We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We arrived at the Casa Luna Hotel and Spa after scary ride through heavy fog on windy roads (note to self only repeat this journey in the day)
The staff were very helpful on arrival.
The room was fine, but basic and had a slight damp/musty smell. The lack of an actual wardrobe was also an issue for us.
The only other issue was the sheets which had an unidentifiable stain on them.

The food in the restaurant was good, but i have to say the breakfasts were not great. we ended up going into town to a place called My Coffee , which was a definite improvement.

The trip we organised through the hotel to the volcano and the thermal pools was good.

Highlights of this hotel were definitely the view-once the cloud lifted and the spa. The massages were brilliant. Oh and the grounds are great too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamster1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    384
    64
    15
    4
See reviews for
290
629
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

La luna is an excellent hotel lodge, calm and comfortable, having very good views of the Arenal Vulcano. The rooms are clean and the restaurant is good and attended by friendly people. The quality of food is also good. Breakfast buffet with all fruits, omelettes and "gallo pinto" (rice and black beans)

Room Tip: The best ones are facing the Vulcano. It is a question of chance to have a clear day, with tyhe moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

A beautiful peaceful hotel, with fantastic views of the volcano. Wish we could have stayed longer.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, with two huge beds, and a lovely bathroom with plenty of hot water.
The rooms are all set in beautiful gardens, teeming with birds and insects, with a lovely pool, which we mostly had to ourselves. Many of the rooms seemed to have little streams around them which were alive with tadpoles and little frogs. There is a walk around the gardens which takes you to a wild area by the river.
We went on a guided tour onto the flanks of the volcano, but were a little disappointed by the tour - it would be nice to go to an information centre and find out more, but there didn't seem to be anything around, and the hotel was a little too far to go to a town centre.
In the evening we were introduced to the Guaro Sour cocktail, which was very nice, have not been able to reproduce it at home, sadly.
On our last morning, I drew open the curtains to see a perfect cloudless view of the volcano, something which we had been told would probably not happen, so I was the madwoman running around the garden in her nightie with a camera at 6.00 am!
We asked the staff about any nearby attractions, and the receptionist recommended a tour or the nearby chocolate farm, about half a kilometre from the hotel. We were glad we went! We had a tour of the whole process, and ended up blending and drinking our own chocolate drinks. It was a hands-on experience from start to finish, and we enjoyed it very much.
At the hotel, the breakfasts were good, as were the evening meals. The staff were friendly and helpful, and happy to chat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest;

Thanks a lot for your comment that is want we want to offer to our clients; the nature around our property, with the trail, the small creeks and the garden we make a combination to have birds, butterflies, lizards, fish and bugs around. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torreon, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice and clean, beautiful gardens and excelent service. You always have an amazing sight from
The restaurant to the volcano. It's a bit far from town but still worth it. The restaurant serves nice food. You will see many birds in the gardens including hummingbirds.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AGH1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very nice room. Liked the balcony with a view of the volcano. Enjoyed watching the horses on the adjoining property. Nice pool. Very nice staff, especially at the front desk. So helpful. The trail that was on the property was cool, lots of plants, flowers, and birds. The river was pretty full too. If they had a shuttle into town that would have been awesome! Taking a taxi got a little costly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest;

Thanks for your comment, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and also be part of your Costa Rica experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel had beautiful grounds, a nice view and a decent and varied breakfast. The rooms were a nice size with a huge shower. The rooms were a little dated, but the beds were comfortable. The seats on the porch were purely aesthetic, as they were extremely uncomfortable. There was a large gap underneath the door and the windows were not fully sealed, so we expxected lots of bigs, but only had a few ants, a centipede and a couple moths. The parking is quite far from the rooms. This was a nice hotel and convenient to town, but after visiting Arenal Volcano Observatory Lodge for hiking, I would stay there next time. We got a deal on the room and it costed $75 a night, I think anything higher would be an unfair price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jfozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The room had a small patio with chairs for evening relaxation. There was a beautiful, warm pool and spa. There was a path that wound around the premises with many different types of plants and flowers. There was even a trail that went into the woods and down by a stream. The breakfast was good and the girl at the front desk was helpful and really bubbly! We had 3 nights here but I wished we had had more. I would definitely go back! I REALLY felt I was truly on vacation!

Room Tip: We were on the ground level and liked just walking in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing