We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best View in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Best View in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I you want the best view in CR then Poas Lodge is the place to be... Two American brothers couldn't be more welcoming. Dinner and a few drinks around the huge fireplace was a great end to our day of traveling and white water rafting.

Thanks again Jimmie, see you both soon.

Paul Taylor
Houston, TX

Room Tip: All rooms have a million dollar view of San Jose 8,000 ft. up over looking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    86
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
263
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We love this place and the brothers who own it. We found it on TripAdvisor last year and enjoyed our stay so much that we planned our Costa Rican trip this year based on the availability of rooms at the Poas Lodge. The place is breath-taking and the owners, Jimmie and Stephan, go out of their way to make you feel right at home. The air is cool, the fireplace is warm and the scenery is beyond incredible. Stephan is an awesome cook and makes everything from scratch - everything we've eaten there has been fantastic. There is nothing better than sitting on the couch, having a drink and watching the clouds roll in over the cities below! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monjen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Dont bother looking anywhere else. Stay here rather than staying in San Jose. Go the volcano bright and early in the morning or the Doka Coffee Plantations. Great location and you absolutely will enjoy the views. Fog rolling in, cows crazing, amazing views of the valley and on a clear day you can see the ocean. Stephan is a great cook and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals there. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I can definitely recommend this lodge if you are planning on visiting the Poas Volcano. Rooms are cosy, nicely decorated and clean, breakfast keeps you going for most of the day, the meals served are tasty and the view over the valley is spectacular. Keep up the good work folks !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My boyfriend and I chose Poas Lodge due to the great trip advisor reviews and close location to the volcano. We stayed there one night in May 2014. We were able to get an early start and go up to the crater as soon as the park opened. The view from the room was amazing during the day and really special at night too! Hot showers and a warm comfy bed which is important as it gets really cool at nights. The breakfast was delicious too. We enjoyed the meal and loved the special touch of the fresh carrot/orange juice while we watched hummingbirds and enjoyed the view. Plus, they served seriously the best Costa Rican coffee that we tried during our entire 2 week trip. The owners were helpful and knowledgeable about the area and were able to make recommendations for our trip. Overall, highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockatoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Me and my husband spent a night on our honeymoon on April 2014. Upon arrival, good looking Jimmy & Stefan waited for us with a very welcoming check in, helping us with the luggage, showing us the room, the premises and informing us of the schedule.

Room was ok, coffee machine and cable TV was in the room for our use. Shower was a bit off, with hot water being not hot enough and poor water pressure (the guys accused the drought). Heating was a major no-no and the biggest drawback of our stay experience : located high on the volcano it gets chilly quite early in the afternoon, and really cold at night, though room heater was way too weak and made hardly any change.

Dinner was great with great socializing area, packed with social board games, tables, sofas, a heating fireplace and the most amazing views of san jose and the surroundings !!
The food was locally cooked by the guys, and was extremely good and sufficient ! alcohol made the atmosphere just right !

At morning the guys had mis-calculated our bill, since we paid in advance through the internet, a mistake that was later that day fixed and we were given a refund for the extra charge, yet in a place active for already a year, and having such a small crew of managers, you wouldn't expect that. it did not negatively influenced our experience of staying, but we do want the place to get better as we do care for their success !

priced at 75$US per night, the place is not bad, though it should be better in order to get the right value for money, or should be priced lower.

At morning breakfast was ok and being so close to the poas volcano park we were among the few visitors to see the volcano peak with no clouds disrupting the crater view !

Room Tip: all rooms need to be accessed by going downstairs on the hill slope so no prefrences there. all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meiran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I recently spent 3 nights at the Poas Lodge and have nothing but good things to say. The room was charming and quaint, complete with windows of the incredible view: rolling green hills and blue skies. The common area's view is absolutely breathtaking and the balcony is visited by hummingbirds 24/7. In addition to the welcoming dining area, you can sit fireside on a cozy couch absorbing the delicious meal you just had. Speaking of food, it was to die for! The freshest ingredients and excellent service. Last but not least, the two brothers that own the place are not bad looking either so if you get tired of the view there's eye candy indoors.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessawyer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
4.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
6.4 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altura Hotel
Altura Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poas Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Property: Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the summit of Poas Volcano, this is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of the central valley of Costa Rica. We are just 5 minutes to Poas Volcano National Park, 10 miles to La Paz Waterfall Gardens and 45 minutes to the airport. Poas Lodge is more a B&B than your typical lodge. We offer clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. We also offer free wi-fi, cable and coffee machines in rooms. Our restuarant is open for guest most nights with a fresh daily menu. Breakfast is included with the rooms. The atmosphere is just amazing at our lodge, just ask any of our happy guests. We invite you to visit our home. Children 8 years old or older can be accommodated at the property. Check-in is from 3pm to 8 pm local hotel time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing