We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

I stayed at Arenal Nayara in late May for a friend's wedding. It is MUCH more posh than any place I would normally stay, but I decided to splurge because the wedding and events were to be held there. I'm very glad I stayed here, it was pricey (though we got a special wedding block rate), but worth every penny. It just looks like absolute paradise.
Impeccably clean, ENORMOUS room, friendly, amazing and impeccable service. Breakfast every morning was fantastic: custom-made omelettes, loads of fresh fruit (though not as good as fruit I had elsewhere in Costa Rica), many pastries, cereals, etc.
The pool is small but lovely, and I loved the pool bar. The fitness center is tiny and very basic.
Two laptops were available in the lobby, making it very easy to check email, do further trip planning, etc.
If you have the budget for it, a stay at Arenal Nayara is fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,851
    235
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
466
2,279
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

I truly had a wonderful time during my stay at Nayara.. The service and the hotel itself were outstanding. A picturesque view of the Arenal Volcano and an amazing surrounding. I truly loved it and so did my son. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daglis95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of July. We absolutley loved the service, room, grounds, and staff. We were in CR for a week and stayed here for the first part of our trip, before going to an all inclusive on the coast. Needless to say, we were ruined after staying here. Nothing compared to Nayara. The rooms are awesome! The beds and bedding are very comfortable-hard to find in most hotel rooms. We were in Casita #22 and had a great view of the volcano. We didn't think we would wake up early, but the sun rises around 5 and I was up at 530 everyday and felt great. It is the best time to see the volcano.

We really enjoyed the breakfast. It was a little different each morning, and always really good. We ate dinner at the restaurant one night and it was ok. We really like the food at he pool bar better and loved the bartender and his wonderful drinks! It was fun to relax at the pool in the evening.

Other positives: the staff is awesome, and it seemed like everyone really likes what they do. Free international calls and wifi was awesome! We had no problem arranging tours with the hotel and we were really happy with the excurions. Go canyoning!!! And if you go on a tour with Jacamar (or something like that) see if you can get Elmer as a guide. He was fabulous! Ziplining was fun (sky trek and tram), but we did canyoning first so the ziplining wasn't as "scary" as we thought it would be. The maid service is so great! And I had to have clothes washed (never have had this done anywhere before) because your clothes will get wet, and will mildew. The prices for cleaning were extremely reasonable and my clothes were clean and neatly folded and returned within hours!

All in all, a fabulous hotel! Oh, we are beer drinkers, but visited the wine bar-pretty cool the way it is set up and had a quiet meal of tapas on the porch one night. That food was GOOD!

We have told everyone about this place and we plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welovetravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Our family had a fantastic time and my parents did as well. From the time we arrived, the staff was outstanding and welcoming. A big thanks to Jonathan for getting us set up with two family friendly villas and we really enjoyed Jose and the entire restaurant team. Management has thought of everything: free wifi, free international calls, spectacular dining area, cozy wine bar, outstanding views from all rooms, unique areas ( Koi pond, covered hammock's, beautiful spa setting etc). Everyone is so friendly and you can tell they are focused on the guests and enjoying their careers at the hotel as well. The Pool Parrot will quickly learn your favorite school, our boys had him saying "Clemson" for an entire day! Look no further than Nayara, it will surpass your expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeoweeKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The rooms at Nayara really are wonderful. My family occupied villas 46, 49 and 50 all which had superb views of the volcano. There is an indoor and outdoor shower which was fantastic. The bathroom is big enough to play full court basketball in. Porch and hammocks were the best part of the rooms.

The rest of the hotel left a little to be desired. The pool area was under construction, making relaxing by the pool difficult. We ended up going to Tabacon three days in a row to enjoy the hot springs and pool area there. We have two children ages 8 & 6 and they loved the Tabacon pool area.

The restaurant was way average. Breakfast Buffett was far better than dinners. We ended up eating out at Rufinos, Lava Lounge,Tabacon and Anch'ios for our dinners. All of those spots were great.

The wine bar is great. 25 wines to try and the free calls to the US is a nice touch.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Once construction is compete this will be a great resort, but the pool area and food will never compare to Tabacon.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view of the volcano so be sure to request
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachbella6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azaragovia, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thanks so much for your comments which we appreciate. We are adding 3 new wooden barrel tub Jacuzzis in one of the gardens not too far from the pool area. We are very excited about this addition which will offer private relaxation with views of the Arenal volcano. We are working limited hours to minimize disturbing our guests using the swimming pool. We will limit the construction hours even further based on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
281 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here for four nights in April as part of a trip to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday.Our room was quite a walk from the main reception and restaurant and slightly uphill so whilst not ideal for us, as the gardens were so beautiful this wasn't really a problem.

The suite was very spacious with a good bedroom area. It had a superb and huge bathroom with plenty of clothes storage, a huge shower and twin basins. Also very good toiletries were provided.

Our deck area was nice with a volcano view although this view was significantly reduced by large trees. However disturbance from musak (we think coming from the hotel spa), and shouting and raucous laughter from the next room's jacuzzi meant that we could not enjoy sitting here and reading.

We also found the lounge room of our suite unusable. It was extremely austere and dark with a dark curtained window (needed for privacy from next door's deck and jacuzzi) with dark and very uncomfortable wooden furniture and no TV. Such a shame and waste of space, this would have been a lovely space had there not been a wall between the bedroom and furnished with a comfy sofa.

We really enjoyed the food. We ate breakfast and dinner in the restaurant each day and the food and ambience was excellent.

We feel that the tour booking here could be greatly improved. We booked some very good trips via the hotel reception. We did enjoy these, however, we had emailed requesting trip information and never received a reply. On arrival we talked at length to reception staff to try to book the trips we wanted. They only dealt with one company and those trips were very limited. Also staff seemed to know little of what the trip entailed. This resulted in us missing a trip we really wanted to take as we were not given sufficient information and only found out about it when it was too late.

We would also have appreciated a 'site map' of the hotel grounds which didn't seem to exist. We only found the pool and bar area on day 3.

The highlight of this hotel apart from the food was definitely the beautiful gardens and the numerous hummingbirds and beautiful flowers.

On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would like to stay again.

Room Tip: Tell the hotel if you want to be near the reception/reception or in a more secluded location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-a-JobSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azaragovia, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Thanks so much for your review which we sincerely appreciate. Our 2 Premium Suites offer an adjoining living room which we are in the process of upgrading including installing 32” plasma TVs.
Again, thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I was looking for a brief romantic getaway, one that has the touch of exotic and relaxing and at the same time secluded with an unforgettable background (the Arenal volcano) .....a far away rainforest with a beautiful suite in the middle of real trees and flowers and birds.LOOK NO MORE... NAYARA IS THAT MAGICAL.
As a doctor I often prescribed medications but this vacation is the best medicine.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank aluchtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing