We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visited here Feb 10 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“visited here Feb 10 2014”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The fist impression we won't discuss - just 5 minutes here and this place is one of the main ones we would return to stay. The owners, Jimmy and Stephan (from Texas) are wonderful hosts, excellent food there - (fresh too) the view is incredible - you can't stop looking down the valley. I would suggest you get there in time for the sunset - it's awesome!! The hummingbirds do come to the feeders outside the dining area. This place is my number one experience and we were in CR 13 days. That is saying something, and I am critical with my reviews Breakfast was also good, and Stephan is a wonderful cook. The owners are brothers, and they do want you to enjoy your stay. Thanks again Jimmy and Stephan it was wonderful

Room Tip: All have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margie70745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hola,
Thank you for taking time to review us. We are happy that your experience here was what we hope everyone's is. We enjoyed your visit and hope it is starting to thaw out a little up north. Thanks again for choosing Poas Lodge. Enjoy.

stephan and Jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    90
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
272
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Poas Lodge as one of our last hotels three days before we left Costa Rica. Stephan and Jimmie were super helpful and hospitable. My husband and I didn't have a car during our visit. Stephan and Jimmie offered to drive us to the Poas Volcano, La Paz Waterfall, and to the airport for a small fee. We were thankful for the service because it saves us from paying and calling for a taxi which would have been much more expensive. The rooms were very homey and quaint. The view is absolutely gorgeous. It is a panoramic view of Costa Rica and it lights up at night. The beds were AMAZING, something about those soft sheets made me want to sleep in bed all day during our vacation. The tuna steak is delicious and the chai latte is great as well. I planned this trip almost a year before we want because it was our honeymoon trip. Stephan was great about giving me tips, feedback, and resources. I emailed him a ton! He never failed to reply back to me. I recommend this lodge if your looking for more of a bed and breakfast and something chill/homey. The two owners basically run everything on their own, including the kitchen.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed your visit and hope you come back to see us again one day. Have a wonderful and safe 2014. Best wishes. Stephan and Jimmie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Amazing food at Poas Lodge and the views are out of this world! Stephan and Jimmie are very friendly Texans who went out of their way to make you feel at home. The night was a little chilly so they quickly started up a roaring fire in their fireplace and even offered us blankets! The only suggestion I would offer to the boys, is the bed in room 1 needs a bit of adjusting. It was really squeaky and perhaps the frame just needs tightening up or something. I might also suggest that the ceiling lamps be dusted off, as they are covered in cobwebs. These things didn't really affect our enjoyable stay, but since it's an honest review I thought I'd pass these things along so you can continue to get great reviews! Thanks for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thanks for taking time for your honest review. We need to know any and all little things that can improve our guest comfort. we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the food. Hopefully you made it back to the cold of Canada safe. I have tightened up the bed and found the spider that was spinning his web on the lights and set him free. We do not have many insects in this area, but we do have spiders (non poisonous of course :-) ). To help us and other little lodges in the future, it would be a benefit to advise of any issues before you leave so it can be fixed sooner. Thanks again for the tip and we hope your time in Costa Rica was everything you dreamed it would be.

stephan and jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I live about an hour south and my mom was here for the first time. Started our trip here at Poas Lodge and what an amazing experience. Amazing views - the city, the hummingbirds...plus a homey feel and southern hospitality! Jimmie and Stephan were awesome hosts and we ended up staying there and not heading out to eat....great choice. Dinner was amazing and we finished the night hangin by the fireplace trading stories. Breakfast was also amazing and the lodge is less than 10 minutes from the park entrance. The burgers were amazing and the breakfast was also....order the "one pancake" breakfast. Great prices, comfortable rooms and the views are some of the best in the country. It gets chilliy up there, so don't expect shorts/tank top weather. Will definitely be back there again...hopefully in the next month or two!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for the kind words. we had a blast with you two and your parents. You guys are always welcome back. it is not a far drive. only one request when you come back, bring my red corkscrew with you. Jimmie never even got to use it. again we are glad you guys stayed with us and hope the rest of your parents trip was just as good. Pura Vida Amigo and Amiga.

Stephan and Jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The experience at Poas Lodge was amazing as soon as we pulled up. Although we came in late, hosts Jimmie and Stephan provided us a filling, Texas-size dinner prior to retiring for the night. The view from our room was picture-perfect day and night. San Jose lit up at night and the gorgeous sun lighting up the hillside in the morning. This place could not make us feel any more like home, a perfect start to our vacation. The hosts are amazing and were genuinely interested in the life stories of each guest. The only negative I could say was that we were only able to stay one night, they need to franchise around the country!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tplotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our little lodge. we had a wonderful time with you guys, even if it was only hours :-). hope your new years was great and the new year is starting off good. Come back anytime.

stephan and jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed one night at the Poas Lodge and it was probably the most friendly night we had !
The 2 brothers from Texas are so nice, friendly and funny, they welcomed us like we were friends.
We spent a really good evening sharing good wines and speaking about life next to the fireplace....feels like home...
They bought this place 9 months ago and they turned it in a comfy place.
The view over San Jose valley is amazing.
Rooms are nice too, beds were the most comfortable we had in Costa Rica, with warms blankets.
The only point which need to be improved is probably the bathroom, which was old.
We had diner there, we had wonderful burgers, so good after days of rice and beans ;) but if you like it they prepare it too! We also had fresh strawberry smoothies.
Breakfast is perfect eggs, bacon, toast, juice what you need for a day in the Costa Rican mountains.
We definitely recommend to stay at this lodge.
Alban and Coline

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbanetCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hola,
Thank you for picking the Poas Lodge as one of your last stops in Costa Rica. We are glad you guys enjoyed it. We enjoyed your company as well. It is great to have guests that enjoy their vacations. We are happy we were able to give you a real burger not the typical ones found in a lot of places. We hope you made it home safe and maybe we will see you when we fly over in September. Pura Vida.

stephan and jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch after trekking at the volcano park. We were the only ones there at the time. Even with the cloud cover, the hummingbirds,(5 types) entertained us. Kitchen fare is solid but nut diverse. On a clear day the views Must be spectacular. Recommended to us by some friendly Germans we met on the trail at Poas. A pleasant stop.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coldbrewky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
5.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,278 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
6.4 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
864 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
239 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Property: Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the summit of Poas Volcano, this is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of the central valley of Costa Rica. We are just 5 minutes to Poas Volcano National Park, 10 miles to La Paz Waterfall Gardens and 45 minutes to the airport. Poas Lodge is more a B&B than your typical lodge. We offer clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. We also offer free wi-fi, cable and coffee machines in rooms. Our restuarant is open for guest most nights with a fresh daily menu. Breakfast is included with the rooms. The atmosphere is just amazing at our lodge, just ask any of our happy guests. We invite you to visit our home. Children 8 years old or older can be accommodated at the property. Check-in is from 3pm to 8 pm local hotel time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing