We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our family trip to Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our family trip to Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This review is long overdue. In 2013 we stayed at Nayara with our two children, then 13 and 16, and loved it! The room was spacious and clean with beautiful wood accents, an outdoor shower and a large porch with ample seating and a hammock with views of the Volcano. The grounds were beautifully landscaped with a very tropical feel. We ate all of our meals at the hotel and appreciated the attentive wait staff and good food which was indigenous to the area. Lastly, the spa was a highlight. The rooms, although private, are open air so you can enjoy the outside while enjoying your spa service. Unfortunately, the only bad thing I can say is that Nayara has set the bar too high and most hotels will pale in comparison!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,882
    238
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
478
2,300
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is one of the best hotels we've stayed at.... it's absolutely amazing. The staff is OUTSTANDING, they have so much pride & care for their jobs and it shows!! The entire hotel, resort, decor, etc. is beautiful. Rooms are ridiculously big, pools & numerous secluded hot tubs are awesome and all the restaurants are fabulous!!!! We LOVE the Nayara Hotel!!!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which "room" you get b/c the rooms are all separate villas... all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My family stayed at Nayara the last week of July. No words can describe how beautiful the grounds are. It really felt like we were staying in a rainforest garden. The rooms are also fabulous - my favorite part was the outdoor shower! All the service was fantastic. Lindsay in the lobby and Jesina at Altira were 2 of the ladies that really stood out. Our housekeeper kept my kids entertained with the outrageous animals she made out of towels, blankets and sheets (a gigantic elephant and dog were 2 of their favorites). A bonus was that the entire property had free wifi and free calls to the states. It was great for my husband who could periodically check his work email and I could send pictures back to the grandparents.
I have no complaints about this hotel whatsoever, only that I would probably not bring my kids back. It is really a place for couples and honeymooners - no activities/pool atmosphere for kids. Their favorite thing was Carlotta, the resident Macaw. She was their entertainment and mine as well! I hope to come back and will recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: All rooms are very private and secluded in their own gardens, but if you don't want to walk too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumpfamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We absolutely loved Nayara. We took our two boys(4yr and 8yr) and we all had the best time. We stayed in a Nayara Suite and it was simply beautiful with a perfect view of the volcano and the most plush rainforest flora surrounding our veranda. The food is good and the staff is so attentive and friendly. We decided to take a guide with us from Nayara for the day and it was one of the best decisions, his name is Andres and he was patient, exploratory and really seems to love what he does which made our day with him perfection! We highly recommend staying at Nayara and having Andres as a guide! We cannot wait to back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMSL722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago il
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Couldn't stay at hotel due to availability :(. We made the short trip over to Altamira the first night in the area and it was one of the dining highlights of our lives. Went with my wife and 3 daughters. Alvaro tarted us like royalty. The steak, sea bass, everything was top notch. While the food was amazing the staff were exceptional. Even though we were not staying at the hotel they made us feel like we were family. Joanne the hostess came over and was playing with our 2 year old, Alvaro's service, conversation, and interaction made a great meal that much better. Thank you!!! We will be sure to book way ahead of time next time to ensure we can stay there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank willymcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is an exceptional resort where you are treated like a special guest all through your stay. The ratio of staff/guests must be huge because there is always someone near you to provide help or guidance. The grounds are kept like a botanical garden and you are surrounded by beautiful flowers.

The rooms are lovely and very spacious. My only caveat about those rooms (the first 2 levels, not the Springs) is that you do not have any sort of couch or sofa in the room to read or watch TV during those rainy afternoons or nights. It is kind of weird to have to sit in your bed all the time to be able to read at night. Not the most comfortable position in my opinion.

In summary, it is a small boutique hotel that fully deserves that sometimes misused denomination.
You truly feel like they care about you at Nayara.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the range of 47-50 to be on the outskirts to avoid any sort of noise from people wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeromeMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our first introduction to Costa Rica and what a fabulous one it was too.
The hotel is exceptionally beautiful and nothing has been spared in making it luxurious, comfortable and relaxing.
The service was impeccable and so personable. Outstanding mention should be made of Roberto, Jess, Andres and Lindsay who were so pleasant, helpful and welcoming throughout our stay.
The main restaurant served good food, but the food at the " smarter" one near the Villas was exceptional.
If there was one piece of advise to future customers, it would be that the Casita rooms are as good if not better than the Suites. We stayed in both and even thought the Casita rooms are cheaper, we preferred them.
If you're in two minds about staying here in Arenal, don't be as it's amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ameliashiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing