We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was a vacation getaway from busy city and stressfull day to day work schedule. Best choice ever! This place is very clean, all staff- front desk, waiters, cooks, maintence, security everyone is super nice and humble. It is very quiet and allows you to relax and take in nature. The balcony view is BEAUTIFUL! Each room has volcano view which is awesome. You will also see many different animals - lizards, frogs, birds,Great place! They also offer different tours, they are very patient with you while you ask questions and choose your tours. The area is very safe, we walked to La Fortuna Waterfall and into town (both about 20 min walk opposit directions) and never did we feel threatened. Overall great place, highly reccomended!! On the last night, we informed front desk we would be checking out about 5:30am, since we were not going to be there for the free breakfast, they offered us a breakfast box to be picked at the front desk before leaving. Awesome!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    394
    66
    15
    4
See reviews for
297
644
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and cozy place! Everything was well kept - the grounds, room, restaurant, pool. Customer service was great. They are very helpful at the front desk, multi-lingual as well. They helped us with booking tours. The breakfast was good! Fruits, rice, eggs, ham, coffee. We had dinner once there and it also provided good food, was a little pricey, however. The wifi was ok, a little choppy, but manageable. The location was an easy 30-35 min walk from the hotel on the main road. Overall, it was a great experience. Money well spent.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JillFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phelan, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My new wife and I started our honeymoon off by renting a car and driving to Casa Luna. It is on the outskirts of La Fortuna which we really liked. We didn't want to be around the city all of the time. It is also a close drive to the Arenal Volcano attractions (15-20 min drive). The hotel has a nice pool and nice grounds with amazing views. We got our price for just under $75 a night including taxes at booking.com. They have a restaurant on site which has good food, but a little on the pricey side. You can also set up tours right at the hotel also. Tip: rent a car and drive to the tour locations and save lots of money. For instance: we wanted to do the Arenal hanging bridges. I believe it was $85 a person if they pick you up at the hotel and then you do the tour and drive you back. It is only $24 a person if you buy it at the bridges. We did book the Zipline tour through the hotel because the price was the same if you drove yourself or not. Go to La Fortuna falls which is just up the road from the hotel. Just walk there from the hotel if you don't have a car. It is only 2km from the hotel and is a pleasant walk. Entry to the falls is $10per person.
The breakfast is free and is very nice considering there were two of us getting free breakfast
on a $75 a night room.
Be careful in your room when the floor gets wet. It is slippery!
We planned the honeymoon ourself and paid less than the Groupon deal, plus we got to do more stuff and had a vehicle instead of getting a cab.
The hotel doesn't have a sign from the main road. When you are almost to La Fortuna, turn left at the Green Lagoon sign.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamezjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest;

Thanks for your comments, we really appreciate it. Renting a car is a good option and give you more independence on your trip, just one detail the Hanging Bridges tour is $65 per person and we offer transportation, naturalist tour guide (Bilingual), drinks and entrance fee thru Ecoterra Costa Rica. We hope that you enjoyed your trip to our country and wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I came here June 5-8 with one of my girl friends to celebrate our birthdays. Even though it was their rainy season, it didn't affect our stay really. The hotel was clean, beautiful and lush. We saw a lot of animals like frogs, lizards, fish and hummingbirds on the property. The staff was really helpful and friendly and we never felt pressure from them to tip or buy any extras. We got this getaway through a Groupon and were set up with ziplining, volcano tour, hot springs and white water rafting. Each tour guide was amazing, knowledgeable and fun. The locals were also great and we never felt pressure to buy from anywhere. I miss it already.

The only con, which is minor, is that after dark at a certain time, there are no lights lighting up the pathways to your hotel room, which can be kinda creepy with the wildlife. At the hot springs spa we ran past a really active snake jumping around on the pathway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest;

Thanks for your comments, we appreciate your opinion about the lights we will take care and fix it as soon as possible; we do not have as much light because not to affect the wildlife around the property but there should be good illumination on the sidewalks towards to the rooms and common areas; very good observation, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a spot within walking distance of anything, this isn't your place. However, if you want peace and quiet, solitude, and nature, this place is. The hotel has walkways surrounded by plants and small pools of water. Animals are abound, especially hummingbirds and frogs. There is also a very nice "off the beaten path" walking path at the back of the hotel. There's a creek/stream running through it. It's like a miniature forest hike. The hotel is clean with HUGE balconies. We out a towel in front of door to balcony because a few ants came in right away and we didnt feel like waiting to see if more woukd follow! Nice clean pool. Watch out for 2x1 happy hour... it's half-sized drinks, so you're really paying full price for a regular drink! Good stay overall.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank frogandtoadontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'm here right now. This place is fantastic. Our room is very nice, the grounds are beautiful, and the service is excellent. Very friendly and helpful staff. The pool is refreshing & the food is good. This hotel was included as part of a Groupon package. EcoTerra helped us extend the package to two weeks instead of just one. Their offices are adjacent to the hotel. We had several excursions included, but the hotel staff helped us book additional activities. The pool is clean and very refreshing. The hotel is within walking distance of several popular attractions. We used the shuttles and hired cabs to take us around town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanRobledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I purchased a groupon package that included a 5-night stay at Casa Luna and selected adventures. The place was a pleasant surprise. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and very knowledgeable of tourist spots and adventures. The hotel and spa are both clean and beautiful and there is a trail that leads down to a creek, which is great for photos. There is only one restaurant on the premise, however the food is amazing. Great seafood dishes, and the chicken with herb dish was my favorite. Breakfasts are also tasty and they make your eggs to order in front of you. I'd definitely recommend this place, the rooms are nice and you can hear mother nature throughout the night. I'd especially recommend the groupon/ living social deal to get the best bang for your buck. The location is close enough to town to shop for souvenirs, yet not too far from the Arenal volcano, hot springs, and waterfall. Best vacation thus far!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are great for scenery of the volcano and greenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing