We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views in a great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My friend and I spent a night in this lodge and even though the weather didn't allow us to see the volcano, we still had a great time. Jimmy and Stefan created a cozy place where we could sit in front of a fire socializing with other fellow travelers. The food was amazing. Stefan said he isn't a chef, but he might as well be. We still talk about his Tuna steak:)
Granted, the room felt a little moist but I think that's impossible to avoid in that location and only a small price to pay for those views, the convenient access to the volcano and the homey atmosphere. I highly recommend it!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank katiek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you guys for taking the time to review our little place. We are working on the damp factor. As of right now we think we will have to put the lodge in a bubble during the rainy season :-) We are happy you enjoyed the atmosphere we have tried to create and the food. If you make it down to my hometown be sure to tell my family "hola" :-) Enjoy your holidays and thanks agian.

stephan and jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

This B & B is just a couple of miles from Poas Volcano, which makes it easy to get there early for the best chance of a clear view before the clouds - and the crowds - roll in. The lodge itself is simple but comfortable and charming, and it was wonderful to meet and chat with the 2 new owners, brothers Jimmie and Stephan. The views are stunning, and dinner is served in a dining room with huge windows overlooking the valley and San Jose below. We were given fleecy blankets to stay warm by the fire as we sipped wine and waited for supper. The evening special was a steaming bowl of one of the most delicious stews I've ever tasted - just the thing to keep us warm in the cold mountain air. A lovely stay and definitely recommended!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Carol,
Thank you for staying with us and the positive review. We value all opinions. This will help us make most peoples experience here enjoyable. If you are sweet to us i may send you the recipe for the stew :-) Have a Merry Christmas.

stephan and jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This place is about an hour out of San Jose, but if you get tired of the hustle and bustle of the city, I recommend popping up here for a day. The rooms are clean, the water is hot, and you can look out over the entire valley that makes up the San Jose metropolitan area and surrounding countryside. If it's clear enough you can even see over to the Pacific. When I was there the volcano just up the road was foggy and socked in, but the stay here was enjoyable all the same. The new owners of the past year are brothers from Texas that will do anything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Luke,
Thank you for the warm review. Our goal is for our guests to feel relaxed and at home. We are glad you guys enjoyed your short time with us. We hope your total experience in Costa Rica was a great one. Have a wonderful Christmas and New Years.
stephan and jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This lodge is a real find! It is run by two brothers Jimmie and Stephan from Texas who have put a lot of thought into serving their guests. It is a small place but extremely scenic and cozy. It has a strategic location if you are visiting Poas volcano. This lodge makes a perfect base station for day tripping throughout the Central Valley region. You also get a hot breakfast included and all the meals are homemade with Stephan at the helm preparing these Texas comfort foods. which I might add are delicious. Our room number 3 was the most scenic. It comes with a little sitting area with a view that is breathtaking. Being mindful if you plan to stay to bring extra layers of clothing for is known to get rather chilly in the evenings. We would personally like to thank the Griffin brothers from Texas for their southern hospitality and charm. Don't forget to cozy up next to the fireplace and order yourself a hot chai tea. We definitely didn't know what to expect, but it exceeded our expectations. The views were spectacular and the company was superb. We definitely would return again. Thanks Jimmie and Stephan for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: contact them with plenty of notice before they only have four rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you guys for taking the time to review us. I liked the photo you posted on FB. We are glad you had a great time and hope the full vacation was just as good. Tell your wife hello for us and thanks again for your your Service. Have a wonderful holidays.

stephan and jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My friends and I recently stayed at the Poas Lodge, and had a great time. The views are breathtaking and proximity to the volcano makes for a great visit. The lodge itself has a terrific atmosphere. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. The food was absolutely fantastic! I highly recommend the Poas Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

John,
We are glad to hear you guys made it back to the USA. From the looks of your photos you had a great time at the beach. Thank you for your review and i have a feeling we will be seeing you soon. Tell the boys in Texas hello for us. Happy Thanksgiving.

Stephan and Jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Poas lodge. Quirky. We were welcomed personally by the owners. Rooms were very nice. We were a group of 4 couples and took up all the available rooms. The one we had did has a little moldy smell, we could see in the sitting room area on the ceiling that there had been a problem but we opened the windows and were able to air it out and had no other concerns. Views from all four rooms were looking down the mountain side. All four rooms were roomy, comfortable, equipped with tvs with cable and wifi worked well.

Immediately outside there were cows grazing, then further down were growing fields and then off in the distance was Alusia which was a spectacular sight at night when all lit up.

Sheets and bed sets were very nice. The owners mother had a very welcome hand in their linen choices.

Half our group did dinner and were very pleased with portion and quality. Need to spend a little time perfecting breakfast... It is very easy to do it right and a good leaving point for customers to remember this lodge by.

Friendly owners that hung with us in the evening by the fire place and answered any questions we had concerning their experiences in CR and advice on our next location and traveling there.

We were overall very satisfied with our choice and highly recommend.



Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank schlacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

We wanted thank you guys for your visit. Hopefully you had a wonderful time on the beach. We would be curious as to what you expected or needed for breakfast that would make it satisfactory for you. Thanks for the the feedback. have a great holiday season.
Stephan and Jimmie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Poas Lodge while in Costa Rica and loved every minute of it! This is not your ordinary bed-and-breakfast-type lodge as our hosts (the two owners) were more than hospitable. Stephan and Jimmie went above and beyond to make us feel at home and the food was excellent. We not only had breakfast here but dinner as well for all four nights of our stay. Our room was clean and well-situated for a great view every morning and night.

The views of Central Valley from the lodge will take your breath away whether it be during the day or night. It was definitely cool to be above the clouds and watch them roll in and out within a matter of minutes. There was a fire lit every night after dinner so we could sit back with a glass of wine and relax.

I could go on and on about how wonderful my stay here was but knowing that I would go back to Costa Rica and stay at the Poas Lodge again speaks volumes. Thank you, Stephan and Jimmie, for making my trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for taking time for the review. It is guest like you that make our adventure here enjoyable and what we wanted. It is a pleasure to have guests from the states that realize they are in another country and come here to enjoy themselves. We had a great time and hope to see you guys again soon.

stephan and jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
907 reviews
5.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
369 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altura Hotel
Altura Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poas Volcano National Park
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range: £51 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the summit of Poas Volcano, Poas Lodge is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of Costa Rica's Central Valley! The lodge is the closest accommodation to the popular Poas Volcano National Park (a short 5 minute, 4km drive up the mountain), convenient to Doka Coffee Estates, 10 miles from the spectacular La Paz Waterfall Gardens and just 45 minutes to Juan Santamaría International Airport. More like a B&B than a typical hotel, Poas Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates and includes free wi-fi, cable TV and complimentary coffee machines in each room. The restaurant is open to guests with a fresh and delicious nightly menu and breakfast is always complimentary. Words and photographs cannot describe the experience of staying at Poas Lodge. Come see for yourself! Children 8 years and older welcome. Check-in from 3pm to 8 pm local Costa Rican time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice but can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing