We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Near Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just returned home after vacationing in Costa Rica. We spent our last five days at the Nayara Hotel. We couldn't have been happier with our stay. Our Casita, the grounds, and the staff absolutely lived up to their consistently high ratings. As others have said, Andres was very helpful in recommending tours and activities. And Yesenia "Jesse" and the staff at Altamira spoiled us with fantastic food and truly 5 star service. Typically my wife and I like to break away from the resort and experience several local restaurants. In this case, we couldn't find any other restaurant that could compare with Altamira. I do have one concern for the overall resort and I can't even call it a complaint; it seems that the all ages pool is just not up to the same spectacular standard as the rest of the resort. In fact, I'd go so far as to say the pool and surrounding area looked shabby and dated. Still, the pool was clean, pool service was great and related amenities were superb. My wife and I almost never take repeat trips, in the case of the Nayara Hotel, we will be back. Thank you to all the Nayara staff for making our vacation so wonderful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SunnySD619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,881
    238
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
478
2,299
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Nayara and it was the highlight of our Costa Rican vacation! We we there with our 2 daughters, ages 12 & 14, and enjoyed zip-lining, hiking, and more! We would not have seen as much without Andres, a guide from the hotel. He showed us so many animals, plants, birds and more and made it interesting for the entire family. I highly recommend him and can not wait to show family and friends some of the pictures he took!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Landryjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Nayara for two nights at the end of our honeymoon, and our only regret for the whole trip was that we didn't spend more time in this region. We arrived on Saturday and were greeted with delicious drinks. Our room, the "mid-level" type room, was gorgeous. We'd been at a fantastic place before this which was unbelievable, but Nayara was so different and we loved it. The room was huge with a great king bed, large porch with two chairs to relax, a hammock, a table and two chairs, and the spa which was really a jetted tub. The enormous bathroom took up half of the cottage! Glass enclosed shower with two rainfall shower heads, PLUS an outdoor shower with two heads. Separate sinks for us both, plus a bar area and two large closets. We booked the hanging bridges tour through the resort and they made it very simple to do - giving you a list of all of the options with prices. Simple to call the front desk the night before, and everything was all set. The foliage around the cottage was stunning, and we had a volcano view which we didn't have high expectations to enjoy. However, the last morning, Monday morning, we woke up to see that the clouds had cleared and there it was in all its glory!! This could have been due to the rain and storm we'd had the day before. We knew we were in the rainforest, so didn't mind the rain one bit - in fact we opened the doors to the porch, but left the screens closed, and slept like that so we could hear the storm. We made friends at the first resort that were coming to Nayara the same day as us and had the top-level type room so we got to enjoy that too! Very similar in size, same bathroom setup with a little bit more room, and they had a sitting area in the bedroom as well. Not to mention the infinity spa on the porch which can be hot or cold - your choice! We pulled the tv in front of the sliding glass doors inside and watched the World Cup from the pool/porch - awesome. We had three meals at Nayara - Sushi for dinner the first night, lunch at the pool bar, and dinner in the restaurant the last night which was Mexican night. All meals were fantastic, particularly the sushi. Drinks were a bit expensive so if you are planning on drinking, it may be worth it to go for the top-level room which includes drinks in the room. We took a walk around the property to look for Tony the sloth, and there he was! We watched him for a good 45 minutes, and a staff member brought out a nice scope so we could get a closer look. We enjoyed all of our time spent here...you won't regret it!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a fantastic stay here. The room was gorgeous, even better than the pictures. The room was so secluded and private, it was amazing. The people were all so helpful and friendly, we hates to leave. Lindsay and Marcela in particular were wonderful. The breakfast dining room service was superb, and the manager there gave us a hug on our last day there. Can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donducker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nayara is an amazing place. You cannot believe your eyes of the Beauty and the setting... We got to see the volcano a few times from our breakfast area and it was breathtaking. I went there with my family and we had a great time. They recommended Jacamar tours and they were excellent... go try the spa, you will not be disappointed. The bathroom needs a little updating especially the shower area but over all it was a lovely stay.. Great service and very gracious staff.

Room Tip: Use Jacamar tour as per hotel recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graceycalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked the new villas at the Nayara and it was phenomenal. There was a ton of space and the plunge pool was awesome. We could swim anytime day or night which was great at night as it got dark about 6:30pm. We also liked as a couple, this area was adult only. With the villa you can do room service for breakfast for free which was very convenient when getting ready for an early tour each morning.

Overall the property was beautiful! The staff was friendly and willing to help in anyway they could. I travel a ton for work and for pleasure and this has been one of the best places we have ever stayed.

I highly recommend and plan to return.

Room Tip: Would get the villa, they are individual buildings and all seem great. Ours was private and could se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aer151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I just got back from a one week stint here for our honeymoon, and wow. There's not really anything I can say that previous reviewers haven't said. The rooms are gorgeous and meticulously kept; always clean. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and professional. We didn't walk past one employee without a friendly smile and a greeting. The spa treatment we did was awesome, extremely relaxing. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. The pool is great, and the bartenders, Randall & Jonathan, are extremely friendly, attentive, and a lot of fun. The main restaurant, Altamira, is incredible. We didn't visit Amor Loco, and only went to Sushi Amor once (it was okay, nothing to really write home about).

Lindsay, Jonathan, Bismarck, and Ever (with the main hotel staff) were incredible in telling us things to see and making sure we had everything we needed. We even got to see the resident sloth, Tony! If you can afford it, do not miss Nayara hotel; it is a magical place, and we will definitely be back again! Thank you guys!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in #49, it's a bit of a walk, but EXTREMELY private, and backs up to a horse farm. Eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewDoesAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing