We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already Planning to Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Poas Lodge was fantastic. My husband and I are already talking about when we can go back. Here's a laundry list of what's great about it: location (quiet, near the entrance to Poas), view (stunning, you're on the edge of the mountain with nothing blocking it), rooms (comfy bed with generous covers for cold weather/nights, hot water in the shower, TV, windows with a view), wildlife (constant hummingbirds at the feeders, even during high winds), food (tasty, big portions, fair prices), hosts (the guys are fantastic), atmosphere (laid back, easy to chat with other guests, small number of rooms), value (for the location alone, I expected to pay more). For us, it was perfect and we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks you two for staying with us. Hopefully everything is going well up North. We enjoyed your visit and need you to come back soon to maybe do some advanced spanish lessons. We hope the rest of the trip was enjoyable. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We loved the views, the food and friendly hosts (+furry host as well). The hot water in the shower wasn't too hot but reasonable and understandable for the location. Room was roomy enough for three of us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xena333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you guys for the review. We are glad your brief stay here was enjoyable and fun. we turned the water heater up a little and it should be perfect for your next visit. Thanks again and come see us anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

From the gorgeous views, delicious food, friendly hosts and comfortable rooms, this place was a complete delight. The location was perfect being so close to the Poas Volcano crater and not far from La Paz Waterfalls. Make sure you order the Tres Leches cake if available for dessert and the french toast for breakfast. Both Stephan and Jimmie were extremely friendly, easy going and hospitable. Since this is not a huge hotel and they are so personable, you really feel at home. It made our other hotels, even the posh ones, feel a little bit on the dull side. We definitely plan to be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write this review. One of our main goals is to make everyone feel the way you guys felt. We enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. The door is always open for you two. Thanks again and Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We made this our first stop after arriving at SJO. It was a short 30 min drive up the mtn. The views were awesome and the dinner and breakfast were spectacular. The rooms are basic, but very comfy. The owners. ( brothers) were easy going and very helpful. They build a fire each night and the entire main floor smells like hickory. The lodge is approx 10 min from the Poas Volcano and about 30 min from La Paz Waterfall. We even saw a coyote get a rabbit in the field below. It's a great place for couples and friends to start living Pura Vida! Do get some fresh fruit ( Fresas) from one of the many stands.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LivnInATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you guys for staying with us. we hope the entire trip was as enjoyable. we enjoyed your time here and wish you the best. tell everyone hello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This place was great. We had just driven in from Nosara (5 hours away); it was late and we had plans to meet a friend for a drink. We were leaving the next day from San Jose to fly home, and so need a place close to the airport. We arrived late--too late for dinner with Jimmie and Stephen, so they directed us up the hill to another resturant where we had a great meal, good drinks and sang spanish Karaoke''go figure. But, back to Poas Lodge where our room was warm and cozy...the owners had fixed it up to accommodate a small bed for our 12 year old daughter. THe views of San Jose lit up in the valley below made for a great view, while cows grazed on the hillside below our room (felt a bit like Switzerland, in that respect). A great breakfast the next morning and only a five minute drive to the park to check out the crater before the crowds and then an easy drive to the airport. The hosts were great and this place is an awesome find..very affordable and down to earth. Best of luck to these new owners...they seem to know what they are doing!! Mark, Ariane and Sophia from Maryland

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We were very happy to have you stay with us. We feel this is the perfect place to unwind and relax on the start or end of a trip to Costa Rica. Thanks for reassuring our feelings. We hope you and your family come back one day and wish you a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

What a great place! Views to die for... Watch from the dining room (and bar) as the whole central valley lights up and then goes dark as the clouds turn the corner of the lodge. Stephan can cook and Jimmie can wait tables with the best! A truly unique place.

Room Tip: All have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our lodge. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us. Have a wonderful summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just wanted to share how great this find was! We arrived in from San Jose and spent the day exploring the Poas Volcano. Since it was too far of a drive at night we stayed at this lodge and we are so happy we did! Jimmie and Stephan were fantastic hosts and the breakfast they made was fantastic! The room was AMAZING! The best views we had all trip from a hotel! The outside definitely fools you into thinking that you have missed the hotel but once you get inside and to your room you won't be disappointed! Enjoyed our stay and we will definitely stay again in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the farmland and cows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your review of our little lodge. We are very happy that your short time here was great. You are more than welcome to come back and stay a little longer. Hopefully life is great back in the big apple. Thanks again for your visit and take care.

stephan and jimmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
915 reviews
5.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
373 reviews
6.4 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
723 reviews
9.1 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range: £50 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the summit of Poas Volcano, Poas Lodge is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of Costa Rica's Central Valley! The lodge is the closest accommodation to the popular Poas Volcano National Park (a short 5 minute, 4km drive up the mountain), convenient to Doka Coffee Estates, 10 miles from the spectacular La Paz Waterfall Gardens and just 45 minutes to Juan Santamaría International Airport. More like a B&B than a typical hotel, Poas Lodge offers clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates and includes free wi-fi, cable TV and complimentary coffee machines in each room. The restaurant is open to guests with a fresh and delicious nightly menu and breakfast is always complimentary. Words and photographs cannot describe the experience of staying at Poas Lodge. Come see for yourself! Children 8 years and older welcome. Check-in from 3pm to 8 pm local Costa Rican time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice but can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing