We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is an absolutely gorgeous property, with very good service and a convenient location. I would definitely recommend to other couples and would stay there again.

Room: We stayed in one of the Nayara Suites, which is definitely worth the money to upgrade. It had a beautiful outdoor shower and private deck with a hot tub, hammock, and gorgeous view. We really liked the outdoor shower and never used the indoor one. The indoor bathroom had a lot of nice amenities, however, like a towel warmer (great to dry swimsuits and wet clothes), dual vanities, etc.

Property: The grounds were beautiful, with lots of fountains and flowers. We saw parrots, lots of other birds, and a sloth. There is one small pool (although they are building a larger one that should be open soon). The pool is fine for adults who want to lounge or have a drink, but is not for kids. There were two unruly kids (ages 2 and 4) while we were there that ruined the pool for us. They literally spit water at us (and in our drinks) and shrieked at a high pitch. They cleared out the entire pool. While I can't blame the hotel for the behavior of the guests, since the hotel boasts over 90% of their guests are honeymooners or people on their anniversary I am not sure why they allow kids under a certain age. When they open the new pool, at the very least I hope they make the old pool adults only. We escaped the kids by going to the separate hot tub area, but on day 2 of shrieking kids everyone had this idea and that area was full.

Food/Service: For the most part the service was great. Everyone was friendly, spoke very good English, and was definitely trying. We had a few minor hiccups (e.g. making us leave breakfast for a tour, when the tour wasn't there yet). The food in the sushi restaurant was very good. Breakfast in the main restaurant was average (some days better than other).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,537 - 1,543 of 3,336 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

The readers of both Travel and Leisure and Condé Nast got it right when they voted Nayara the No. 4 hotel in the world. Nayara managed to live up to our impossibly high expectations. My boyfriend and I stayed in Nayara Suite #32 from October 29th to November 1st. The suite is unlike any other room you are likely to see in your life: authentic, huge, and architecturally stunning. We were very lucky to have experienced completely clear skies (see our photos & videos) allowing for jaw-dropping views of the Arenal Volcano. We have been to some of the top ranked hotels in the world including acclaimed resorts in Thailand and Bali and we can confirm that Nayara is definitely up there! We paid less than $400 per night for our room. Any comparable luxury hotel in Asia would have cost two to three times as much.


What else can I say…the place is like a dream. Recommendations:
1) Visit the spa (we had a couples hot-stone massage)
2) Sample the vintages at the wine bar
3) Take a chance on the “Nayara Roll” at Sushi Amor
4) Ask Randall at the swim-up bar for a Bloody Mary and take it with you to the secluded hot tubs
5) Ladies take a nap with your boyfriend/fiancé/husband on the outdoor hammock while drifting off to the sounds of the rainforest
6) Ask for a tour of the new “Nayara Springs Villa” and start saving for next year!


Activities: Sky Trek (not for those with fear of heights/speeds), white water rafting, horseback riding. Recommend all three.



Meals: We ate at the hotels various restaurants for every meal except one trip to Don Rufino’s in town (get the chicken with yellow squash risotto!!) . Without exception all our meals were great. The wine paired dinner at the wine bar is an experience not to be missed:


Pro’s: All the above

Con’s: The fact that it had to end

Note*: We flew into Liberia, rented a car, and drove to Arenal. While we found the journey (3.5hrs) memorable, the drive is not for everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa #32, if your not up for a little walk to your room request one closer to the conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrldtravler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed three nights at Nayara while hiking around Arenal. Great hotel with world class staff. Thoroughly enjoyable. Centrally located to volcano, La Fortuna, Hanging Bridges and Lake Arenal. Nayara has two restaurants and wine bar with quality collection.

Room Tip: Rooms 8-15 have unobstructed views of the volcano from the patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was such a beautiful place to spend our honeymoon. The staff and owners exceeded our expectations by far. We booked the honeymoon special and exchanged the tours for adventure tours and the process was very easy. Staff sneaked around like little elves hiding rose petals and setting up romantic things in our room. Johanna was one of our favorites from Altamira and she was also in charge of the romantic dinner set up for us. Nancy from Sushi Amor was another favorite. Angelo, one of the owners?, was around the hotel introducing himself to us and offering to have dinner with us which made us feel very welcome. He even suggested we have "coco loco's" on the house which became my new favorite drink!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

What an exceptional hotel!!! We were blown away with the beauty of the resort, the rooms, the service and the food. There was not one thing missing. From the moment that we were greeted to the time that we departed, we felt like every single staff member LOVED having us there. The attention to our every single desire was taken care of. The suites are very large and the furniture is solid wood and pure beauty and the rooms have a beautiful wood wrap around balcony with a private hot tub, a hammock and.. We loved spending time on the balcony watching all of the birds, beautiful flowers blooming from the multitude of trees and watching the iguanas and squirrels. The rooms also have the coolest outdoor showers with two shower heads and have beautiful trees that surround you but you also have very large indoor showers with two entrances and two showerheads and even a heated towel bar. The pool has a fun swim up bar and all throughout the resort there are private spots in beautiful settings, like secluded hammocks, secluded hot tubs and an amazing fish pond. We also had the couple massage at the spa and loved it! All of our meals were delicious and exciting.. Every day the breakfast buffet contained new things to try and there was always an abundance of fresh fruit. We will definitely visit again.. It was the BEST way to start our married life!!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room on the entire property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mymzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Wow! What a great place. The reservation process was great and the staff was very helpful in answering the questions I had (the live chat was a nice feature). We arranged our transport through the hotel and it was a very smooth process. Throughout our stay, the staff was unfailingly polite, helpful and had a great attitude. Our room was fantastic with wonderful views. We were also vey pleased with the food. We booked our excursions through the hotel and had great experiences zip lining, rain forest and volcano hikes and the class 3/4 whitewater rafting trips. We have recommended Nayara to several of our friends already.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stl_Steve_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed at Nayara and from the warm and genuine greeting with wine and cool towel till the day we checked out was exquisite. We met the owner and he said that everyone there was very well taken care which was clearly evident in the level of service we were given. The food was fantastic, spa worked some wonderous magic on me and the room......words fail me in my description if it. Magnificent comes to mind, paradise, heaven. I highly recommend that if you are traveling to the area and looking for a place to relax and indulge yourself, stay here. I know I will again. Thank you to all the staff in front and behind the lines that made our stay what it was. Congrats on your success and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
849 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,429 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £243 - £744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing