We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and fun!”
Review of Pure Trek - Tours

Pure Trek - Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Since 2001, Pure Trek Canyoning has been leading this new multi-sport adventure tour Canyoning by rappelling down waterfalls and hiking on beautiful trails in this spectacular rain forest slot canyon located right under the active Arenal Volcano in the town of La Fortuna. At Pure Trek we believe in focusing on one thing and doing it the best...Canyoning... that will rock your socks off!!! Family friendly...and adventurists too.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Oshkosh, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique and fun!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Rappelling through waterfalls on this excursion was one of the highlights of our first trip to Costa Rica.
The jungle hikes between falls were also enjoyable. As for the canyoning experience, our guides were expert on safety and took great care to follow exact protocols in ways that didn't distract from the sheer fun and adventure of our experience.
The group was kept small so nobody had to wait long for their turns.
We would highly recommend this experience and plan to do this again on our next visit.

P.S. We actually did this in April of 2005, but TripAdvisor doesn't have an option to select that date.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy and Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    89
    18
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Canyoning”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Fun unique experience to rappel down the waterfalls. Very well and professionally run operation. Fairly expensive on a relative basis to zip lining or rafting. Bought the roll of pictures afterwards - well worth it. Probably 50-60 pictures received online of our time for $25.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SanAntonioTXtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pure trek-canyoning (waterfall rapeling) a BLAST, even in the pouring rain”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were picked up at our hotel at 7:20 AM. I wore running shorts, keens sandals, a dry-fit nike shirt all over a swim suit. My husband wore old sneakers, swim trunks, and a wicking athletic t-shirt. We brought a towel, water, go-pro, and a change of clothes for each of us. We were greeted by friendly staff and had an enjoyable drive to the first site. When we arrived we were given clear directions on what would happen next. We then got into the “jungle limo” 4x4 vehicle with two other couples. A guide came with us and chatted with us the whole way to the next stop. At that stop we were instructed to leave all of our belongings in the cab of the 4x4. We even left our rain coats since although it was pouring rain, the guides recommended we use the provided jackets. We were given helmets, jackets (mine was not very water proof), gloves, and a harness. We then walked to the first waterfall. At every step of the way we were given clear instructions with accompanying demonstrations when necessary. I felt very safe the whole time as we watched them keeping us safely clipped in with locking carabineers, used a backup safety line for repels, and communicating well with one another. One member of the team took pictures constantly and we were given the opportunity to pay a flat fee of $30 for all of the images from the entire day at the end. We gave them our email address and received all of the images a few hours later. We got to rappel four times and descend through three waterfalls. We saw a sloth and a macaw. Even though the rain never stopped we had a ton of fun since the guides had such great energy, all the people we were with had great attitudes, and the rappelling was a ton of fun. We definitely recommend this activity and this company.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupun, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Canyoning”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Having no prior experience, my husband and I enjoyed the thrill and adventure of this tour. Easy for anyone to do, but takes a bit of practice to feel good about flying down the waterfalls quickly like the guides. Fast drying clothes and shoes are really nice to have but they provide long-sleeve jackets as well. At the end of April we had about 15 people in our group compared to 40+ during the busy season. Our personal belongings stayed in the trucks during the "getting wet" part of the tour. (Like our camera and towels) The photographer took great photos, we purchased the cd for $30 at the end of the tour. It would be nice if that price was cheaper but still worth it. The guides are all friendly and love what they do. My only criticism is with the meal served afterward.... It was the least appealing of all the meals we had on our trip that were included in tours. The chicken portions were tiny and we ended up sharing a meal at our hotel as soon as we returned before heading out on another activity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 294LUV2TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

How can you pass up the opportunity to rappel down a waterfall? This was our first time canyoning and it was so much fun (if you are experienced in canyoning it may be too easy for you, but it's still way fun!). You will get very wet so either bring a change of clothes or dress appropriately. Jackets are provided but the weather in Costa Rica is generally hot and you may not want to wear one.

Pure Trek provides plenty of experienced guides and is very well run, from start to finish. We went canyoning in another part of Costa Rica with a different company during our trip because this experience was so great, unfortunately the guides and reception staff didn’t even compare with the highly organized Pure Trek.

Canyoning Is A Must! Don’t Miss Out On The Fun. Great For Everyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pure Trek - Tours also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Pure Trek - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing