We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

What a special place! The property was beautiful, the grounds were so peaceful, the pool was very nice, the spa was amazing and the staff was fantastic!!! I would highly recommend this place for couples, friends, families and solo travelers. Everyone was so helpful and friendly and we couldn't have asked for a better place to start our trip. We spent 3 nights in this glorious place!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robineparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest;
Thanks for your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    400
    66
    15
    4
See reviews for
302
654
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Casa Luna offers a stunning view of the Arenal Volcano. The grounds and the pool were very clean and peaceful. The young lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, but on the downside there was little surface space in the room to unpack, and the chairs on the balcony were very hard and uncomfortable. Also, the cleaning staff unfortunately accidentally left the our door ajar one of the days after cleaning. The food in the restaurant was good. One of our favorite things was the massage for two. The young ladies who did them were extremely professional and their massages were to die for. Also, only one of the girls was scheduled to work the day we wanted them, but the girl who was scheduled off that day came in extra for us. Very thoughtful! We would definitely recommend Casa Luna.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamaraLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The location was perfect just outside of Fortuna since my husband and had our our transportation it was not an issue, but if you do not then I would suggest something closer to town. The hotel location and views were beautiful. The rooms were a nice and clean but nothing fancy but hey you don't come to Arenal to stay in your room! Breakfast was included and was very good each morning. The only con there is that the restaurant and bar wait staff appear to be on "Tico Time" and are in no hurry to wait on you and the drinks during happy hour were very watered down. I would suggest going into town if you want cocktails. We ate dinner there one evening and were not impressed- It was ok but over priced in my opinion. Again if you would like to eat other than your daily breakfast I would suggest going into town. Much better food at much better prices and the locals will bend over backwards to give you good service. I will say the highlight of our stay there was the couples massage which was out of this world! Romantic and relaxing! It really is a must do while your stay here at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winelover1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Casa Luna is a beautiful hotel on the outskirts of La Fortuna.
Pros:
- Amazing hotel scenery, including the hotel own's walking trail that passes near a tranquil river
- Nice facilities including a lovely swimming pool
- Great breakfast
- Safe parking
- Good recommendation for tours. As far as I was able to judge prices through the hotel equal those in the city
- Very reasonable price

Our only critique was that we had problem with ants in the room. However, I think that for an hotel which is practically in nature such issues should be expected by guests and therefore we did not view it as a major drawback and in addition the hotel staff offered to switch us to another room after 1 night (we declined because of the hassle).
Guests should also take into account the location of the hotel. It is not in the center of La Fortuna so guests should better come with their own transportation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron_Ellenbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We enjoyed our short stay at Casa Luna. The woman who works at the front desk was incredibly friendly and helpful and the rooms were a good value.

There were a few things that could use some work - after we had cocktails our first night we sat for an hour talking and then got chased by a waitress when we got up to leave because we had to sign our check, the breakfast fruits were covered in flies and the woman who makes the eggs 'tsk'-ed to us instead of even saying "senora" or something (we were the only people there, so it wasn't busy), and overall it felt like the staff could use a little more training or a more strict supervisor. For some reason our shower drain smelled funny, but it had rained a bunch so maybe that was why?

It was my second trip to Arenal so I'm not sure that I'll go back, but I would still recommend Casa Luna to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0410jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest;
Thanks for your comment and feedback, every day we try to get better and we will take your opinion to improve our service. About the chasing part, we need your signature for room charges just to have a record at checkout time; probably you did not know that so Front Desk have to explain how it works at check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by the frogs' chorus in the beautiful gardens around the accommodation. Rooms are well-appointed with fridge, air con and coffee machine. Breakfast officially starts at 7.00 am which is disappointing as our two departures on trips from there started at 7.25 am and many seemed to have a similar experience. Unofficially breakfast was usually underway by 6.45 and was very good. The hotel is about 45 minutes stroll from the centre of La Fortuna or taxi at $8US or 2000 colonels. Dinner at the hotel was disappointing and over-priced for what we received in quality and quantity. On our second evening there we went to town to eat and there is a large range of food available there plus many shops and a large supermarket. Overall a very good choice of hotel within easy reach of the local amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HaydnG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here for a few nights as part of a tour of Costa Rica.

The rooms and Hotel are clean, easy to navigate and quite. For a small hotel it has a good balance of a relaxing atmosphere and good amenities. We had a fridge and coffee machine in the room with nice toiletries including conditioner.

Food and drink wise the bar had a happy hour for cocktails each evening, the breakfasts were varied and we had dinner here one night which was reasonably priced with good service.

We also enjoyed a couples massage here which included a free facial.

We would stay here again as we loved the views of the volcano, the birds, the location (near the chocolate tour which we would recommend) and the helpful staff especially Richard who was so welcoming and helped us to organise our tour, spa treatments, evening at the hot springs and kept our room topped up with coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0ckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest;
Thanks for your comments, we are happy to know that your stay with us was very good. This our goal every day and our staff always want to provide the best service possible. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing