We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Pedro, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our new Home away from Home”
Reviewed 11 April 2009

This place was amazing. From the minute we pulled up to the hotel and were greeted by Johnathan everything was perfect. We stayed in a regular room which was perfect. We toured the suites which are much more pricy but the only difference is more privacy from the deck and a king sized bed with a canopy. Our queen bed worked out just fine. The service was impeccable...we had fun hanging out with Jimmy, the bartender at the pool. he was taking an English class so he helped us with our Spanish as we helped him with his English. The drinks were only $5 each which is very reasonable considering we were drinking mojitos...they were great. We had a massage which was definitely a highlight. When we returned to our room we found a bottle of Champagne on ice for us. We thought the breakfast buffet (which is included in the price) was perfect. We loved the made-to-order omelettes, bacon, ham, fresh fruit, yogurt, pancakes...pretty much anyting you could want for breakfast was available.

The rooms were very modern and clean and the outdoor showers were incredible! Very quiet and peaceful.

They have a tour desk in the lobby to help with all of the tours. We did the rapelling tour which was so much fun as well as the Sky Trek zip lines. We also went to the hot springs at Eco Termales - very small and private and inexpensive. There were only 2 other couples there with us the entire day. Very quiet to the stories we have heard about Tabacon.

All in all i would 100% recommend this hotel to anybody interested in staying in La Forturna/Arenal area.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DooleyDog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,946
    241
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
489
2,346
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

A hidden gem - with the price lower than expected, so were my expectations. But everything was just gorgeous, from the volcano views from our porch to the gardens to the beds themselves.

The outdoor jacuzzi on our porch was really big enough for two people to be comfortable, and the sheer curtain was great for letting in the breeze and keeping the bugs out. I hardly ever saw anyone at the pool, but the bartender was friendly. The service was great. Just a great quiet, luxurious place to get away.

The only downsides are the restaurant -- you will get tired of eating there over and over. The food is not bad, just not very extensive. As I recall everything seemed to be drenched in various sauces. The sauces themselves were quite tasty, but they just went a bit overboard on sauce quantity. We only stayed for a few days but I would have headed into town if I hadn't been so relaxed and lazy.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el_danyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Our accommodations at Arenal Nayara were the very best we've ever stayed at. Rooms were spacious and beautiful, outside shower great, jacuzzi was really nice and an added plus was the view from the back porch which was breathtaking. My husband is from the Caribbean and he said which I certainly agree -- this is the most beautiful resort. we've ever stayed at. The gardens are beautiful and the resort is immaculate. The icing on the cake is the staff. Co-owners Angelo and Freddy were very attentative to us. Not only have owners Angelo and Freddy built the most beautiful resort but they have hired the best staff. We had problems with our flight and arrived one day late and had no luggage. Angelo, Freddy, and staff helped relieve our frustrations by making us feel like family and helping us get the things we needed. Plus we received the best seafood soup ever . We recommend Arenal Nayara 100%. We can't wait to visit again but next time our visit will certainly be longer. THANK YOU FREDDY, ANGELO.Thanks to Francisco and Jonathon who tended to our needs and questions, A special thanks to Jonathon who assisted with our calls to our travel insurance carrier and the many other things you did for us. Thank you Felix for the best seafood soup. Mike and Julian were great bartenders, and our drivers to town Robert and David were always so gracious and helpful. While traveling, it's very seldom we remember the names of hotel staff. However, this time it certainly wasn't difficult because they were so attentative to us. Deepest regards to everyone at Arenal Nayara from Juan and Angie R., Oscar and Dawn M. and Diane S. and LIndsey S. -- Your Texas Friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jca469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Our stay at Arenal Nayara lived up to our expectations based on previous reviews. The rooms as well as the views were lovely. Additionally, the rooms were very clean, and the decorations made from the towels presented a festive touch. WE thoroughly enjoyed relaxing on the porch gazing at the wildlife and the volcano. Jonathon at the front desk was very helpful and just an all around nice guy. Nothing was too much to ask of him. The pool was heated and very relaxing. It was enjoyable to socialize with other guests in the warm water after an active day. The two dinners that we ate at the hotel were very good. Try the chicken with mushroom sauce. One of the highlights of our stay was a Jacamar tour to Monteverde. The cloud forest at Monteverde was exceptional as was our guide, Jorge. I would highly recommend this hotel. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

The rooms here are marvelous. Each room is equipped with an outdoor shower and private jacuzzi. Nice touches. Great view of the volcano. Hotel offers shuttle service to many of the sights at a very reasonable rate. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The only thing that could stand some improvement is the breakfast. Not terrible, but not first rate. Would definitely stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nature_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Arenal Nayara for 3 nights in February. The rooms, which are really small bungalows, are nicely done and very comfortable. Ours were very private and we had a superb view of Arenal. We were lucky as we only had clouds and rain one of the days we were there! The gardens are beautiful and the whole property is very well maintained. The atmosphere is one of peace and serenity. We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast which was very good - made to order omelettes and eggs as well as a buffet with some hot and cold selections. We can't say enough about the staff - so friendly and helpful. Also, the complimentary internet in the lobby is a real bonus. We also stayed one night at the Springs Resort and Spa and enjoyed it as well but preferred the Nayara. We thought the location was good and we would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were actually individual cabins. They were large, beautifully decorated and it was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. We ate in the restaurant several times and the food was very good and the service was excellent. Everyone who works there were very friendly. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. I can't say anything bad about this place. I would definately go back. I think it would be a perfect location for honeymooners or those looking for a quiet remantic spot.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
792 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,380 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,854 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing