We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful - worth the drive and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Panoramic views, great food and cozy rooms await you once you enter the front door. The hosts, Mark and Oliver transformed the visit. They were so welcoming and hospitable, we felt like we were meeting old friends. A must stay for anyone wanting an excellent experience.
Only one complaint - we should have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFTraveler138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is such a cozy place. It doesn't look great from the outside but take a seat in the lounge by the fire and enjoy the panoramic view. The rooms are basic but very comfortable, bathrooms pretty old looking but we had hot water. The food and service are good.
Poas Lodge is the ideal place to stay to go to the Poas volcano as it is only 5 minutes up the road.
Very nice managers, very knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: all rooms have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We had no trouble finding this little gem. Mark and Oliver were great hosts, along with their sweet dog, Girl. The views are fantastic. Our evening meal might have been the best food we had during our vacation. The fireplace and blankets in the dining area made us quite comfortable (so did the very generous pours of wine!) Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyNebraska_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This review is long overdue, we visited Poas back in Nov 2012. Poas Lodge is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the breath taking views. The rooms are cozy & clean. Michael & Oliver are the perfect hosts , very welcoming & accomodating. We loved the blankets that they put out in the dining rooms , you can wrap those around and enjoy the views at night from the big windows while you have a freshly cooked dinner. It is also a perfect location to travel to Poas Volacno & La Paz waterfall gardens.We had a wonderful time here .- Milind & Prachi

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pravasibai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We were a family of 5. arrived in San Jose early pm after leaving our respective airports at 5 am. It took us ages to find the hotel as it was not in my gps and I stupidly printed only the first page of their information.. directions were on the second.. When we arrived about 8 pm, it was dark and looked pretty sketchy from the street. However, we soldiered on, Oliver took us to our rooms and we sat around the fire, had drinks, appetizers and then dinner.. While the food was good, the appetizers were better than the dinners.. Breakfast the next morning was almost as good as the staggering views we could not see the night before.. The bathroom was pretty funky while the bed linens were just amazing.. Wish we could have stayed another night and when our flight home was delayed, we seriously thought about getting a car and going up one more night but it was too far for our early am next day departure.. Oliver and Mark really do a super job with the whole overall package from check in to check out.. I would highly recommend both them and this lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catsandroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Manager at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Poas Lodge. It is thanks to all our guests that we have been awarded a 2013 Traveler's Choice Award, we are so excited and appreciative. Of course without our guests this would not be possible.
We enjoy the guest comments and positive feedback and we always try to anticipate peoples needs when making changes at the lodge.
Thank you again and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This was our first night in Costa Rica and we loved the layed back, chill attitude of the Inn keepers. The views were breathtaking, the rooms large and clean. The food was excellent and we loved cat and girl. We felt at home, wish we could have spent a second night!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonja k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Alas, the volcano was clouded in over two days. But all the positive reviews below are entirely accurate. The rooms are cozy. The views are spectacular. Mark and Oliver are the perfect hosts. The dinner menu had something for everyone from my 12 year old son through my 77 year old dad. Breakfast is made to order. Highly, highly recommended. Just get there before Mark and Oliver move back to their native South Africa in four months!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are more rustic than those above but still quite adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spudjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Manager at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Thank you for your review of Poas Lodge, we thrive on the encouragement and input. Although the lodge is for sale we have yet to find a buyer, we expect to be here for some time to come yet.
Thanks again and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
5.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,308 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
139 reviews
6.4 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range: £53 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the summit of Poas Volcano, Poas Lodge is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of Costa Rica's Central Valley! The lodge is the closest accommodation to the popular Poas Volcano National Park (a short 5 minute, 4km drive up the mountain), convenient to Doka Coffee Estates, 10 miles from the spectacular La Paz Waterfall Gardens and just 45 minutes to Juan Santamaría International Airport. More like a B&B than a typical hotel, Poas Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates and includes free wi-fi, cable TV and complimentary coffee machines in each room. The restaurant is open to guests with a fresh and delicious nightly menu and breakfast is always complimentary. Words and photographs cannot describe the experience of staying at Poas Lodge. Come see for yourself! Children 8 years and older welcome. Check-in from 3pm to 8 pm local Costa Rican time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice but can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing