We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely resort”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Lovely hotel overlooking the volcano. We were lucky enough to have one of the best rooms in the resort with a private Jacuzzi!!! Stunning. Room 33.

The resort is clean and staff are very friendly, helpful and fun.

One thing to note is that as it has been voted one of the most romantic hotels in the world - I could not help feeling that it is like being in a sandals resort. Everyone was on honeymoon and no as personal as I would have hoped. If you like small boutique hotels then this may not be the best option for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salliepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,927
    240
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
485
2,331
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (918)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This hotel is beyond beautiful. Everywhere you looked you were surrounded by nature and beauty. We had a huge room with an amazing view of the volcano from our bed and a deck with an outdoor Jacuzzi and hammock for taking an afternoon nap. The rooms also have outdoor showers. The entire place exuded romance. Even the cleaning staff would leave towel “animals” on the bed with fresh picked flowers.

Breakfast was buffet style. There was typical Latin food but also some basics like yogurt, cereal and eggs cooked to order. While eating, you would see the resident parrots hanging out. Dinners had different themes every night to keep things interesting. Certain nights there is music playing. If you tire of the food there, you can take a quick cab ride to town and check out the local fare.

I took advantage of the spa located on the premises and it was worth every penny. Having a massage against such a backdrop was peaceful and relaxing. Even attempted to workout in the 24hr gym. The gym overlooked the lush greenery. Easy to lose track of the workout.

We flew into San Jose International airport and then took a private transfer to the hotel, which is about 2-3 hours away. You can take another plane from SJ airport but we opted for the car ride to see the sights. Mileage-wise it is not far but with back roads you can’t travel too fast. Our driver recommended a local lunch spot en route to the hotel. It was very good. He also stopped along the way for pictures.

The wine bar on-site was different. Never experienced a bar where you pop in card to get your wine selection poured. Very a la Carte, but also pricey. As mentioned, the central part of town is not very far. A five-minute cab ride will get you there. I suggest stopping by the local market and pick up some snacks and drinks. Our driver stopped at one before taking us to the hotel. Good way to save some cash for the tours and souvenirs!

The staff is incredible friendly and trying to make your stay as memorable as possible. If you didn’t book any tours you could do so right at the front desk. I might suggest looking into a few before you head down to make sure your tour doesn’t sell out but it didn’t seem like there were any issues with people booking tours. I would recommend the safari boat tour where you raft down a river amongst the wildlife while your tour guide explains what you’re seeing.

There was nothing bad about our stay here and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling_NJ_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I would definitely come back to this place! You can tell the owner cares about his guests to ensure they have a great time and are taken care of! Would recommend to anyone looking for a private getaway. It has an outdoor shower and hot tub, wine bar and great service!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlover523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Everything about our stay here was wonderful. The casitas, staff, food, views, wine bar, everything was so perfect and beautiful. Definitely a better place for couples than families. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - my husband and I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is fabulous! They take care of everything for you and are happy to give advise on the best activites in the area. We met a lot of other honeymooner's and got a chance to enjoy the wine bar... a lot! It is truly in a perfect location, staff there is great, and the rooms were even more beautiful than seen online. YOU MUST GO HERE!!! But seriously.... it is not a place for kids!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephBeck8611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Breakfast & Dinner were included with our package - and boy did we take full advantage. The food was INCREDIBLE, and they had a special prix fixe menu that changed every night.

There was construction while we were there - they're building a sushi bar, I believe - which was a little annoying, but when I called the desk to ask how long they'd be working he said if it was troublesome they'd tell them to stop for the day. We obviously said that wasn't necessary, but it was a nice offer!

Two resident parrots - a green one and a macaw - provided great entertainment. The wine bar was fun, with the sampling machines and board games. Pool was small but clean and always the perfect temperature.

We set up a lot of excursions through the hotel, and they were great at arranging transportation and making sure we were prepared for the adventure!

We had a 30 minute massage and took advantage of the open air gym, despite the humidity turning us into sweat monsters within 5 minutes. (chilled towels and cold water are complimentary and very much appreciated)

Great trip. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We absolutely fell in love with this motel. We were warmly greeted as we arrived and was given a bottle of water and scented cold clothes to freshen up with. Our room shouted luxury when we walked thru the door. A hot on the deck and a hammock along with a table and chairs. We had an outdoor shower and an indoor shower. Robes and slippers were provided. The restaurant had wonderful food and the service was the best. The gardens are beautiful to walk thru. Lindsay was a great asset to the motel. She was informative and really cared about the day we had when we returned from our outings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
766 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,351 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,831 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing