We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Costa Rica early April and stayed here for our visit to Poas Volcano. When you drive up to the entrance, the place looks like any other tourist restaurant in the area. Once you step in, you are greeted with a glorious view of Alajuela and San Jose in the distance. I don't even know where to start about the room. The owners decorated the interior to perfection (colorful and gorgeous) and it's equipped with thoughtful attention (thick blankets for cold nights, earplugs and anti-diarrhea medication in the bathroom). They even offer coffee they grind themselves, not the ones all pre-packaged. We could also see the breathtaking view from our room. Another plus to this place are the owners who are courteous and their puppy named Girl. We would usually find Girl in front of door, laying in the sun and enjoying the view. And all of was ~$60 a night including a delicious breakfast. Don't go anywhere else if you plan to visit Poas Volcano!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

There is a sense of warmth and intimacy that graces the Lodge from the first moment we arrived. The rooms have a very comfortable queen (at least ours did), full wi-fi and satellite TV access, clean bathroom and stunning views. At 7000 ft, it seems as if the whole of Costa Rica is laid out for you to marvel at.

The dining room had a feel of a Euorpean lodge, complete with fire place and blankets if needed. The food was extremely well prepared and the portions more than generous.

Mark and Oliver were friendly and gracious hosts-eager to please and to share the special qualities that make Poas Lodge a desirable destination during your Costa Rican adventure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Serenity and peace ruled from the moment we checked into the Lodge to when we left. There is a zen-like calmness that pervades this hotel. Our room was beautifully appointed and had an amazing view of a meadow, forest area and valley. The food was delicious. Mark and Oliver (?) (sorry) are wonderful hosts and are such an asset to this place. Sitting in front of the fire was a highlight. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and great value! We miss this place already!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank przjez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

What a great place. Small, comfortable. Rooms are one or two floors below the restaurant, but with the same view. Bed, sheets, towels were all very nice.
Breakfast: we thought the fruit, coffee, and toast were the meal. No. Pancakes, beans/rice, eggs, many choices.
Did I mention the view. Just can't beat it! Hours of entertainment watching the planes land in the distance and try to figure out what everything was. And the stars.....
Just what a hotel should be.

Room Tip: Are only four rooms. All have view of the total central valley. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandAGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a copy and paste from my forum "Costa Rica 3 wk visit", which includes a lot of information about traveling in Costa Rica. As there doesn't seem to be an location for the total review, I am providing information about some of the specific places we enjoyed. If you would like to read the complete review, please visit my forum - noted above.
jcsun

Poas: Our first two nights were 7,000 ft up on the side of Poas
volcano (45 kms north of Juan Santamaria) at Poas lodge and
restaurant…do not mix it up with Poas Volcan Lodge. This is a medium priced lodge (MPH $50-$100) and we loved it. It has 6 rooms and currently is renting out 4 of them. The
views from your room and the restaurant/bar area are overlooking the
city and valley below…amazing! Mark and Oliver (and Girl their dog) are
currently managing this resort and are very special people. Besides
great food and nice clean accommodations, they make this lodge a very
enjoyable stay. We went for day excursions to Poas volcano and La Paz
water fall, and then come back for a nice dinner and evening relaxing in
the bar/restaurant visiting with the other guests and of course Mark,
Oliver, and Girl. There would be a fire going to take the chill off, as
it’s cooler up in the mountains at nighttime (warm during the
daytime)…what a way to finish off the day. Mark and Oliver you started
our trip off right…thanks!!! BTW the name used here – jcsun – is for
John and Melanie. So, for a MPH we would give you a 5 star! Poas volcano
was very worthwhile seeing and I would recommend it. It is inexpensive
(I think around $10 per person, which is a common price for most of the
national parks here) and is classified as active with steam coming out.
Best to go early in the morning (opens at 8:00) because the steam/fog
comes in later and restricts your visibility. La Paz waterfalls were not
cheap ($65 per person), but it was nice and worthwhile going to. It
also has an area where you walk through to see all the local wildlife
e.g. birds, reptiles, jungle animals, insects etc.
jcsun

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

What a great find! Excellent hotel, friendly hosts, the views are stunning, and the location is very convenient to Poas Volcano and San Jose.
The room is spacious clean and modern. The surroundings are quite and beautiful. The breakfast was tasty, made-to-order.
I certainly recommend this place, and will definitely be back on our future visits to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is the first review I have ever written and well over due for this place, I planned a destination wedding in August 2012. I treated my guests to a 3 day stay here at Poas Lodge and it was fantastic!! We rented out the entire bed and breakfast at a very inexpensive price, but the greatest thing about it were the caretakers. The view was amazing, the rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable and well needed after a long day of hiking and sight seeing. The meals that were served hit the spot and overall the hospitality was amazing. Some of my guests had issues with their flights and arrived very late to the Lodge and without having to ask, they had food and drinks waiting for them in their rooms in case they were hungry after a long day of hectic flight delays. I highly recommend this place and the food if you are heading up to Poas volcano. Their doggie "Girl" is also a great hostess .. made me feel like I was at home. Thanks Mark and Oliver, pura vida !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jazz1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
906 reviews
5.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
708 reviews
9.1 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altura Hotel
Altura Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poas Volcano National Park
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range: £51 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the summit of Poas Volcano, Poas Lodge is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of Costa Rica's Central Valley! The lodge is the closest accommodation to the popular Poas Volcano National Park (a short 5 minute, 4km drive up the mountain), convenient to Doka Coffee Estates, 10 miles from the spectacular La Paz Waterfall Gardens and just 45 minutes to Juan Santamaría International Airport. More like a B&B than a typical hotel, Poas Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates and includes free wi-fi, cable TV and complimentary coffee machines in each room. The restaurant is open to guests with a fresh and delicious nightly menu and breakfast is always complimentary. Words and photographs cannot describe the experience of staying at Poas Lodge. Come see for yourself! Children 8 years and older welcome. Check-in from 3pm to 8 pm local Costa Rican time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice but can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing