We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Luxery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Worcs
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“5 Star Luxery”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nayara Is without doubt an amazing hotel the best room we stayed in during our trip to CR. Hammocks and Jacuzzi on the balcony a magnificent 4 poster bed overlooking the balcony , an outdoor shower and toiletries to die for and one free unlimited international phone call. The grounds and pool are beautifully maintained and the dining experience excellent and I would return in a heartbeat.
However a cautionary note whilst the rooms are extremely romantic , the hotel is not and some of it felt quite contrived, the wine bar is state of the art but lacks atmosphere and some of the staff are quite pushy in asking you for extras it has now extended its rooms and I hope it doesn't become a failure of its success.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorcsHornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,907
    239
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
481
2,318
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is probably one of the more amazing ones in La Fortuna. We had a Nayara Suite. Private, elegant and romantic. The Suite's octagonal design makes it comfortably spacious and allows natural light to filter from every angel. Amenities include a private garden wir dual outdoor showers and an oversized Jacuzzi on the wrap-around balcony the overlooks the imposing Arenal Volcano. We had Suite Nr. 38, the Volcano was in front of us. Breakfast buffet with egg-station and good variation of food. Absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: There are not many Suites, but I suggest Nr. 38
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvanmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Such a truly beautiful hotel, property, and experience. We stayed in April for four nights for our honeymoon with high expectations after reading the multitude of reviews. Add another vote to the property being beautiful and the service being exceptional. You will not be disappointed by the privacy of the rooms, the views (room 24 was amazing) of the volcano / tropical paradise, or much else during the stay. All touches are well thought out (flash lights in all rooms for getting around at night, umbrellas everywhere, etc.). We ate a Sushi Amor, Amor Loco, and Altimara for dinner. The staff was a delight, extremely courteous, fun loving, and friendly. Their service was a big part in the overall enjoyment of our stay. All the experiences were good with great service as well, expensive, but not out of the range for the caliber of the resort. Amor Loco was the most fanciest of the options. Altimara does have live music many of the nights as well. So many things we loved from Nayara: private outdoor Jacuzzi and shower; private hot tubs, general upkeep and beauty of the property, pool with swim up bar, and wonderful atmosphere with so many other honeymooners. Other than an amazing couples massage the last evening, we were very active during the trip. We signed up for the volcano hike, combo rappelling and horseback riding to La Fortuna waterfall (through Desafio), Rio Celeste hike, Cero Chatto (extreme hike). Honestly, we loved them all. Rio Celeste is a one hour forty five minute drive, a bit difficult with the mud, but completely beautiful and worth it. Cero Chatto was beautiful as well, with more incline and length on the hike. Well worth the effort. We were lucky with the weather and a clear view of Arenal the last couple days, but do have caution when the clouds take over, it really does cover parts to all of the volcano. Overall, highly recommended to visit, stay as long as you can. You will make memories of a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in April. Very beautiful property. Our balcony was very private and it was wonderful to sit outside and listen to the sounds of the rainforest. In fact, one morning, we recorded an hour's worth of sounds on our iphones and it is now our nighttime relaxation tape! The outdoor shower in a tropical garden was so unusual - I would go back just for that! The meals were excellent and customer service top notch. The walkways are lined with beautiful trees and flowers. Hummingbirds are everywhere. The pool is very nice, as well. We went one evening and had the whole pool to ourselves.The view of the volcano from our room was fantastic. We had a couples massage and thought it was "OK".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon! It was truly AMAZING!! Our room was beautiful. We stayed in a Casita Deluxe, which was more than enough room for us. We had the most beautiful walk in tile shower that lead to an outdoor shower in our own private garden. The shampoo, lotion, and conditioner were top notch. The bathroom featured a hairdryer and a make up mirror with its own lighting. They really thought of everything! Rosita was our house keeper, although I never met her, she did a wonderful job and went above and beyond. We can back one night to rose petals leading out to our private balcony with a warm bubble bath waiting on us. The bed was super comfy. This was truly a luxurious hotel. We ate dinner at both of the onsite restaurants and had a private dinner the other night. Each night the food was amazing. We also had live music at each restaurant, which was subtle and perfect for the occasion. The scarlet macaw visited us on our private balcony before we left. It was a great experience. The only thing that could have been improved, was the fact that our balcony was right next to a walking bridge, so we did not have a lot of privacy. Adding an outside curtain on the far right corner of the balcony, behind the hammock, would be an easy fix. Private jacuzzis were scattered throughout the property. The pool was perfect, and service was great. All of the staff members went above and beyond. We also had a hot stone couples massage, which was to die for! This was the best honeymoon ever!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahBeth0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Nayara for 3 nights in April 2014. This place is absolutely beautiful and the staff is very friendly and attentive. Nayara has several restaurants with a good variety of food that tastes great and is reasonably priced. We enjoyed spending time in the jacuzzis, at the pool bar, and at Sushi Amor during the 2-for-1 happy hour. They also provide a complimentary breakfast with a variety of different food options. I highly recommend Nayara, as well as their personal tour guide Andres. Andres took my husband and I on a tour through the rainforest to Arenal volcano which was by far our favorite part of the entire trip! Not only is Andres highly knowledgeable about the area and its history, he even explained ecosystems, plant and animal adaptions, different scientific theories relating to volcanism, etc. In addition to all this, Andres was extremely nice, funny, and easy going! Even if you don’t stay at Nayara, I highly suggest you find Andres!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Nayara the first half of our vacation. It is so wonderful and fantastic it ruined the second half of our vacation. There is no way any other property in Costa Rica can compare to this property.

For one thing, it is incredibly secluded in the middle of no where. When we were there (end of April, early May) the property was completely booked but it is so spread out that you can literally see no one else if you wish. The rooms are their own little houses and they are fantastic. Comfortable beds, beautiful bathrooms - our room had an outdoor shower and an outdoor jacuzzi. We had this beautiful porch that overlooked Arenal. It was like an overwater bungalow in Bora Bora but in the rain forest. Just perfect.

The hotel is connected to another Nayara property by a hanging bridge. There are two spas and two pool areas. The pool area near our bungalow was very secluded and had a swim up bar. The second property had an infinity pool that was more in the open so better for sunbathing. There are no crappy plastic or metal loungers here. Each pool had big round cushioned couch things.

We ate all of our meals at Nayara and they were good. Had we have known that cabs were so cheap, we would have gone off property for a few meals because the restaurants around there are supposed to be fantastic. We booked a couple's massage, facial, and bath through the spa and it was by far one of the best spa treatments I have ever received in my life. We also booked a romantic dinner through the hotel. We were taken by golf cart to this little area in the rainforest where a chef cooked a private dinner for us. It was horrifically expensive but so much fun. The best part is when we returned to our room, we had rose petals all over our floor leading us to our patio where they had drawn us a bubble bath complete with champagne and strawberries. It was magical. A nice touch, a total surprise and just amazing.

We booked all of our excursions through the hotel. The hotel staff was very attentive, patient, and hospitable. We just really loved our stay there. Five stars, all the way.

Just as an FYI - the hotel is literally in the middle of no where. If you fly into San Jose, you are looking at a three hour drive from San Jose to the property. If you fly into Liberia, you are looking at a four hour drive from Liberia. These drives should not scare you off. The drive is absolutely stunning, we saw so many monkeys!! The drive to/from Liberia was ridiculous - you drive around the volcano and the man made lake, over the dam…no interstates here, all two lane, very windy roads. So perfect and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OklahomaPrettyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing