We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nayara was absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nayara was absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This hotel is one of the best I've ever visited. We stayed here for two nights and hated to leave. The casitas are surrounded by lush tropical greenery and the outdoor showers are perfect. The service was unbelievable, especially Jonathon who arranged all of our activities. Five minutes from La Fortuna, ten minutes from Arenal National Park, great view of volcano.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeuceCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,908
    239
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
481
2,319
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed in Nayara as the first of four destinations in Costa Rica and we were bowled over by how amazing Nayara is.

The staff are attentive, kind and wonderful discrete. The food was fantastic - especially the breakfast (a huge buffet that groans with every kind of breakfast food imaginable, including tropical fruit and omelettes made in front of you, to order). Our taxi driver from San Jose told us Nayara was known as being some of the best food in Arenal.

The casitas are inredible. Huge spaces, with large open plan bathrooms, We had a large internal shower with two heads, and a lovely outside shower, surrounded by walls and flowers for privacy. Our deck faced the volcano with a hot tub which we used regularly during our stay - especially fun while it's raining. The rooms are spotless, beautifully decorated with nice touches. A separate room with a day bed complimented the space.

The gardens are crammed with incredible plants, often labelled to tell you what they are. The garden is now more mature than the website demonstrates, meaning you can walk through tunnels of tropical flowers. The paths will open every now and then to reveal pools or fountains. Absolutely gorgeous.

We used Arenal to it's full advantage (white water rafting is highly recommended) and Nayara was a soothing, beautiful and fragrant gem to return to each day. A cocktail in the swim-up wet bar, watching the volcano darken as the sun sets really is magical.

I could go on and on - but I'll stop, and just say that if you decide to stay in Arenal, this is the best, most relaxing hotel you could choose. We were thrilled with our stay here and recommend it whole heartedly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariannelmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We were only here for 2 nights on our trip. What a wonderful hotel. All the service was fantastic, Jonathan was so helpful and arranged great things for us to do that were perfect for us. It was my husband and me and another couple. Our casitas were fantastic, view of volcano was perfect. Everything about this place is perfect. Extremely clean, the best Bahama Mama (and other fun drinks). Prices are reasonable, beautiful setting. Rooms were big, great, comfy and wish we could've stayed longer. Highly recommend. I might also suggest that if you are going to the beach area while doing this trip, stay here last, I doubt anything else will live up to it, so end on a high note! The free calls to the US was a really nice bonus! Pretty cool that they had ipads and laptops for everyone to use as well!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ardon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto La Cruz, Venezuela
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

There are plenty places to stay in Arenal and La Fortuna. After a visit for four nights to Arenal Nayara we can say that this is the right option in Arenal. Very quiet, clean and confortable, good location, nice staff and people....you will not regret.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonzubizarreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My husband and I decided to begin our honeymoon at Nayara and we were not disappointed! This hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are amazing, and the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful.
Upon our arrival, we had staff rushing out to greet us and help us with our bags. We were given welcome drinks and cold towels as we checked in. They found out it was our honeymoon and immediately gave us a free upgrade to a suite. They took us to our room in a golf cart and did a walk through with us to make sure everything was clean and ready. They made sure we had a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us (also because of the honeymoon). The room was gorgeous and had an amazing view of the volcano.
The hotel itself is beautiful. The grounds are covered with exotic flowers and plants. Just walking around the grounds I found myself taking pictures of all the various flowers. The staff is so friendly and always ready to help. We didn't have to lift a finger our entire stay. The food was also incredible. I loved all the fresh fruit for breakfast and dinners were always delicious. I am a vegetarian and ate very well at this hotel! They also had free internet access in the lobby so you can contact people back home if necessary.
Many thanks to the hotel and the staff for making our honeymoon so relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rascal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I have traveled quite extensively internationally and this hotel may have been one of the most beauitiful, serene, accomodating hotels I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. I typically don't go back to the same places again b/c I like to experience new things but I would never stay anywhere else should my travels bring me back to this area. The staff was extremely friendly and seemed to remember each guest. An added benefit was free internet AND phone calls to the USA from the lobby as well as the wine bar.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina8970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We arrived on July 23th - myself, my husband and our 11 year old daughter. We stayed for 3 nights at Nayara - then traveled to Manuel Antonio to stay 5 nights at a hotel on the beach before heading home. It was our first trip to Costa Rica. Arenal Nayara had helped me plan all of our travel arrangements for air conditioned transfers throughout our trip - and all went smoothly and perfectly. We didn't use a travel agent. I simply booked the airfare - then booked Nayara and another hotel on the beach at Manuel Antonio so that we'd see as much of Costa Rica as we could - and the wonderful staff at Nayara took care of the rest. They booked our tours, our transfers, everything.

And so after a long flight and long drive...we arrived...

You know when you see photos of a place online - but you can't really get the "feel" for it that way - and you can't imagine exactly what it will be like when you're standing there in person - all 360 degrees of it around you? Often hotels don't live up to the brochures or the photos that we see onlne. So as we made our way from San Jose Airport by car for 3 1/2 hours - we weren't sure what to expect when we arrived. And from the moment we were welcomed at Nayara with a cold drink and cool towel - then were brought by golf cart to our Casita (they're like private villas) - we were completely blown away by the beauty of it all - and we quickly came to the realization that no photo and no brochure can possibly do this place justice... The casitas are enormous, round, private buildings - with the largest bathroom we've ever seen. There are double sinks across the giant room from each other, double outdoor showers surrounded by a lush, tropical garden - and a glass indoor shower with double shower heads also - that looks out on the private outdoor showers and gardens. Each casita has an "enormous" wrap around deck with tons of privacy due to the lush landscaping, a private jacuzzi and two sitting areas. And all of this, from the moment you wake in the morning, overlooks this incredible volcano directly in front of you. Everything about this place is shining and modern - from the large, flat screen tv's to the ipod docking stations - to the design of the bathrooms. The ceiling is round and soaring in a cathedral fashion - with fans whirling overhead. You'll never want to leave.

But leave we did - as we went into town for dinner, zip lined, rappelled through waterfalls, hiked, crossed hanging bridges, swam in waterfalls, enjoyed the hot springs of Tabacon and took in as much of the breathtaking scenery as two days would allow... And nothing was better than coming home to Nayara each afternoon, going for a dip in the pool, showering outdoors, heading down to the wine bar where we were able to call home in the states for free and to use their internet as we sipped our wine, then returned once more after dinner for a blissful nights sleep on their comfortable beds and pillows...and then off to their lovely buffet breakfast again each morning. Each day that we woke there - we would pull back the shades first thing so that we could see the volcano towering right before us.

We stay at four and five star resorts always - Four Seasons, Fairmonts, Ritz Carlton, The Penninsula, Waldorf, etc. - and this competes with them all - but it offers something more... Nayara is unique. It's not a chain. You feel as though you've discovered this intimate secret that only a lucky few will discover with you. It made this trip our best vacation ever - and that's saying a great deal as we've been lucky enough to have been to some truly amazing places.

When we left Nayara and travelled by car for 5 1/2 hours to Manuel Antonio - sadly, the hotel we arrived at on the beach, although the rates were literally twice as much as Nayara's rates, couldn't compare. It wasn't as clean. It was as plush. It wasn't as pampering or as lovely in any way. As one couple that were on their honeymoon at this beach hotel said to me "We've been completely underwhelmed in every way way at this hotel - and this is supposed to be a 4-5 star hotel?" I wished, for her sake, that she and her new husband had stayed at Nayara instead. They would not have been disappointed.

My daughter cried for the first day and a half after arriving at the beach hotel, begging us to go back to Nayara. She's a beach girl - and for the first time ever - she wanted to leave the beach - and return to the place we had come to love and treasure - Nayara.

We had to admit - we were all sorry we left and we regretted not spending our entire vacation there. But the plans were set and we had travelled far - so we made the best of it - and ended up enjoying our time on the beach and in the national park. But mostly what the hotel in Manuel Antonio made us realize more than ever - was how very special and unique and amazing Nayara is - and how very few places in the world can compete.

And to underline our thoughts - we met so many other people on our vacation through tours, etc. who had also stayed at Nayara first - before heading down to Manuel Antonio (some staying at the same hotel on the beach as us once again) and every single one of them - from familes to couples - all echoed our thoughts. Nayara is simply beautiful. The people who work there are fantastic and warm and accomodating. And you are pampered. You've discovered this secret shangrila. The only question remaining is - should you tell anyone...or should you keep this amazing secret all to yourself? As I write the first review I've ever written on Tripadvisor or anywhere else - I guess it's pretty clear - I've decided to tell... :)

We fell in love with Costa Rica. From its Volcano to its rocky shores, rainforests that go on forever, its soft sand and warm waters. We fell in love with its people. And we fell in love with Nayara. We'll be back. Until then we'll dream of the birds and the bunnies and the flowers spread in view of the towering volcano. We'll dream of the day we'll return. And if you decide to go and discover it all for yourselves - I think you'll be back too...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTtraveler030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing