We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I loved the Naryara Hotel. The staff was very friendly and gave great advice in helping us plan our daily activities. The rooms are beautiful and very private. This is place has a very romantic atmosphere.
The view of the volcano is amazing. The cabins are in the midst of the jungle.
Very well worth it.

Room Tip: the suits are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tayloranadame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,441 - 2,447 of 3,332 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the Nayara Hotel in the height of the Rainy Season, but the weather didn’t impact our stay in the least. Our room was spectacular and the unobstructed view of the Arenal Volcano from our private deck was fantastic. The staff at the hotel was incredible too! Randall kept us happy at the pool area every day with tasty drinks, snacks and great service! And Jonathan was a big help in planning some of our activities and keeping us entertained. Juan Carlos took exceptional care of us at all our meals at the wonderful hotel restaurant where the food was beyond compare! We will definitely recommend Nayara to anyone thinking of a trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azaragovia, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

We are so glad you enjoyed Nayara and were able to appreciate why it is so special. Please know that only the original casitas deluxe rooms have open ceilings in the commode area which is completely walled off otherwise. This is something we are looking at updating as part of our ongoing improvements to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We just spent four days in Arenal Nayara and it truly was a beautiful place to stay. The views of the volcano were amazing, the service in the spa, restaurant and bar was wonderful, and the staff were extremely helpful. Manuel, one of the drivers, made the trip from San Jose a great experience. He seemed to really enjoy his work, was incredibly knowledgeable about the country, and stopped to share the fruits of his country (Guanabana is a wonderful fruit). Our only complaint was that there was ongoing construction near the pool and restaurant (they are building a new sushi bar). They said they would stop it if it was bothering us, but who is really going to ask all the workers to stop so they can feel more relaxed by the pool? We were not aware of the construction prior to going and it definitely impacted the quality of staying at this location. Other than that, this was a wonderful place to stay in the area. The inside/outside shower and hot tub on the deck were a treat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Demeanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azaragovia, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

We are so glad to hear you discovered why Nayara is such a special and romantic place. We apologize again for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the construction. When we tell guests we will stop the work if it is impeding their experience - we mean it! Nonetheless, we are glad to hear you had an overall memorable experience. We are working to make Nayara an even better resort and hopefully after the Sushi Lounge is completed in November you will come back to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This has to be the best place we stayed in. Beautiful view of the volcano and such beautifyl rooms/ bungalows. We had a shower inside with two showerheads and a shower outdoors as well. We also had a private hot tub. The staff is extremeley friendly as well. Every night the staff dropped off water and pastries

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

When I was researching this hotel, I saw the “views from your room” photos and was extremely skeptical. Upon arriving and seeing the views myself, my jaw was on the floor. I could not believe that the volcano views were unobstructed and the flowers/foliage that framed our deck was amazing. It was so amazing, it was unreal. No wonder it was voted #1 by TripAdvisor. In addition to the great views of the volcano, the hotel staff was warm, welcoming and extremely accommodating to our needs. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Lower number casitas are closer to the main common areas and more convenient. Higher number casitas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire1lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights of our honeymoon here. We absolutely loved the Arenal area, and all that it had to offer. We used Desafio for canyoneering (fantastic), Ecoglide zip-line (highly recommend), and Ecothermales hot spings (just so-so). While we loved Arenal, we were not impressed with the hotel. On our first day we had planned to just relax around the hotel pool and explore the gardens, "peaceful" pathways, and see all that the hotel had to offer. However, this was not possible. There was hammering due to construction directly above the pool and it was hard to manuever around the paths due to golf carts full of construction materials obstructing the paths and construction workers laying stones for the walkway. I understand that construction must go on, but I feel they could have been more considerate of the guests. We felt that we were inconveniencing them each time we left our room. I would recommend that you wait to visit until after construction is complete (rumored to be January 2012).

I have debated about mentioning an unsettling event that occured during our stay, as it did not ruin our trip, but I feel that it is informative to others when deciding where to stay. On our 3rd day we stopped back into our room to change quickly between tours, and found that my swimsuit was nowhere in the room. We looked for more than 30 minutes for my swimsuit and ended up running late for our next excursion. We called the front desk to inform them of the situation, as I could not go to the springs without my suit. They told us that they would send the maid up. The strange part was that within 10 minutes the maid was there with my swimsuit. The front desk stated that she took it to dry. However, I had not requested this service. We had 3 pairs of pants and 3 shirts hanging up to dry in our room that had not been taken. We found it very odd that the one item that I would NOT want dried (due to shrinkage/delicacy issues) had been taken without our consent, and without notification. I have notified management of this incident, and they have appologized in a professional manner. Unfortunately, the damage to our time/swimsuit/and overall uneasiness was done. It may be too silly to mention, as again it in no way ruined our trip...but it made me feel weird.

The rooms are amazingly beautiful, relaxing, and huge. The bed in comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. Our balcony overlooked a small stream and beautiful trees. Be aware that unless you pay for a room with a volcano view, you will NOT see the volcano. We were fine with this, as our rainforest view offered privacy and tranquility. The pool area is cute (after 5 pm when construction stops) and the pool bar had tasty, decently priced drinks. Overall, we had an amazing time in Arenal, but next time we wil probably stay in a different hotel.

Room Tip: Casita 8's balcony is private, but you cannot see the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovestotravel060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azaragovia, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Firstly, congratulations again on your recent wedding. We are glad you chose to celebrate at Nayara but disappointed you encountered a few hiccups. Please forgive us for the misunderstanding surrounding your bathing suit. It is the culture within the hotel and Costa Rica for the staff to go the extra mile to exceed guests' expectations and in this case what started as the housekeeper's good intentions unfortunately was carried out inappropriately and we apologize again. Regarding the current construction, we apologize for the inconvenience. Our staff has been instructed to halt work as soon as it interferes with any guest's experience as we are sensitive to the balance of improving the property and interfering with the true Nayara experience. The work will be done in November and hope you come back for your anniversary to enjoy the new facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 29th anniversary. We stayed in the suite, but every hut has amazing privacy and views! Every hut have views of the volcano (when it's not to cloudy) and very plush gardens. Tropical FRIENDLY birds everywhere. They do like to join you in the eves at the pool but staff are careful not to let them overstay their welcome (great pictures!).
The rooms were spotless and so well kept. Every day rose pedals with towel creatures, so romantic. If you want more remote spot ask for a hut on the top side of property but it is about a 3-5 min walk to dinner and pool (with swim up bar and fun bartenders!)
Food was great every meal and staff become so familiar with you they begin to anticipate your preferences quickly and always friendly. EVERYONE from the concierge to housekeeping go out of their way to make this a special stay. The hummingbirds which practically land on you and other beautiful birds were wonderful to wake up to.
We spent the first 5 days here then to a flight to the Gaia (and paid more $$$ at Gaia which was disappointing compared to the Nayara). Gaia was "stuffy" and missed all the staff and romantic and relaxed atmosphere at the Nayara!
Will definitely go back and will strongly recommend it for my daughter when she gets married!

Room Tip: rooms close to pool for close walks to dinner and pool and bars, ask ahead for hut at top of grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abed845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
844 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,428 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £239 - £730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing