We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Hotel with an Excellent View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gorgeous Hotel with an Excellent View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

My wife and I spent 1 night here last week as part of our 10 day honeymoon trip to Costa Rica. The staff was very friendly both at the desk and at the restaurant. The on-site restaurant had great fresh food at very reasonable prices and the free breakfast was wonderful.

The hotel provides an excellent view of the Arenal volcano and surrounding mountains and the hotel itself is gorgeous. The rooms were very clean with very comfortable beds, great showers, and excellent volcano views right from the room.

The hotel is very close to La Fortuna (About $3-5 cab fare depending on what side of town you want to go to) and similar to most the hot springs or the volcano itself.

The feature my wife and I enjoyed the most was the proximity to the La Fortuna waterfall. Only a mile hike from the hotel (a hike that provides beautiful serene views the entire way), the waterfall and the park are $10 well spent. The hike in to the waterfall from the ticket booth is probably about 20-30 minutes depending on your ability to hike up and down some steep steps and rocky paths and the view is stunning.

We would highly recommend this to anyone going to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieCTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    394
    66
    15
    4
See reviews for
297
643
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

Booked months ahead for 3 night stay. Arrived and was given dark first floor room with no view. Complained and was given a top floor room with remark that the other party had not checked in yet; if you stay here, make sure you are promised a second floor room. Also know that although it looks close to town, it will cost $6 round trip by taxi. About $50 round trip to the hanging bridges and the arenal observatory lodge. Not a problem if you are brave enough to drive. Nice grounds and full service resort catering to tour groups.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbird28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

The rooms are giant and beautiful, the grounds are breathtaking... there were hummingbirds outside our room every morning. It is not in walking distance to La Fortuna, but any activity you will want to do will send a van to pick you up and drop you off, so we never had a problem with location, but if you wanted to walk somewhere you would find it difficult. The staff is extremely friendly and super helpful and the breakfast was AMAZING.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeePlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

We stayed at Casa Luna for 2 nights. Everything about the experience was pleasant. We loved our large room with a shower that could easily fit 4 people! The service at the front desk and breakfast was superb! The property is clean and welcoming. Only down side that it's a bit far from La Fortuna town and hot springs.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruzker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

We nave stayed there many time now, and the staff are very helpfull. Rooms are clean and comfortable the pool is wonderfull and tropical.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldHirsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

I recently returned from a 3 week trip to costa rica,casa luna was one of 8 places I stayed with my boyfriend, and it was definately the best. We got a good rate as we were travelling out of season.
Great location near fortuna, volcano and the waterfall

The pool and grounds are gorgeous, and facilities great. The rooms fantastic and aircon which was a treat! the shower is big and very powerful and the whole place was spotlessly clean.

The staff were super friendly and sorted out our transfers, called us cabs and rang our next accomodation for us.

I cannot recommend this place more!

Many thanks

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpentelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

We were looking for a nice and comfortable place to wind down with the kids for a few days after being on the road for while, and really found the perfect spot at Casa Luna! Spacious and clean rooms, a very good restaurant with decent prices and a very nice swimmingpool, all in a beautiful and relaxing setting that both we and the kids loved.

We went on several activities that the hotel recommended/arranged while we were there, they were all very well organized and great fun for both adults and kids (age 7 + 9). We especially enjoyed horseriding on the volcano (Don Tobias) and the white-water rafting (level 2-3, they won't let you do that with kids back home :-) )

The girls at the front desk were super-friendly and really went out of their way to help us arrange whatever we asked for, including taxi-tours to nearby attractions (to see the lava blow at night ++). They also arranged transfer and a tour for our next destination at Tortuguero, and even gave us a doggy-bag with breakfast due to very early departure.

No doubt where we will stay if we ever come back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erikkkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing