We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mountain experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We won't forget our 3 day stay here - the start of our Costa Rican adventure. Brothers Jimmy and Stephan were very welcoming and knowledgeable of the area. Stephan is an amazing chef, and we saw no reason to eat anywhere else. We had great breakfasts and dinners, and there was always a great selection of drinks, smoothies, hot chocolate, chai tea, all day long! Jimmy made sure we were never in need of anything - even taped up my broken glasses, and sent me us the right place to get them fixed. The place feels like a ski lodge - especially in November, when it was cold in this region, and there was a cozy fire in the fireplace! The view is spectacular, even though we visited this "Cloud Forest" at the end of rainy season. We never saw the volcano, because the clouds never left that area, but there was so much else to do, were very happy! We found that the weather in Costa Rica is different from place to place, and we were quickly in warm sunshine downhill in 15 minutes. Very close to Doka Estate Coffee, and the charming towns of Gracia and Sarchi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hola and gracias for taking time to review our little lodge. We enjoyed your visit and are happy you did also. It looks like winter has hit you guys a lot this new year. Stay warm and we will have the fire going whenever you guys are ready to come back.

jimmie and stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We recently stayed at Poas Lodge at the end of a fantastic trip to Costa Rica. We couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to end our stay. Brothers, Jimmy and Stephan, welcomed us into their home - a large open plan space with incredible views over the Central Valley and San Jose. Hummingbirds are a regular feature and can be seen feeding nearby when sitting in the comfy chairs and settees while sunshine pours through the large windows that run along 3 sides of the room. Stephan is a very good cook and we ate well on both evenings of our stay (including a magnificent tuna steak cooked to perfection). We also had some very good wine. The cosy atmosphere and unpretentious air about the place is what we liked and the good company of Stephan and Jimmy, who were attentive at all times yet never made you feel like they were watching over you. We would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone looking for a genuinely nice place to stay in an amazing location for a reasonable price. We would definitely stay here again.Thank you, Sue & Jamie, Bristol, UK.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We are happy that you got the experience you did. Come back anytime, you two are always welcomed in our home. Have a wonderful new year.

stephan and jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights of our honeymoon. The drive up is a bit long and windy, but worth it when you get there! It was so nice to wake up to the beautiful view and the sound of cows munching on grass beneath your window. After breakfast we would head out and explore for a few hours, come back for a siesta, then walk upstairs for a great dinner. After that, all you need are a few more drinks and a comfy seat by the window to watch the city lights. Two minor issues- the first night there, we couldn't sleep due to loud music.. we think it was coming from the hotel down the street. Also, the website prices were not current at the time and we were charged more than expected. Hopefully the issue has been fixed. However, the place has a great romantic vibe and is super close the the volcano park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angmroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to review Poas Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The restuarant up the hill did have a concert your first night, sorry for the noise. As for the the rates, our website recently had to switch hosts. It has been backdated to 2009. As for the booking price, you were charged the rate you booked it for. I am not sure why you expected a price lower than what you originally booked at? We hope to have the website current this week. All booking sites have the correct pricing. It would have been nice if you would have expressed your concerns directly to us and we could have explained the situation. We hope the rest of your honeymoon was wonderful. Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Absolutely wonderful experience at Poas Lodge. The room was very clean and comfy, views are absolutely amazing and the food was delicious!

Jimmy and Stephan make you feel like family and are very knowledgable of the surrounding area.

If you're looking for a full reset...I would suggest that you spend a few days at Poas Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getjackd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you guys for the kind review. We are happy we were able to provide you two with a wonderful time. We also enjoyed the reset. You two are exactly why we have this lodge. Not everyone realizes they are on vacation when they are on vacation. The door is always open to our house and come see us again. Hopefully your winter is not too long and have a wonderful 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place is fantastic! Waking at 5 am (thank you jetlag :)) to see the sun come up in the valley. Dozing in the dining area, watching the lights of San Jose and humming birds dancing in the air. Thanks Stephen and Jimmie for this wonderful place!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank An M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

An,
thank you for taking time to send a review. Our goal is to have a relaxed and calm environment. from the sounds of it, we are succeeding. Hope the remainder of your trip went as well and keep in touch. Pura Vida!

stephan and jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed one night here....location is perfect to be able to get to the Volcano early in the morning...and get the best views. Food, lodging and staff were great. Stephan and Jimmy also helped us track down our missing bags that United Airlines chose to hang on to for a couple extra days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Alan,
we are happy everyone had a good time while you were here. We hope the rest of your trip went well. You family was enjoyable. We hope you got to see and photo more birds than you imagined. Enjoy the rest of winter and please tell everyone we said hello.

stephan and jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We arrived, me and my husband, to Costa Rica in Dec 2013 for the 1st time.
We really enjoyed our overnight in Poás Lodge located on the strategic place nearby the NP Poás Volcano. Upon arrival to this hotel we were welcomed by the owners themselves, Stephan and Jimmie. These nice guys made our stay comfortable from the beginning to the end.
Our luggages left at the reception already in the morning before to visit Poás Volcano and La Paz Gardens were already taken by staff to the room . Our room was clean and big enough, with amazing views from the huge window.
We liked bed and appreciated perfekt blanket !
We were not able to eat the whole typical Costarian breakfast, even was good, but too big for us.
In the cozy restaurant we also admired the overlooking from the windows. The sitting by the fireplace, eating some specialities prepared by Stephan and then just relaxing with a glass of some good drink, we enjoyed this unforgetable atmosphere.
Even that our stay in this hotel was so short (only 1 night) we thank you to have a posibility to meet so nice people there and we hope to welcome them once in Prague, Czech Republic.

Iveta a Mila from Prague, Czech Republic

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miloslav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Manager at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

It was great meeting you two and we enjoyed the evening around the fire. It is nice to learn from fellow hospitality industry people. We will be over the pond later this year, hopefully we can have a night of fun in your area. Thanks again for the kind words and have a Happy New Year.

stephan and Jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
907 reviews
5.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
369 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altura Hotel
Altura Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poas Volcano National Park
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range: £51 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the summit of Poas Volcano, Poas Lodge is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of Costa Rica's Central Valley! The lodge is the closest accommodation to the popular Poas Volcano National Park (a short 5 minute, 4km drive up the mountain), convenient to Doka Coffee Estates, 10 miles from the spectacular La Paz Waterfall Gardens and just 45 minutes to Juan Santamaría International Airport. More like a B&B than a typical hotel, Poas Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates and includes free wi-fi, cable TV and complimentary coffee machines in each room. The restaurant is open to guests with a fresh and delicious nightly menu and breakfast is always complimentary. Words and photographs cannot describe the experience of staying at Poas Lodge. Come see for yourself! Children 8 years and older welcome. Check-in from 3pm to 8 pm local Costa Rican time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice but can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing