We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arenal Jireh(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cerro Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arenal Rossi(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Country Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vista del Cerro(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rey Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Magic Mountain(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Regina Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villas Vilma(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveller rating
889
467
76
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
889
467
76
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarenal volcanocosta ricachocolate tourhot tubs arebeautiful groundscab ridepool barbeautiful hotelclose to la fortunanice balconyhotel restaurantzip lininggreat poolwould highly recommend this hotelcouples massagewhite water raftingmini fridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Couldn't have enjoyed my stay here more. All rooms face the volcano. Great and friendly staff, very clean, great room, comfy bed. You could book adventure tours through hotel, they gave us a discount on adventure tours since we had purchased their groupon voucher. All the food was delicious. The pool and property was nice and well maintained. We stayed in October and it was very peaceful and quite. You can easily have the front desk call a cab to bring you to town ($5 each way). You can walk to town, easy walk - just long - and you won't want to do it at night! We were told the entrance to the waterfall was a half mile away - which doesn't sound back so we hiked - very very very steep hike to the waterfall! Don't attempt unless you're in okay shape.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank eephus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. Every year we have Groupon packages so we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay in Costa Rica, about the waterfall you are right, some clients do not believe that is so steep hike..... But people in good shape can do it without mayor problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice location, nice staff, very nice spa and pool, lovely breakfast even for vegetarians. Jungle noise round the clock. A lovely tropical paradise. Very clean and well maintained grounds and rooms. We walked to la fortuna waterfalls from our room in about thirty minutes. Saw a beautiful hammock factory on the way.

Room Tip: All rooms have arenal view when it is clear.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HThomasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Gpod things about this hotel. It was in a perfect location to the town, but also close enough to the attractions I wanted to do (Arenal park, ziplining, canyoneering). Yet also peaceful when ingot home. The amenities are nothing fancy, but still beautiful (both the grounds and the hotel itself) and they were so accommodating. I was late to breakfast a few times and Vinicio was more than helpful. The front desk folks help me arrange packages and gave me a great deal on a spa package, which by the way was amazing. If she's still available, Madday was wonderful. I got a clay massage and chocolate body wrap with lots of special touches. And afterwards, a complimentary glass of wine. Chocolate and wine - what could be better. I will definitely be back!

Also, u can't beat the price for the stay- about $200 for 3 nights.

Room Tip: I too was in I module, like the couple below. The few of the volcano and grazing horses each morning was amazing.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trixiekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
King regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We first heard of them through Living Social even though I chose to book with La Casa Luna independently.
-Location is GREAT (near waterfall, Cerro Chato, center of town, chocolate tour)
-Staff friendly and always willing to help
-Breakfast was simple, but good (not for the spoiled fancy-pants)
-The part I love most is that it was CLEAN. My room was on the first floor and did not have an issue with musty smells (as I saw in some reviews). Minimal bugs (keep in mind, you are in the jungle environment). Clean, clean, clean :)
-Great view of volcano.

La Casa Luna was a great solid place that laid a cornerstone to a great vacation.
I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at Casa Luna for 3 nights first week of Oct. We were wondering how the weather would be here in the rainy season, but we only had rain at night and got great pics of the top of the volcano. We were pleasantly surprised with this resort and the setting/gardens were beautiful. We were treated very well by the friendly, helpful staff and our room was perfect. We stayed 3 nights in room I-4 on the very end building second floor with a amazing view of Arenal Volcano past the lovely pasture with horses grazing right next door. We had a great balcony with chairs to sit with a drink in hand and listen to the birds and watch them flit here and there amid the beautiful foliage. The restaurant was wonderful and we enjoyed the meals immensely, especially the coffee flan for dessert.

Room Tip: I-4 is on the far end with a pasture with horses grazing and an amazing view of the Arenal Volcano from the veranda. Very quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vhfsunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest;
We really appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. On October the Volcano is more visible and like you did there are many options to take nice pictures of the volcano and Hotel surroundings.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews