We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really want to love it and I would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This was the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. The rooms are amazing. We stayed in the upgraded suite to get a non-obstructive view of the volcano and it was definitely worth it. Let me begin, I would definitely stay there again, however, I wish things would have been slightly better with the service. They went above and beyond and gave us a really delicious cake for our 5th year wedding anniversary and the room was great. The cons were that our room wasn't ready when we arrived, so we told them we would wait at the pool, which was no big deal. They said it would be ready by 2:00, at 2:20 we went up there and they said the room was ready...so they didn't come get us. We were going on a hike at 3:00, so we just didn't have much time to get ready. Then, when we went down, they scheduled us for the wrong date of our hike, so we missed it! They did send champagne and fruit to the room for the error, but you only have so much time there. It just wasn't as seamless as I would expect from such a nice place. They just need to focus on the details a little bit more. With that said, I would absolutely recommend this place and stay there again. I would just double check the reservations more firmly to make sure they didn't make any mistakes on the day trips and transportation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizTravelMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azaragovia, Owner at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2010

We first want to thank you for taking the time to comment on our product. We are honored beyond words that you came to our rainforest sanctuary and allowed us the privilege of serving you on such a special trip. We are so terribly sorry that your room was not ready upon your arrival. We have looked into the matter to assure it does not happen again, and hope you accept our sincerest apologies. We are extremely happy to hear that you did enjoy our beautiful casita despite the inconvenience. Furthermore, we have looked into the mistake committed by our concierge that caused you to miss your hiking trip. Your time at Nayara was not unlimited, and it was our sole purpose to excel beyond any expectations you had during the time you spent with us. It cannot be expressed how apologetic we are that we did not fulfill this goal. With the reassurance that we have looked into each of your inconveniences and taken appropriate measures with our staff, we can only hope that you will allow us the privilege of serving you better if you are ever in Costa Rica again. We thank you once again for bringing these issues to our attention and with you a very happy and safe holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,743 - 2,749 of 3,395 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2010

I would recommend Nayara in a heartbeat to anyone looking to stay in the Arenal area. It was a bit pricier than the other places I was originally looking at in Arenal, but ended up being a lot nicer and WELL WORTH IT. the grounds are beautiful, the view amazing, everything new and clean and gorgeous. The staff was so friendly, helpful and accomodating. My boyfriend and I felt like we were ensconsed in luxury and relaxation the whole time we were there-- and that is what we really needed out of our vacation. I cannot recommend Nayara enough.

The food was not great but definitely passable, and definitely pretty good for costa rica in general.

Rooms were gorgeous, luxurious, and comfortable-- really exceeded my expectations and probably the nicest i've ever stayed in.

Beautiful wine bar with beautiful view. The view was just incredible. We were sad to leave.

Oh, AND-- free calls to the US and Canada from the lobby!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehh1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed 3 nights in one of the new Nayara Suites and were not disappointed. Check in was smooth, staff was helpful and polite. We stayed in a Premium Suite and it was honestly one of the most beautiful rooms I have ever stayed in. Outdoor shower, Indoor double marble rain shower, private outdoor sitting area with jacuzzi and chairs overlooking the cloudy :( volcano. Just breathtaking! Free wifi (ours worked in the room too), free internet phone to call the states from the lobby, free movies to check out, umbrellas available anytime for rain, they really have thought of it all! Breakfast was pretty good, nothing over the top, but included in the room charge. We loved our accomodations while in Arenal and the location was perfect too for our plans as well.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

If you are looking for a hotel that will exceed your expectations, Nayara is it. This has been one of the nicest resorts I have stayed in thus far. The layout and design of the grounds was very well designed to give that tropical "resorty" feeling - from the lobby, to the open air restaurant with the cute hanging lanterns, to our fabulous casita. The rooms were very well designed and clean. My only suggestion is that they put two sinks in the bathroom since it's a double room. Also, there is not just one shower - but two - there is an outdoor shower that is set in a garden. We also had the most amazing view of Arenal from our casita along with the Garden of Eden that was surrounding our balcony. There were so many surprises as we explored the grounds - it felt very nice to be in such natural surroundings.

The staff was friendly and helpful, but they seemed a little unsure of the procedures at times. The breakfast buffet was great - there is a lot of selection to choose from. There is also a fabulous swimming pool with wet bar, and also a wine bar where you can sample the wines, have some tapas, and check the internet or make phone calls.

Location wise, it was a bit isolated, but most of the resorts are isolated from each other. It's set up high in the mountains, so you do get a wonderful view of the natural surroundings. The front desk will call a cab if you want to go to the local hot springs (highly recommended) or adventure tours. If you just want to get away and relax in a quiet area, then this is the perfect place to do so.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpmusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I stayed 4 nights in the Nayara suite. It was an upgrade, thanks to the staff at Gaia Hotel. The room was incredible. Huge half-circle patio with hammock, hot tub, and great sounds of the water. Bed was not as soft as i would have liked it. Outstanding showers (inside and outside) with plenty of hot water. The grounds are beautiful with colorful plantlife, hummingbirds, squaking parrots, & the "white rabbit".

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great place to say. Would recommend WiFi in the rooms instead of having to go to the lobby. Not a whole lot to improve on there. Great view of the volcano (sad that the clouds ruined it for the 2nd time for me)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon. Spent lots of time at the spa as it was raining the entire time. The hot stone massage was amazing and all the services we had were top notch in a beautiful setting. The rooms were huge with nice private balconies however the bed was not very comfortable. We never saw the volcano, but I guess that's common, especially during the rainy season. Breakfast in the restaurant was ok, but dinner left a lot to be desired. They have a themed nightly dinner menu, we were there for Mexican night and I tried the Chicken Mole which was awful. Not even close to what mole should taste like... it literally tasted like they tried to melt milk chocolate on chicken. Veggies were definitely frozen and shellfish was nothing special. We recommend the pizza at Vagabondo - this was by far the most enjoyable meal we had in Arenal. Also, we found most of the wine in Costa Rica to be really crappy. Stick to beer & liquor.

We did the sky trek zip lines, eco termales hot springs & day trip & hike to rio celeste without a guide. Definitely challenging to locate the start of the trail but well worth it. Overall we had a good stay at Nayara, but would think twice about visiting during the rainy season. Driving, hiking & views were definitely not as enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLTravelAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azaragovia, Owner at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

We would first like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us on our hotel and for allowing us the privilege of serving you during your honeymoon. We are terribly sorry that you were displeased with the food and are actually conferring with our chefs with regard to the mole recipe, and what needs to be changed. Our hotel is fortunate to have enjoyed very positive reviews for this reason, we are sad that it failed meet your expectations. We are also happy to announce that we have brought in one of the top executive chefs of Costa Rica to work at our restaurant. Once again, we are terribly sorry you were unhappy with the food at Nayara and are happy you enjoyed the spa and rooms we offer. We hope you will give us another chance to redeem our restaurant if you ever travel to Costa Rica again. We wish you a safe and fun holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I Took my wife to Costa Rica to celebrate our aniversary. Nayara was recommended by friends.
The whole trip was such an unique experience and the hotel was part of it. At Nayara we were treated almost like royalty, the place is gorgeous, modern and at the same time very romantic. Hate to say it, but the mattress was so good that now I don't like mine at home...
THE ROOM HAD SUCH A PERFECT VIEW OF THE ARENAL VOLCANO !
We were surprised to find a trendy wine bar (vinoteca) in a small Costarican town.
The best things were the restaurant and the spa. Each meal was delicious, sofisticated and what was intriguing to me is that the prices were reasonable. We decided to dine at the hotel instead of going out.
The other great experience was the spa. First we went into a jacuzzi made out of natural wood. Then we went to "SOL y LUNA" room to have a massage together. Then I got a great manicure. My wife had a body scrub and she would not want to take a shower for 2 days as her skin felt like silk.!
In summary, outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
875 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,468 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £317 - £954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing