We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, beautiful, absolutely worth it!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
99 reviews
Private Pool Area
Main Entry
Enjoy daily breakfast poolside in the 'Cielo Rancho'
Entry from Cielo Rancho
Kitchen area
Common area
Stairs to Upstairs Master Suite
Downstairs King Bedroom
Downstairs Queen Bedroom. Also equipped with a small Murphy Bed for a young child.
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom walk in shower
Upstairs open bar area
Upstairs bar sitting area
Upstairs Master Suite.
Master Suite View
Master Suite bathroom.
Casa Cielo Entry in Evening
Various types of Haliconia flowers atract many species of hummingbirds around the property.
Montezuma's Oropendula feeding on one of our banana trees.
One of the many flowering plants in our gardens.
Chestnut Billed Toucans are regulars at Casa Cielo.
Humming Bird taking a break in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AdrianaVq...
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Amazing, beautiful, absolutely worth it!!!”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We headed to the area of Arenal for a 2-night stay in the beginning of the month. The weather was beautiful; warm, partly cloudy days and some rain in the evening/late afternoon, typical tropical weather.

Our stay at Casa Cielo went above and beyond our highest expectations. The house looks exactly like in the pictures. It's clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated with modern and traditional Costa Rican touches.

Getting there was a bit of an adventure for us as you do have to go on bumpy, unpaved road off the main road. The drive is not dangerous but instead scenic and adds to the experience. There are 2 ways to get there and we highly recommend using the directions that Paul provides before check in.

We ended up relying on our GPS and took the other route which is more bumpy by comparison and requires you to go over Rio Arenal which on the day we arrived was going over the road (not by much). Paul was kind enough to come down to pick us up in one of his vehicles as our driver was pretty hesitant to cross his van thru there. That was the first impression we had of our host Paul, who continued to be extremely kind, helpful, informative and always making the effort to make our stay as special and smooth as possible.

We knew breakfast was included but we were impressed by what we were served each morning and the fact that we had several options to pick from. We had the pizza they offer for dinner and it was delicious to say the least. Attention to detail make you feel extremely pampered and as a family (wife, kids & dog) they make you feel at home.

It truly was such a blessing to stay here and enjoy an already beautiful location in an equally beautiful home surrounded by nature in a very peaceful setting. I cannot stress enough how happy we were to stay there and definitely will recommend this place and will come back as soon as we have an opportunity.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
Thank you sooo much for coming!!! We are really happy that we were able to make your stay here a memorable one. We hope to see you again some day soon. Pura Vida!!
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M
1 review
“Beautiful Escape into Rural Costa Rica”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This was a truly beautiful home in a truly beautiful area of Costa Rica. If you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, this tranquil home is where you should be.

I would recommend having a vehicle as it is definitely secluded and there are no walkable restaurants, but if you do not (as we did not), the hosts will gladly schedule your transportation for you.

There are plenty of excursions and things to do nearby (a list of excursions is provided by the hosts, but also important to note is nearby Leaves & Lizards, The Springs resort with hot springs and an animal sanctuary, and nearby Volcano/Lake Arenal.

The house itself is gorgeous. There were only two of us there but it could sleep up to 8 or 9 comfortably I would bet. The house was very open air and wonderful, the pool and deck area was incredible as well.

Truly a great place to unwind and relax, away from everyone else. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKPhoto
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I've been visiting this part of Costa Rica for almost ten years. I have known the owner of Casa Cielo for most of that time, but I had not stayed in the house until September. Talk about the perfect home base for all of your adventures in the La Fortuna/Arenal area!
The house itself is beautiful and well-appointed. The views are breathtaking and the pool area/walled garden is a fantastic place to relax and have a drink or two.
Paul and Rosa took care of anything and everything we needed. I am definitely planning to stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay- gorgeous house!”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Cielo for a few days last week. We were a group of 4 traveling from NYC. The house was spectacular. We had a lot of room and everything was so nice. We enjoyed spending time at the beautiful pool. Paul was so helpful and was attentive to everything. He booked tours for us and gave advice about things to do. We loved the breakfast each morning and their sweet dog Junior. We would absolutely stay here again when we are in Costa Rica.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the house!
Liked least: we loved everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie K
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We miss it already”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Casa Cielo was our perfect home away from home while visiting the Arenal Region. We cannot say enough about the house (which is well stocked with everything you could need), the food (Rosie is a great cook), and the hospitality (Paul arranged all of our tours -- one less thing to worry about). Highly recommend the Italian and Tico Barbecue dinners and the ziplining, horseback riding, and kayaking tours that Paul arranged. Pura vida!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and the space
Liked least: The roads -- you really need a 4x4 to get there (and many other places in the area)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved how accommodating the hosts were.
Liked least: The road to get there was a bit bumpy.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cavalier...
Frisco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So Much Fun”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a blast. We love the house, area activities, Paul and his family. They are such delightful people. It was such a relief that Paul took care of every thing through out the entire stay. He managed our transportation, activities and food. He even washed or stinky wet clothes. Eight of us stayed very comfortably in the super clean and cute house. You actually order your food from an ample menu the night before. It is gourmet cuisine. We all gained weight. There was no stopping, the food was too good. If you love birds - just sit on the porch or at the dinner table and enjoy countless varieties of birds. Bugs were not a problem at all. The temperature was perfect! No need for A/C at all. Our goal was to see a sloth. Every one helped us find Sloths, we saw four. There is a mom and baby near by. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Paul and his family.
Liked least: leaving. Wish we had spent the entire vacation there.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing