We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Have Mold Allergies.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

you will not want to stay here. The location next to the park is great, and the views are beautiful. There is a hummingbird garden that is nice to watch. However, I can't say that this makes up for the overall condition of the lodge. Our room was literally covered with mold. On the walls, on the desks, on the lamps, whatever you touched. We inquired to the owners if we could change rooms, but being a small lodge, no other rooms where available. No effort was made on the part of the management. I asked if perhaps they could wipe down the walls and ceiling while we were out. The reply was "well, you're in the tropics and it's the rainy season". We had to dope ourselves up with Benadryl before we climbed into the (damp) covers.

There were also a few other issues with our stay. The new owners, well, they fell in love with the country and decided to operate this business. However, I don't think they fully have the grasp of what true customer service entails. Hopefully they will grow with their business, and if upgrades are made to the building structure itself to keep out the rain and dampness, it can be a lovely place.

The drive back and forth up the mountain is not too bad and interesting as well. Stay at a nice hotel in town and visit Poas as a day trip.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank xoxo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We (3 people) went to eat at the Poas Lodge and Restaurant in August, when it wasn't the high tourist time, and were able to get in one night of the several we tried. Contrary to other glowing reviews regarding the ownership of this place, we found the Texan owner we dealt with unwelcoming and unhelpful. He stated that they had limited personnel at the time we were there, so gave preference to people living in their accommodation. Fair enough....so we offered to come at an off hour mid week...earlier than the majority of their clientele and we would not extend our dining experience...and that was agreed upon.
We were met with the same coolness upon our arrival,...and this was enhanced by them offering us paper cups for our wine, as they were saving their glasses for 'their' customers. Unacceptable...this was corrected.
That said, the food was excellent...all made from scratch...flavourful and terrific. As well the prices were very reasonable.
So in conclusion...excellent food, but shame about the unwelcoming atmosphere to those not from 'their' Lodge. Clearly they were not prepared for the restaurant section to be available for the public.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank mokinator10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not feel welcomed. We feel we are fair and good guys and treat everyone the same. We will try to do a better job to please everyone all the time. We are happy you enjoyed the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I loved our stay Poas Lodge. It was the first stop on our CR honeymoon. It was a great place to hang out, and thank goodness too, but it was cold, windy and rainy on the three days we were there. The food was excellent, and we loved the atmosphere. The only thing we'd do different is stay in the rooms on the middle floor. The first floor room was small (a great deal for the price), and did smell a little moldy. I doubt that can be helped considering how wet it is is Poas. The view from the lodge is spectacular. During the day you can watch storms roll into San Jose, at night you can watch lights twinkle. You can even catch a glimpse of both oceans. The owners had just taken over when we got there, but they did an excellent job. We felt very welcomed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Proffessionalism all the way with a huge slice of comfort...this place is doing it right...grandslam all the way....and with the breathtaking views of costa rica who would ever want to check out...staff just down to earth...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich13fabrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at this lodge one week ago. We were on our honeymoon and stayed at a couple other hotels before making our final night stay at poas lodge before heading back home from San Jose back to south florida. It is very close from the airport so that was very convient for us. The owners, Jimmie and Stephen were super nice and very accommodating. Their place feels very homely and the food was so delicious and fresh tasting. We definelty recommend staying here. It is very affordable and the view alone is worth the price for staying here. On a side note- these guys are single and if you are a local woman don't hesitate to take them out on the town and welcome them to costa rica.
We wish them success with the poas lodge and we hope we get to stay again on our next trip back!! Thanks guys!!
Mike and Megan

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikesolo1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent one night up at Poas Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. Brothers Stefan and Jimmie are wonderful hosts - friendly and outgoing.

The views of Central Valley from the lodge are spectacular. It was just amazing to be above the clouds and watch them roll in during the afternoon. The hummingbirds were continually at the feeders and the view at night is just incredible.

It is chilly at that altitude, but with a fire roaring in the fireplace and warm blankets on the bed, it's very cozy.

The food was delicious - both dinner and breakfast. We won't forget meeting some fellow Southerners living their dream in Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hummingbird51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at Poas Lodge for 2 nights at the start of our honeymoon. Having travelled from the UK we arrived feeling pretty jaded in the middle of the night. Stefan and Jimmy were so welcoming settling us down with a beer and a cup of tea (him and me!) and cosy blankets to view the stunning vista of San Jose. The room was comfortable, the food (we had breakfast and evening meal) was excellent. The lodge is a fantastic base for visiting Poas volcano, you can get up have breakfast and then go and see the volcano (5-10 mins drive) before the clouds (and the tourist crowds) roll in. Its also good for the La Paz Gardens which are about 30 mins away and a good spot to adjust to the time zone and get used to the weather! Above all our lasting memories of Poas Lodge are the friendliness of Jimmy (thanks for the impromptu trip) and Stefan, the tasty food and the relaxing atmosphere. If we return to Costa Rica (we are already saving up) we will be staying with you guys again. Thank you for a great start to our trip. Tess and Liam

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
5.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,296 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
6.4 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
872 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#14 of 27 in Alajuela
136 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range: £46 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the summit of Poas Volcano, Poas Lodge is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of Costa Rica's Central Valley! The lodge is the closest accommodation to the popular Poas Volcano National Park (a short 5 minute, 4km drive up the mountain), convenient to Doka Coffee Estates, 10 miles from the spectacular La Paz Waterfall Gardens and just 45 minutes to Juan Santamaría International Airport. More like a B&B than a typical hotel, Poas Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates and includes free wi-fi, cable TV and complimentary coffee machines in each room. The restaurant is open to guests with a fresh and delicious nightly menu and breakfast is always complimentary. Words and photographs cannot describe the experience of staying at Poas Lodge. Come see for yourself! Children 8 years and older welcome. Check-in from 3pm to 8 pm local Costa Rican time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice but can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing