We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping next to a volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sleeping next to a volcano”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This place is fantastic! Waking at 5 am (thank you jetlag :)) to see the sun come up in the valley. Dozing in the dining area, watching the lights of San Jose and humming birds dancing in the air. Thanks Stephen and Jimmie for this wonderful place!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank An M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
An,
thank you for taking time to send a review. Our goal is to have a relaxed and calm environment. from the sounds of it, we are succeeding. Hope the remainder of your trip went as well and keep in touch. Pura Vida!

stephan and jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    90
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
270
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed one night here....location is perfect to be able to get to the Volcano early in the morning...and get the best views. Food, lodging and staff were great. Stephan and Jimmy also helped us track down our missing bags that United Airlines chose to hang on to for a couple extra days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Alan,
we are happy everyone had a good time while you were here. We hope the rest of your trip went well. You family was enjoyable. We hope you got to see and photo more birds than you imagined. Enjoy the rest of winter and please tell everyone we said hello.

stephan and jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We arrived, me and my husband, to Costa Rica in Dec 2013 for the 1st time.
We really enjoyed our overnight in Poás Lodge located on the strategic place nearby the NP Poás Volcano. Upon arrival to this hotel we were welcomed by the owners themselves, Stephan and Jimmie. These nice guys made our stay comfortable from the beginning to the end.
Our luggages left at the reception already in the morning before to visit Poás Volcano and La Paz Gardens were already taken by staff to the room . Our room was clean and big enough, with amazing views from the huge window.
We liked bed and appreciated perfekt blanket !
We were not able to eat the whole typical Costarian breakfast, even was good, but too big for us.
In the cozy restaurant we also admired the overlooking from the windows. The sitting by the fireplace, eating some specialities prepared by Stephan and then just relaxing with a glass of some good drink, we enjoyed this unforgetable atmosphere.
Even that our stay in this hotel was so short (only 1 night) we thank you to have a posibility to meet so nice people there and we hope to welcome them once in Prague, Czech Republic.

Iveta a Mila from Prague, Czech Republic

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miloslav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Manager at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
It was great meeting you two and we enjoyed the evening around the fire. It is nice to learn from fellow hospitality industry people. We will be over the pond later this year, hopefully we can have a night of fun in your area. Thanks again for the kind words and have a Happy New Year.

stephan and Jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I recently had the opportunity (or privilege) to spend 5 days at Poas Lodge. After reading all of the previous reviews, I was NOT disappointed!!!
This was my first trip to Costa Rica and I really didn't know what to expect. The views from the lodge were some of the most incredible I've ever seen. And the lodge is so charming...right down to the brothers from Texas that really know how to make a California girl feel at home!
The lodge is a very short drive to the Poas Volcano. I was lucky enough to take a motorcycle ride up the mountain and when the fog cleared, got a spectacular glimpse of the active volcano. It's also only a few hours from the beach and many other 'must see' places in Costa Rica.

The staff was extremely friendly, service was great and the meals there always hit the spot! I'm already thinking about my next trip!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtyard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are only as good as our guests. Come back and see us again. Hope your holidays were the best.

stephan and jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My friend and I spent a night in this lodge and even though the weather didn't allow us to see the volcano, we still had a great time. Jimmy and Stefan created a cozy place where we could sit in front of a fire socializing with other fellow travelers. The food was amazing. Stefan said he isn't a chef, but he might as well be. We still talk about his Tuna steak:)
Granted, the room felt a little moist but I think that's impossible to avoid in that location and only a small price to pay for those views, the convenient access to the volcano and the homey atmosphere. I highly recommend it!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank katiek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you guys for taking the time to review our little place. We are working on the damp factor. As of right now we think we will have to put the lodge in a bubble during the rainy season :-) We are happy you enjoyed the atmosphere we have tried to create and the food. If you make it down to my hometown be sure to tell my family "hola" :-) Enjoy your holidays and thanks agian.

stephan and jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This B & B is just a couple of miles from Poas Volcano, which makes it easy to get there early for the best chance of a clear view before the clouds - and the crowds - roll in. The lodge itself is simple but comfortable and charming, and it was wonderful to meet and chat with the 2 new owners, brothers Jimmie and Stephan. The views are stunning, and dinner is served in a dining room with huge windows overlooking the valley and San Jose below. We were given fleecy blankets to stay warm by the fire as we sipped wine and waited for supper. The evening special was a steaming bowl of one of the most delicious stews I've ever tasted - just the thing to keep us warm in the cold mountain air. A lovely stay and definitely recommended!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Carol,
Thank you for staying with us and the positive review. We value all opinions. This will help us make most peoples experience here enjoyable. If you are sweet to us i may send you the recipe for the stew :-) Have a Merry Christmas.

stephan and jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This place is about an hour out of San Jose, but if you get tired of the hustle and bustle of the city, I recommend popping up here for a day. The rooms are clean, the water is hot, and you can look out over the entire valley that makes up the San Jose metropolitan area and surrounding countryside. If it's clear enough you can even see over to the Pacific. When I was there the volcano just up the road was foggy and socked in, but the stay here was enjoyable all the same. The new owners of the past year are brothers from Texas that will do anything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Luke,
Thank you for the warm review. Our goal is for our guests to feel relaxed and at home. We are glad you guys enjoyed your short time with us. We hope your total experience in Costa Rica was a great one. Have a wonderful Christmas and New Years.
stephan and jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
5.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,249 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
6.4 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
133 reviews
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altura Hotel
Altura Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poas Volcano National Park
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Property: Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the summit of Poas Volcano, this is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of the central valley of Costa Rica. We are just 5 minutes to Poas Volcano National Park, 10 miles to La Paz Waterfall Gardens and 45 minutes to the airport. Poas Lodge is more a B&B than your typical lodge. We offer clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. We also offer free wi-fi, cable and coffee machines in rooms. Our restuarant is open for guest most nights with a fresh daily menu. Breakfast is included with the rooms. The atmosphere is just amazing at our lodge, just ask any of our happy guests. We invite you to visit our home. Children 8 years old or older can be accommodated at the property. Check-in is from 3pm to 8 pm local hotel time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing