We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best vacations ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“one of the best vacations ever”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I came here June 5-8 with one of my girl friends to celebrate our birthdays. Even though it was their rainy season, it didn't affect our stay really. The hotel was clean, beautiful and lush. We saw a lot of animals like frogs, lizards, fish and hummingbirds on the property. The staff was really helpful and friendly and we never felt pressure from them to tip or buy any extras. We got this getaway through a Groupon and were set up with ziplining, volcano tour, hot springs and white water rafting. Each tour guide was amazing, knowledgeable and fun. The locals were also great and we never felt pressure to buy from anywhere. I miss it already.

The only con, which is minor, is that after dark at a certain time, there are no lights lighting up the pathways to your hotel room, which can be kinda creepy with the wildlife. At the hot springs spa we ran past a really active snake jumping around on the pathway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest;

Thanks for your comments, we appreciate your opinion about the lights we will take care and fix it as soon as possible; we do not have as much light because not to affect the wildlife around the property but there should be good illumination on the sidewalks towards to the rooms and common areas; very good observation, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    412
    68
    15
    4
See reviews for
316
668
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a spot within walking distance of anything, this isn't your place. However, if you want peace and quiet, solitude, and nature, this place is. The hotel has walkways surrounded by plants and small pools of water. Animals are abound, especially hummingbirds and frogs. There is also a very nice "off the beaten path" walking path at the back of the hotel. There's a creek/stream running through it. It's like a miniature forest hike. The hotel is clean with HUGE balconies. We out a towel in front of door to balcony because a few ants came in right away and we didnt feel like waiting to see if more woukd follow! Nice clean pool. Watch out for 2x1 happy hour... it's half-sized drinks, so you're really paying full price for a regular drink! Good stay overall.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank frogandtoadontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'm here right now. This place is fantastic. Our room is very nice, the grounds are beautiful, and the service is excellent. Very friendly and helpful staff. The pool is refreshing & the food is good. This hotel was included as part of a Groupon package. EcoTerra helped us extend the package to two weeks instead of just one. Their offices are adjacent to the hotel. We had several excursions included, but the hotel staff helped us book additional activities. The pool is clean and very refreshing. The hotel is within walking distance of several popular attractions. We used the shuttles and hired cabs to take us around town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanRobledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I purchased a groupon package that included a 5-night stay at Casa Luna and selected adventures. The place was a pleasant surprise. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and very knowledgeable of tourist spots and adventures. The hotel and spa are both clean and beautiful and there is a trail that leads down to a creek, which is great for photos. There is only one restaurant on the premise, however the food is amazing. Great seafood dishes, and the chicken with herb dish was my favorite. Breakfasts are also tasty and they make your eggs to order in front of you. I'd definitely recommend this place, the rooms are nice and you can hear mother nature throughout the night. I'd especially recommend the groupon/ living social deal to get the best bang for your buck. The location is close enough to town to shop for souvenirs, yet not too far from the Arenal volcano, hot springs, and waterfall. Best vacation thus far!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are great for scenery of the volcano and greenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I spent 10 nights at Casa Luna last month, and loved every minute of it. The hotel is rather small, and we enjoyed the serenity that afforded. The room itself was perectly adequate. We didn't love the mattress, but it wasn't terrible. The view was gorgeous, though unfortunately a [lovely] tree kept us from getting a real volcano view, and we really enjoyed the spacious balcony. The only thing I'd say was missing would be a microwave. We had plenty of leftover arroz con pollo throughout our trip, but it's just not as good cold! That said, it's not like we were hurting for dining options. The hotel restaurant was great, and I'd say we ate half our dinners there. It was especially convenient after long days adventuring when we just weren't up for heading into Fortuna (which is only a $5 cab ride away).

The spa was lovely as well. We did the honeymoon special, which included a chocolate facial, chocolate body wrap, and a massage for each of us. All wonderful! The open-air massage room is beautiful, and they let us choose whether or not to have music (so that you can listen to the natural rainforest sounds instead, which is beautifully tranquil).

Our favorite feature of the hotel is actually the creek/river that runs behind it; it's a frog paradise! The trail that leads down to it is home to several strawberry ("blue jean") dart frogs who aren't shy about showing themselves off. Then once you're down to the riverbank, the leaf litter is just crawling with tiny frogs, as well as hatchling basilisks. Fair warning: there are also spiders. Big ones. And they walk on water.

More than anything, though, the staff MAKES this hotel. Everyone we dealt with was so helpful and friendly! They really made our stay in Costa Rica incredibly special, and I'm glad to have met each of them. Pura vida!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed here as a part of groupon. I had a nice view of the volcano from my room, which was as added bonus when it was not cloudy. The hotel is close to La Fortuna downtown. Taxi ride to/from downtown cost $6 each way. It should be walkable during the day time. The rooms were clean and there was air conditioning!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

If you don't have a car, this hotel maybe an alternative due to its proximity to La Fortuna downtown. Though I strong recommend getting a car if you are in Arenal.

Our GPS took us through a route that would require 4x4 especially during the rainy season. The check in process is quite smooth. Make sure you indicate if you prefer rooms on the ground floor. We got the second floor room, I guess because they think it has better view, but white a hassle with our luggages.

I didn't particularly like the rooms. It is way too lodge like. The mattress is very springy and not great for our backs. They have a regular cool pool, not hot springs.

The breakfast option is quite limited though sufficient.

I think there are other better options in Arenal that you should consider.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Agustinkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest;
Thanks for your comment; all of our rooms are the same, our second floor rooms are a little bit more popular because of the view and privacy; but lower floor rooms are closer to the gardens and you can enjoy more the nature around and has view to the volcano too. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,859 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing