We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here for a few nights as part of a tour of Costa Rica.

The rooms and Hotel are clean, easy to navigate and quite. For a small hotel it has a good balance of a relaxing atmosphere and good amenities. We had a fridge and coffee machine in the room with nice toiletries including conditioner.

Food and drink wise the bar had a happy hour for cocktails each evening, the breakfasts were varied and we had dinner here one night which was reasonably priced with good service.

We also enjoyed a couples massage here which included a free facial.

We would stay here again as we loved the views of the volcano, the birds, the location (near the chocolate tour which we would recommend) and the helpful staff especially Richard who was so welcoming and helped us to organise our tour, spa treatments, evening at the hot springs and kept our room topped up with coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0ckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest;
Thanks for your comments, we are happy to know that your stay with us was very good. This our goal every day and our staff always want to provide the best service possible. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Pros: helpful staff, the pool and grounds are great, the view of Arenal is breathtaking, rooms are comfortable, restaurant grilled chicken was good, quiet hotel with lots of birds flying around you. Really enjoyed sitting on the porch.
Cons: rooms a bit older with a bit of musty smell, but ac partly fixes that. Breakfast is ok, but not great. Restaurant is limited in menu and on expensive side, best go into town (cab $5 or 25 min walk in the day)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Xavier O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. Reception staff were charming, hotel grounds impecable and really well looked after. We had room B1 with a view of the Arenal Volcano but I think most of the rooms have this. The sun sets behind the volcano and the sunsets were good. Pool is excellent and there's a separate pool for small children. One of the nicest things about this place was the little nature walk down to the stream - you have the chance to see lots birds and butterflies (photographing them is a lot harder!). The restaurant has good food and the fresh pineapple juice is amazing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel was not only in a gorgeous location, but the staff was wonderful as well. We had the most glorious view from our window! The food food for breakfast lunch and dinner was amazing each time, and we tried it all because unfortunately, there is nothing near so I highly recommend taking a cab into town.

Beyond that, the rooms were large, the beds were comfortable, the terraces had amazing views and it was nice to have a fridge and a safe. However, it would have been nice to have a mirror in the room as there was no way to get ready without going to the bathroom and its tough if you share a room. Also, there was no vending machine or snacks on premises, just the restaurant. It would have been great to have a little store as the hotel is not close to anything where you can get local snacks, flip flops, camera chargers and etc. It would have also been brilliant to have netting on windows so we can leave them open and not use the AC.

Without a car, this place is a bit isolated, though its very well situated for all the amazing tours. If you want to relax, hang by the pool, eat amazing meals and have a great view, this is probably one of the best places in CR to stay.

Room Tip: Remember to request a separate key for the safe. Take a cab to La Fortuna near by as its a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

We appreciate your comment, we are happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We are working to have a convenience store at the Front Desk and Minibar in the rooms; should be ready at the end of the month. Thanks for your feedback; this is very important for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, Casa Luna enchanted us with it's views, it's wildlife sounds (birds and frogs), it's ideal location (near waterfall, near Cerro Chato hiking area, near the chocolate tour! and near downtown La Fortuna) and it's warm, welcoming staff!!! Thank you so much for making our visit so pleasant and comfortable. We left with many happy memories and only rave reviews about your beautiful accomodations!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The location is amazing. The view of Arenal volcano is carefully planned from every room. Beautiful landscaping and nature abounds. The room was comfortable and a lovely balcony for relaxing in the evening. The staff was very helpful, warm and kind. Restaurant was good even if dinner seemed a bit expensive. It was delicious and well prepared. We WILL return here when we return to Costa Rica! Pura Vida!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
Thanks for your comments, we appreciate your opinion about the Restaurant we have been working a lot to get better and this make us feel that we are in good direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My stay at Casa Luna was great and would recommend it to anyone that is considering traveling to La Fortuna. The grounds were well kept and the view of the volcano was spectacular. My room was clean and spacious and the staff was great- breakfast was awesome, don’t miss it! The distance from the main square is not far, you can take a cab ride that may run you about $4 US dollars or about $2-3 Colons, you can also consider walking if you want to explore 10-20 min walk. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,656 reviews
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,150 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,407 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,947 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £65 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing