, and we had great experiences with everything. It was rainy and cloudy during the entirety of the stay, but white water rafting in the rain was still a ton of fun, and we were even able to see a fair amount of animals in the hanging bridges park.

Over all it was a great house and having Paul and his family help us added immensely to our experience. I think everyone in my group is looking forward to coming back and spending more time at Casa Cielo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect sanctuary while exploring La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano Park”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My sister and I desired to experience 'la pura vida' with our parents. Planning a vacation for a family of four...with diverse interests and traveling experience... in a country where we were unfamiliar was daunting at first... then we found casa cielo.

This rental is a spacious and well-maintained house tucked away in a remote area with amazing views of the volcano. It features many amenities for all of us--a pool, outdoor dining area, a slick bar set-up, and comfortable hammock. Two rooms on the bottom floor with king and queen beds. The upstairs is like its own apartment with indoor and outdoor accessibility--the view from the bed to the volcano was majestic! Kitchen was fully equipped including handy coolers for our day-trips AND open space for late night pasta cooking. The location was off the main road a few kilometers, but very accessible for driving once we got familiar with the area.

While the house itself is a gem, the hospitality rendered by the neighbor/owner, Paul, transforms it into a true home away from home. Breakfast every morning--fresh fruits, hot coffee, and a delicious menu of breakfast dishes. I would recommend the traditional dish The Tico--very filling for a day of activities. We also had the pizza and lasagna for dinner, both were very tasty. My family considers themselves vegetarian food lovers, and we were very satisfied. Paul even hunted down some exotic fruits per my mom's request--amazing.

Paul professionally and quickly answered our questions about the place even before we booked. Upon booking, he provided ample materials for planning the trip including a VERY useful set of direction including pictures! Upon arrival and throughout our entire stay, he and his wife proved to be kind, warm people and very nice, helpful hosts. He arranged for various activities including poolside massages, a trip to Cano Negro with a guide and driver and a sky-tram tour. He was a very useful resource for getting directions and finding our way around the La Fortuna and Volcano Park area. Even got an inside scoop on the local hot spring spot. He made managing and planning our vacation a breeze.

Paul and his wonderful family's hospitality at Casa Cielo makes this rental into a sanctuary. It made our trip to Costa Rica unforgettable, it will forever hold a special place in our hearts.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noah B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house is a hidden trasure - a wonder in the the Arenal area. A bit removed from the major highway and, like the Springs, accessible by a long dirt road, this architectural wonder provided extraordinarily comfortable lodging for our family of 7 (including 3 adult children and 2 tweeners). The house offers a relaxing pool, lounges and covered outdoor dining table, bar and brick oven. The living room kitchen area is a large space, beautifully decorated and comfortable for relaxing indoor conversation in an open California-style space. Bedrooms and bathrooms are modern and comfortable. Transition to a large upstairs master passess through an outdoor covered space with bar and seating and hammock, offering an alternative for outdoor relaxation. Paul is a gracious, attentive, service oriented owner who lives in the neighboring house and takes pride in his personal creation which was clearly a labor of love. Paul helped us arrange activites and transportation - all executed flawlessly. Thanks Paul - you were fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: architectural flow and open layout
Liked least: The kitchen had limited appliances
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect magical holiday”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a family of 7 (3 adults and 4 children ages from 7-14) traveling together. I would say that my expectations were pretty high prior to arriving at Casa Cielo based on the previous reviews not to mention we were spending the Christmas Holiday away from home.
We arrived to a beautiful home that was immaculately clean. The views from the second floor open air living space are breath taking. The children loved their time swimming in the pool, watching the many birds on the property and using the hammocks. As adults who were looking for some rest outside of excursions we appreciated that the kids were happy and we were able to relax with amazing views in amazing accommodations.
Perhaps the best part of staying at Casa Cielo is the manner in which you are treated by Paul and Rosie. Most importantly they are an absolutely lovely couple with perfect instincts about what their guests need/want. Paul is exceptionally helpful with booking excursions, providing good driving directions (trust me this is pretty important where not much is marked) and tips on pretty much anything that will help you while in the area. Rosie prepares much of the daily breakfast which is amazing...an excellent base to start your activities.
Since we were there over Christmas we did request dinner for Christmas Eve. The dinner was perfect. Every person enjoyed the wonderful mix of tamales and traditional US holiday foods. We were even treated with a few fireworks to top off the evening....as you may guess the children were thrilled with that surprise.
Overall I can't recommend this property highly enough. Paul and his family (I forgot to mention their two adorable children) operate an environment that is far better than any hotel could offer. We will definitely be back to Costa Rica and to Casa Cielo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
We are so happy that we were able to make your holiday in Costa Rica a memorable experience. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and I hope to see you again someday in the future. Pura Vida!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kouzov
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Casa Cielo”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We visited Casa Cielo in mid December 2015. The house and the host fully deserve 5 stars: we were helped with advise from what to do in Arenal to booking all our activities. There is so much to do in the area, Costa Rica is great. And our hosts made the experience memorable, helping in every possible way. The breakfasts and dinners that they cooked for us were fantastic! Thank you Rosie and Paul!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2015
We really appreciate the nice words and it was a pleasure to have you and your family as guests at Casa Cielo. Our goal is to help create lasting memories and show our guest all that Costa Rica has to offer. We hope to see you again someday! Pura Vida!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshsav
SAV
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the joy of staying at Casa Cielo for a weekend and it was absolutely wonderful. The pictures do not do the house justice--it is just gorgeous. The outdoor area is just wonderful--the pool, hammock, dining table, water display, it was all so peaceful. Paul and his family were incredibly kind and awesome hosts. All of the food that we ate was EXCELLENT. Paul was also wonderful about communicating with me via email prior to our trip to help plan our activities. He knows some of the best guides in the area, and his assistance was so helpful. Also, Martin, the private driver that he used, was great! Awesome driver and so nice. My only regret is that we weren't able to stay for longer. I certainly hope we can return to this piece of paradise one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lgclgc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“PURA VIDA-the best of the best”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The photographs do not capture the serene views, relaxed atmosphere, and amazing hospitality that is offered at Casa Cielo. Paul and Rosie were so gracious and hospitable, making delicious meals and helping plan all our adventures! I cannot say enough wonderful things about this house and this vacation. I highly, highly recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing