We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Calas(Poas Volcano National Park)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Poas Paradise(Poasito)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Altura Hotel(Poas Volcano National Park)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
1915 Hotel(Alajuela)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Poas Lodge and Restaurant(Poas Volcano National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
161
72
30
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
72
30
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportthe ownercosta ricanice gardentoastrental carsmall restauranthot showertaxi drivergreat place to stayaffordable priceper nightpoas volcanomarccerealcountrytaxis
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

The place is conveniently located from the SJO Airport and reasonably priced, but that is all.

Room had moldy smell, was dark, only one tiny bed table to place your things (no shelf/storage/hanging space whatsoever) floors not clean, sheets did not feel clean, bathroom smelly and not clean, shower was leaking (always annoying sound of dripping water), cold water only, quite a few bugs and ants everywhere.

On-site restaurant not so great. I stayed for 2 nights but took the breakfast just once, because everything was so filthy and sticky (cutlery, cups, plates, butter and jam holders...). Plus coffee was lousy (shockingly due to so many coffee farms around). I had dinner once on my arrival evening and did not like it, cost was 5,000 col.

Not the best entry to Costa Rica. But was the worst of all accommodations during my 3-week stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank MoniZoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc19903, Manager at Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi Moni,

My name is Rodrigo Alfaro, I am the manager on duty at Villa Pacande, first of all we really appreciate your feedback, for sure we need to improve our service, food, rooms, etc day by day.

I would like to have the opportunity to hosting you again in order to give you our best, do not hesitate to contact me if you are still in Costa Rica it will be a honor having you in our hotel again, my email address is info@villapacande.com

Kind regards,
Rodrigo Alfaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

We chose to stay here due to its close proximity to the airport and affordable price. The room was clean but not luxurious. We checked in late and our host was incredibly friendly and accomodating! Breakfast was included. The taxi ride cost us 6000 colones one way, and 12000 the other...not sure about that... I recommend an orange airport taxi. We couldn't figure out how to use the hot water in the shower, no towels or soap was provided. If you're looking for economical accomodations, stay, but if you need a hot shower and no bugs, not recommended. Interesting experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the windows to be closed before you get there
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chelseyrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We chose to stay here as it was near the airport , for both our arrival and the night before we left CR. It was perfect for our needs and the staff were brilliant. The gardens are amazing with wildlife visiting all the time, and the staff are lovely people - so helpful, and recommended a great tour and booked us onto it, booked all our taxis to and from airport.. made our stay really easy and hassle free.. communication before we went was great too. This is a budget hotel, but totally perfect for a stop over on the way to somewhere else ... Its really chilled as its slightly out of the town centre and has the gardens surrounding it.. I can definitely recommend booking on the combo tour to see Poas volcano, Doka coffee, and LaPaz waterfall gardens if you stay here.. stay a whole day and night and get picked up here by the tour company-- its so close you may aswell fit that into your trip while you are in the area, and the tour is excellent. Muchas gracias to Marc and staff for looking after us at Villa Pacande!!! Nikki and Jaz , Manchester UK

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2katz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Had many problems getting there because of public transport and corrupt taxi drivers but the owner was the nicest man I met in Costa Rica and did everything he could to help us including staying up late and translating to the taxi driver, he was also there early when we had to check out to go to the airport. Room was lovely the bed was so comfy

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Basic, small, clean room for a good price. Breakfast in the AM was continental and fine, but wouldn't recommend the restaurant for lunch/dinner. Conveniently located to be near the airport or the Poas region and Doka coffee plantation. Hotel staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews