We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Tranquill Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Arenal Nayara was possibly the most wonderful place I've been to. From the lush gardens to the extravagant views of the volcano from our room, every sight was magnificent. The staff made us feel welcome and at home. They were friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Every detail was attended to from the towel sculptures to the rich wood furniture and floors, to the parots and bunnies on the grounds and the private outdoor jacuzzi tubs and outdoor showers. My husband and I enjoyed a luxurious 3 days there and wish we could've stayed longer. We will most definitely return. Our highest expectations were exceded.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aveen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,013 - 3,019 of 3,420 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2009

I booked a few days here after being in CR on some business. I was initially impressed by the friendly staff (they greet you with a nice drink and smile.) The rooms are clean with private jacuzzi on the balcony. Great views. The breakfast is a great selection for all diets. Oh, and if you get a chance have a hot stone massage. It was bliss.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illtimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Previous reviews lead us to this special place, and indeed, it is wonderful! We visited this area on our honeymoon 13 years ago, and it has changed a lot. I would never have recognized the town of La Fortuna had I been dropped there in a space capsule - it is night and day different from our visit many years ago - not the least of which includes lodging options such as Arenal Nayara. Superb in all respects, including 2 dinners that were excellent (halepeno steak, chicken with mushrooms, tomato soup). We stayed 2 nights in June 2009, so the first day was arrival (driving from Liberia Airport area - stop at the Pumas Reserve in Canas - allow one hour - and next door Pacifico for lunch - one hour for us lingerers - chicken crepes were excellent - also there is the 2 hour boat float on Rios Corabici which we came back to - so build in time for fun and exploration). The next day we visited the Hanging Bridges on our own (for us good choice, wear tennis shoes and socks not sandals/flip flops, bring bug spray, allow 2 hours) then the Los Lagos Resort ($10pp to use the water slides, hot springs, drive to summit to see awesome sunset view - we had four hours here). We had been to Tabacon on our honeymoon and wanted to preserve that memory completely, so this trip was different from that in all respects, and now we have completely new happy memories. Our 7 year old was with us and though this is certainly not a "kids hotel" - thank goodness - we all loved it. A great find with all creature comforts and more in a unique spot in the world. Have a wonderful visit - I miss it there!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Santenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed at Arenal Nayara from July 22 -26, 2009, and we ended up wishing that we had stayed there our entire trip. Service throughout the entire hotel was flawless and by far the best we had in Costa Rica; the staff was always friendly, professional, relaxed, patient, and hospitable. We ate breakfast (which was included) and dinner at the hotel restaurant, and the food quality was excellent. I’m not sure why, but after dinner the waiters offered us complementary digestifs (brandy, irish cream or whisky), I guess it was included. The grounds are beautiful and immaculately landscaped. About the room, there were no bugs anywhere inside, which is a HUGE plus. This was a huge problem in some of the discount hotels where we stayed in Costa Rica. There was an industrial-sized air conditioner, a plasma TV and cable inside the room. The jacuzzi on the balcony was incredible. There are curtains for privacy, plus you can look directly at the volcano while relaxing in it. We lit a citronella candle by the faucets because I hate bugs, and that kept them away. The outdoor shower (100% private and secluded) is an amazing touch! There’s no comparison to taking a hot shower outside in the rainforest surrounded by tropical plants. There’s also an indoor shower, but we never used it. Why eat hamburger when you can have steak? You can see lots of tropical birds from your balcony because there are hummingbird feeders hidden behind foliage—another subtle touch that added to the charm of Arenal Nayara. For families with children, there are three parrots and two bunny rabbits that are pets of the hotel. They are very tame and friendly towards people. I fed the rabbits and held all of the parrots. All in all, this hotel and the La Fortuna/Arenal experience was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pan_is_cute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We loved this hotel and especially the front desk service! Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. We were greeted with a tropical drink/juice and scented wet towels upon arrival after a very long day of travel. The casitas are a good combination of modern luxury/amenities and eco-friendly/environmental tradition. The indoor shower is modern and beautiful, and the outdoor shower is clean (even though outdoors-I did not feel like I had to watch out for wildlife/creepy crawlies, etc), private and complete with lush vegetation. Each casita is very private and has a great view of the volcano. The breakfast each morning offered fresh squeezed juices (often two mixed together)-my favorite was the pineapple, not too sweet and quite refreshing. Each day the buffet offered different choices for entrees. The birds that perch outside of the open-air restaurant are quite entertaining! Lucas, the bunny was cute as can be! With regards to housekeeping, the room and bathroom were very clean and they even left little critters/designs made out of towels. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent, is b/c one morning I mixed something in a glass and later it looked like the same glass was just rinsed out and put back as there was residue in the bottom. The spa gave us a spectacular hot stone couple's massage, which was enhanced by the atmosphere of the open doors, breeze and sounds of wildlife. The only other negative thing to mention besides the glass, was that our casita was near the pond, which had the LOUDEST frog I have ever heard that croaked all night. So if you are a light sleeper, ask not to be near the pond. There is a howler monkey that lives behind the property, but we rarely heard it and it never disturbed us. Another thing worth mentioning is the pool with bar. The pool is warm and the drinks at the bar were good, very relaxing. All in all, it was a great place to spend our anniversary!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SignalMtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at Arenal Nayara from July 31 to August 2, 2009. This was a wonderful hotel and we will definitely be back. We loved everything about our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were stunning, and the hotel setting couldn't be any better. We saw several other hotels in the area and were glad that we were staying here. My favorite part of the room was our outdoor balcony and the outdoor shower. We had a great view of the volcano and the jungle from our balcony and the outdoor shower is great! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Costa Rica and can't wait until the next time I stay at Arenal Nayara.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedRaider_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My husband and I spent four nights at Arenal Nayara in May during our honeymoon. This hotel was hands down our favorite place in Costa Rica – everything was perfect from the room, to the staff to the excursions…
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted and shown to the room in an electric cart. After a quick tour of our room we were brought a fruit plate and a bottle of champagne. The room is gorgeous, from the huge 4 poster bed, to the outdoor shower, to the porch with the Jacuzzi and comfy chairs. We never took one shower indoors because the outdoor shower was so perfect and we spent many afternoons sitting on the porch watching the volcano and hummingbirds.
We arranged a full day tour through the hotel (thanks Jonathan!) and during the day we toured the Hanging Bridges, visited the Fortuna Waterfall, went on a Volcano hike and enjoyed the Eco thermales hot springs.
Also at the hotel we enjoyed a couple’s massage, facial and Jacuzzi soak – all were wonderful and easy to book.
The food at the hotel was pretty good, we enjoyed the breakfasts with the parrots and bunnies and also ate at the pool bar and enjoyed room service.
We loved this hotel and are planning to return for our one year anniversary!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peapod5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
902 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,490 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £310 - £760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing