We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting and Friendly Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California
1 review
“Beautiful Setting and Friendly Staff!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very nice that Casa Luna is a bit away from town situated on a quiet road. Staff were extremely friendly from check-in to restaurant to checking out. Really, really nice people. The only negative was booking this through Expedia meant a ridiculous $50.00+ surcharge added on to the nightly rate. First time I've ever seen a surcharge this high and it made the total rate go from competitive to quite high.

Room Tip: If booking through Expedia, etc, beware of surcharges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TheTravelerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    404
    67
    15
    4
See reviews for
307
661
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cooper City
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful Hotel in a central location in La Fortuna. Plenty of activities. Nice nature hike starting right from hotel. staff extremely friendly and helpful. Great restaurant with flaming desserts. Nice rooms with large showers. But the best part was the beautiful landscaping and wildlife. excellent complimentary breakfast with lots of fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyCooperCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel was absolutely wonderful
-Beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano (from a second floor balcony, when there wasn't any fog)
-Great pool, A/C, and restaurant
-Extremely kind and helpful staff
-Lots of information on activities outside of the hotel

I'd say the only downside is that it isn't too close to "downtown" La Fortuna, you would definitely have to take a taxi or bus to get there. The only attraction within walking distance that my family and I found was the Chocolate Tour. Apart from that the hotel really was great!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor tend to have a better view of the Arenal Volcano :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent two weeks traveling around Costa Rica. Casa Luna was our favorite of all. Everything was perfect!! If you are visiting La Fortuna you must stay here. You won't be disappointed! It truly is a tropical paradise.

Room Tip: The 2nd Floor Rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CobynKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Room G3 had a mold/ mildew stench. We had to turn on the A/C to get rid of it. However, the service was excellent both at their restaurant and the bar. Bar also served very good dinners. The breakfast was excellent. The staff at all levels were courteous and polite.The hotel compound was very lush and beautifully kept - park like setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shiyama V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest;
Thanks for your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations. In the rainforest is difficult take the humidity out of the rooms so that is why AC unit helps to take this problem out of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Beautiful location, large shower, lovely pool. The balcony view looks out on the lush gardens and the volcano. There is a short trail through the rain forest right on the grounds that was nice to walk in the mornings before breakfast. You are close to La Fortuna Waterfall and Cerro Chato and within walking distance of the Rainforest Chocolate Tour. A delicious breakfast is included with your stay. The only drawback is the distance from town. If you don't have a car, taxis can be expensive - particularly the ones contacted through the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KayJay084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest;
Thanks for your comments, the nature around the property is one of our most popular attractions; about the taxi prices we have been working with one cab driver for years (Sometimes he is not available so others come), we took pretty serious when our clients let us know this kind of comments, so if you can remember a name or style of the taxi that charge you more please get in contact with me (operaciones@casalunahotel.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I had a great time in La Fortuna and a great stay at the Casa Luna Hotel and Spa. It was located just outside of the main town, but it was easy to get to by cab for $5-10. The staff were all very courteous and professional. The rooms were great, with a balcony, AC unit, and TV (though the TV was a bit out of date). We went to the spa on our last day and did the honeymoon package, which included a body wrap, facial, and massage, all with a view of the forest with the soothing sound of falling rain (it rained a lot, it's the rainforest). I loved the spa. The only weak point was maybe the restaurant. It served a very solid breakfast each morning buffet style with an entree, a couple of sides (the fried plantains were my favorite), and a station making omelets or any other style egg. For lunch or dinner, though, there were limited options and they were a little pricey. It didn't matter too much for us, though, because we went into town most nights for our meals. There are much bigger hotel resorts in the area, with many pools and multiple in-house restaurants, if that's what you are into, but for us, the Casa Luna Hotel and Spa was a great, small, intimate, and incredibly option. And once again, the spa was an awesome experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank imcd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,438 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing