We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful....outstanding spa experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel was wonderful. There are eight buildings with four rooms in each building.The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The service was immediate. The spa was very excellent. I chose natural sounds rather than traditional spa music. It was fabulous. I had the massage, reflexology and a facial. Marissa has magic in her hands. An unforgettable experience. The food was good and the service was wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a better view of the volcano, gardens and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camike1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Beautiful garden with lots of birds. Hotel staff was very friendly. Good food in the restaurant and at breakfast. Great and clean swimming pool. Clean rooms with balcony and view on the Vulcan.
We really loved this place! We also really enjoyed our trip booked from the hotel to Cano Negro.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Koos1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I have been fortunate enough to stay at many different types of resorts and hotels all over the USA and abroad. I have to say 5 star because of the lush enviorment and how quickly you adapt to TICO/TICA lifestyle. They are very accomodating everything was very comfortable and clean. the food was really good. the spa was so tranquil. and at last the VIEW!!!! wow amazing every morning i woke to look up and see the volcano. while we were there we did the ECO GLIDE TOUR CANOPY(not the same tour the hotel uses i highly reccomend the zip line with double cables) BALDI SPRINGS (FUN) ate at the hotel several times, also at LAVA ROCK in town. The resort and all around the resort very reasonable priced this is well off the beaten path and was a great experience. We felt safe the entire time. The staff will do everything they possible can to accomodate any reasonable need. We also did a horse back riding tour that the staff reccomended it was nice. While at this resort if you go towards the water fall (costs about 10 US dollars to enter) you will pass a few houses one of them is a co op for local artist TICOs actually from all over Costa Rico . i bought beautiful jewelry and amazing sculptures at prices that would blow you away all authentic. i fell inlove with Costa Rica and will be back to Casa Luna in the future. We also met several other travelers at happy hour........... they have a great happy hour and its a great place to be at sunset. at the same time very tranquil Again i can not say enough about how much we loved CASA LUNA .

Room Tip: you cant fo wrong we stayed on the second floor 3 C across from the pool and spa it is so beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Hello Terri;
Thanks for your comment, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and also be part of your Costa Rica experience. About the Canopy we will take your recommendation and we look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa. Finally Go Jets!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Couldn't have enjoyed my stay here more. All rooms face the volcano. Great and friendly staff, very clean, great room, comfy bed. You could book adventure tours through hotel, they gave us a discount on adventure tours since we had purchased their groupon voucher. All the food was delicious. The pool and property was nice and well maintained. We stayed in October and it was very peaceful and quite. You can easily have the front desk call a cab to bring you to town ($5 each way). You can walk to town, easy walk - just long - and you won't want to do it at night! We were told the entrance to the waterfall was a half mile away - which doesn't sound back so we hiked - very very very steep hike to the waterfall! Don't attempt unless you're in okay shape.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank eephus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. Every year we have Groupon packages so we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay in Costa Rica, about the waterfall you are right, some clients do not believe that is so steep hike..... But people in good shape can do it without mayor problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice location, nice staff, very nice spa and pool, lovely breakfast even for vegetarians. Jungle noise round the clock. A lovely tropical paradise. Very clean and well maintained grounds and rooms. We walked to la fortuna waterfalls from our room in about thirty minutes. Saw a beautiful hammock factory on the way.

Room Tip: All rooms have arenal view when it is clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HThomasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Gpod things about this hotel. It was in a perfect location to the town, but also close enough to the attractions I wanted to do (Arenal park, ziplining, canyoneering). Yet also peaceful when ingot home. The amenities are nothing fancy, but still beautiful (both the grounds and the hotel itself) and they were so accommodating. I was late to breakfast a few times and Vinicio was more than helpful. The front desk folks help me arrange packages and gave me a great deal on a spa package, which by the way was amazing. If she's still available, Madday was wonderful. I got a clay massage and chocolate body wrap with lots of special touches. And afterwards, a complimentary glass of wine. Chocolate and wine - what could be better. I will definitely be back!

Also, u can't beat the price for the stay- about $200 for 3 nights.

Room Tip: I too was in I module, like the couple below. The few of the volcano and grazing horses each morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trixiekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
King regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We first heard of them through Living Social even though I chose to book with La Casa Luna independently.
-Location is GREAT (near waterfall, Cerro Chato, center of town, chocolate tour)
-Staff friendly and always willing to help
-Breakfast was simple, but good (not for the spoiled fancy-pants)
-The part I love most is that it was CLEAN. My room was on the first floor and did not have an issue with musty smells (as I saw in some reviews). Minimal bugs (keep in mind, you are in the jungle environment). Clean, clean, clean :)
-Great view of volcano.

La Casa Luna was a great solid place that laid a cornerstone to a great vacation.
I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,614 reviews
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,085 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,918 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £67 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing