We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I loved our stay Poas Lodge. It was the first stop on our CR honeymoon. It was a great place to hang out, and thank goodness too, but it was cold, windy and rainy on the three days we were there. The food was excellent, and we loved the atmosphere. The only thing we'd do different is stay in the rooms on the middle floor. The first floor room was small (a great deal for the price), and did smell a little moldy. I doubt that can be helped considering how wet it is is Poas. The view from the lodge is spectacular. During the day you can watch storms roll into San Jose, at night you can watch lights twinkle. You can even catch a glimpse of both oceans. The owners had just taken over when we got there, but they did an excellent job. We felt very welcomed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    90
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
270
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Proffessionalism all the way with a huge slice of comfort...this place is doing it right...grandslam all the way....and with the breathtaking views of costa rica who would ever want to check out...staff just down to earth...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich13fabrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at this lodge one week ago. We were on our honeymoon and stayed at a couple other hotels before making our final night stay at poas lodge before heading back home from San Jose back to south florida. It is very close from the airport so that was very convient for us. The owners, Jimmie and Stephen were super nice and very accommodating. Their place feels very homely and the food was so delicious and fresh tasting. We definelty recommend staying here. It is very affordable and the view alone is worth the price for staying here. On a side note- these guys are single and if you are a local woman don't hesitate to take them out on the town and welcome them to costa rica.
We wish them success with the poas lodge and we hope we get to stay again on our next trip back!! Thanks guys!!
Mike and Megan

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikesolo1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent one night up at Poas Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. Brothers Stefan and Jimmie are wonderful hosts - friendly and outgoing.

The views of Central Valley from the lodge are spectacular. It was just amazing to be above the clouds and watch them roll in during the afternoon. The hummingbirds were continually at the feeders and the view at night is just incredible.

It is chilly at that altitude, but with a fire roaring in the fireplace and warm blankets on the bed, it's very cozy.

The food was delicious - both dinner and breakfast. We won't forget meeting some fellow Southerners living their dream in Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hummingbird51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at Poas Lodge for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon. Having travelled from the UK we arrived feeling pretty jaded in the middle of the night. Stefan and Jimmy were so welcoming settling us down with a beer and a cup of tea (him and me!) and cosy blankets to view the stunning vista of San Jose. The room was comfortable, the food (we had breakfast and evening meal) was excellent. The lodge is a fantastic base for visiting Poas volcano, you can get up have breakfast and then go and see the volcano (5-10 mins drive) before the clouds (and the tourist crowds) roll in. Its also good for the La Paz Gardens which are about 30 mins away and a good spot to adjust to the time zone and get used to the weather! Above all our lasting memories of Poas Lodge are the friendliness of Jimmy (thanks for the impromptu trip) and Stefan, the tasty food and the relaxing atmosphere. If we return to Costa Rica (we are already saving up) we will be staying with you guys again. Thank you for a great start to our trip. Tess and Liam

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eufaula, AL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed there just after a hectic arrival in San Jose. Recently purchased by two friends, it is homey, and easy going. The owners were extremely helpful and the food delicious. The view of the valley lovely from both our room and the dining/lounge/sitting room. WARNING- it gets dark very early with it being so close to the equator, allow enough time to make the trip in daylight.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrinkwrapped3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My family stayed here for one night shortly after our arrival in Costa Rica. If you are going to see Poas volcano, this is a short distance from the volcano and while the road to get there is challenging, it's worth it. The facility is run by two brothers who clearly care greatly for their facility, and for the comfort of their guests. Their hospitality was top notch, and their attention to detail and commitment to their facility is unquestionable. The room was extremely comfortable for our whole family of four and the hotel, being on a hilltop, offers a breathtaking view of San Jose and the surrounding area. It's easy to sit on the sofas in the lobby for hours and enjoy the wide expanse of the valley that you get to witness - along with the very friendly hummingbirds! All in all a great stay, a great location, and great service. Happy to recommend!

Room Tip: all the rooms overlook the valley, and all can be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
We are thrilled that your time here was so welcoming. Our goal is to have everyone feel like they are at home on top of the clouds. good to hear our commitment is paying off. Enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
5.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,251 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
6.4 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
133 reviews
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altura Hotel
Altura Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poas Volcano National Park
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Property: Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the summit of Poas Volcano, this is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of the central valley of Costa Rica. We are just 5 minutes to Poas Volcano National Park, 10 miles to La Paz Waterfall Gardens and 45 minutes to the airport. Poas Lodge is more a B&B than your typical lodge. We offer clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. We also offer free wi-fi, cable and coffee machines in rooms. Our restuarant is open for guest most nights with a fresh daily menu. Breakfast is included with the rooms. The atmosphere is just amazing at our lodge, just ask any of our happy guests. We invite you to visit our home. Children 8 years old or older can be accommodated at the property. Check-in is from 3pm to 8 pm local hotel time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing