We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best vacation experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best vacation experience!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I purchased a groupon package that included a 5-night stay at Casa Luna and selected adventures. The place was a pleasant surprise. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and very knowledgeable of tourist spots and adventures. The hotel and spa are both clean and beautiful and there is a trail that leads down to a creek, which is great for photos. There is only one restaurant on the premise, however the food is amazing. Great seafood dishes, and the chicken with herb dish was my favorite. Breakfasts are also tasty and they make your eggs to order in front of you. I'd definitely recommend this place, the rooms are nice and you can hear mother nature throughout the night. I'd especially recommend the groupon/ living social deal to get the best bang for your buck. The location is close enough to town to shop for souvenirs, yet not too far from the Arenal volcano, hot springs, and waterfall. Best vacation thus far!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are great for scenery of the volcano and greenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    400
    66
    15
    4
See reviews for
302
654
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I spent 10 nights at Casa Luna last month, and loved every minute of it. The hotel is rather small, and we enjoyed the serenity that afforded. The room itself was perectly adequate. We didn't love the mattress, but it wasn't terrible. The view was gorgeous, though unfortunately a [lovely] tree kept us from getting a real volcano view, and we really enjoyed the spacious balcony. The only thing I'd say was missing would be a microwave. We had plenty of leftover arroz con pollo throughout our trip, but it's just not as good cold! That said, it's not like we were hurting for dining options. The hotel restaurant was great, and I'd say we ate half our dinners there. It was especially convenient after long days adventuring when we just weren't up for heading into Fortuna (which is only a $5 cab ride away).

The spa was lovely as well. We did the honeymoon special, which included a chocolate facial, chocolate body wrap, and a massage for each of us. All wonderful! The open-air massage room is beautiful, and they let us choose whether or not to have music (so that you can listen to the natural rainforest sounds instead, which is beautifully tranquil).

Our favorite feature of the hotel is actually the creek/river that runs behind it; it's a frog paradise! The trail that leads down to it is home to several strawberry ("blue jean") dart frogs who aren't shy about showing themselves off. Then once you're down to the riverbank, the leaf litter is just crawling with tiny frogs, as well as hatchling basilisks. Fair warning: there are also spiders. Big ones. And they walk on water.

More than anything, though, the staff MAKES this hotel. Everyone we dealt with was so helpful and friendly! They really made our stay in Costa Rica incredibly special, and I'm glad to have met each of them. Pura vida!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here as a part of groupon. I had a nice view of the volcano from my room, which was as added bonus when it was not cloudy. The hotel is close to La Fortuna downtown. Taxi ride to/from downtown cost $6 each way. It should be walkable during the day time. The rooms were clean and there was air conditioning!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

If you don't have a car, this hotel maybe an alternative due to its proximity to La Fortuna downtown. Though I strong recommend getting a car if you are in Arenal.

Our GPS took us through a route that would require 4x4 especially during the rainy season. The check in process is quite smooth. Make sure you indicate if you prefer rooms on the ground floor. We got the second floor room, I guess because they think it has better view, but white a hassle with our luggages.

I didn't particularly like the rooms. It is way too lodge like. The mattress is very springy and not great for our backs. They have a regular cool pool, not hot springs.

The breakfast option is quite limited though sufficient.

I think there are other better options in Arenal that you should consider.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Agustinkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest;
Thanks for your comment; all of our rooms are the same, our second floor rooms are a little bit more popular because of the view and privacy; but lower floor rooms are closer to the gardens and you can enjoy more the nature around and has view to the volcano too. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A beautifully planned grounds with generous rooms. One member of the bar staff could have smiled a bit and needed some customer service training which was the only negative we would have to say. A bit of a hike into town but most people seemed to be only there 2 or 3 nights to do a trip or two which were plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest;
Thanks for your feedback; it helps to get better and we are going to take care of your comment to avoid this kind of situations on our clients in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Casa Luna ended up being an amazing place to stay. The food on the restaurant was great, except for the breakfast (buffet style) which was regular. The spa was very good, great atmosphere and very well attended. The room was nice, only problem was the bathroom since the water would make a small puddle outside the shower. I would totally recommend it as a well-priced option to stay, and anyway most of the things you want to see and do are outdoors and the hotel offers many tours of the area's many enjoyment options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josjavier13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lush property with cute casita style rooms. Close to Cerro Chato hike, Fortuna waterfall and close enough to town. We enjoyed the staff and found them very pleasant. We ate at the patio covered restaurant and all of our meals were good. The property sets this place apart and they have a lovely spa. There is a pleasant walking trail next to the river behind the hotel. Very reasonable rates for what is offered. This is a great place to spend a few days and enjoy the activities of Fortuna. Casa Luna has a lovely, relaxing pool. You can splurge on local hot springs with the money you save by staying here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LeeAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing