We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we stayed here!! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So glad we stayed here!! ”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our first night in CR. We stayed here prior to staying at The Peace Lodge. While The peace lodge was over the top beautiful, I truly wish we had had at least one more night at this lodge. It was peaceful and comforting. The view is second to none in the area. I believe every room has the same view and it was like sleeping in a cloud. The two brothers that own this place are honest, kind and welcoming and the food they cook and offer was DELICIOUS. Also, I believe breakfast is included and that was delicious as well. No matter where you are headed to in CR take the hour drive and stay here for a night!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We are glad you guys enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully everything went great at La Paz. Dont forget to send us some photos. Come back soon.

Stephan and Jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    90
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
272
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We loved this place! Stefan and Jimmie, brothers from Texas, are the most wonderful hosts. Their help during our stay as well as before over email made our trip so much easier and more enjoyable. The lodge is beautiful and has the most amazing view of the valley and mountains. At night, it looks like you are looking down at the stars. Our room was great with, of course, an amazing view. The food, I can't even begin to tell you how good it was...and the Tres Leches cake...OMG. This was just a wonderful start to our trip for us and the kids (6 & 15) loved it just as much. The board games by the fire at night with hot chocolate was exactly what we needed for a little unplugged family time. We will definitely return. It is the closest hotel to the Poas Volcano, and we were lucky enough to catch the volcano with no clouds and it was truly a spectacular sight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barracudasa, Owner at Poas Lodge and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the lodge. We are glad you and the family enjoyed your stay. Hopefully all of Costa Rica treated you well. Tell the kids hello and hope school is going well. Enjoy your holiday season and thanks again for your visit.

stephan and jimmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

By far the most comfortable bed I slept in in Costa Rica--great mattress, lots of warm blankets for the cold nights up on the volcano. The hotel rooms and restaurant/common area share an amazing view of the entire Central Valley--really special when the sun goes down and the lights start to come on. The kids also enjoyed the games available at the fireplace in the lobby, and the hummingbirds out on the deck. Friendly service and good food too--would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The view was absolutely gorgeous, the room was clean and comfortable, and the owners were extremely accommodating. I ate some of the best meals of my entire trip at Poas Lodge. Jimmie is a fantastic chef. I only wish we could have stayed at the lodge for more than just a weekend. It was by far the best hotel I stayed in out of the 7 hotels that we stayed in throughout our travels in Costa Rica. Very close proximity to Poas attractions. Calm, cozy environment in the lobby. Family friendly, but would make an even better romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were in Costa Rica on vacation. Wife and I stayed a few days down at the beach; then we booked 2 nights at the Poas Lodge to visit the volcano & see a couple of other sites while up there. WOW -- Poas Lodge -- what a place! The hotel is run by 2 brothers from Texas. It's a 4-6 room hotel / Bar / Restaraunt. The view from this property is AMAZING. The first night we were there we built a fire in the lobby, had some brownies & watched at thurderstorm from above! I'm not sure of the elevation, but i'm sure it's +8000ft. You cant really describe the breathtaking view & natural beauty you're able to observe---by simply looking out the back of the hotel. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. bathrooms had hot running water and the staff makes sure you have everything you need. The place is laid back, and intimate. The have beers, snacks, and even a full bar. The food was delicious & Stephan and Jimmie are fantastic hosts. There are a couple of days' worth of activities up on the volcano at Poas. So if you want to get into that Pura Vida mindset--do yourself a favor & book your room at Poas Lodge.

We're definitely going back.

Room Tip: try the Cheeseburger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I am visiting Costa Rica for 2 months and have been lucky enough to travel to many places. One of them happened to be this amazing lodge. It was a great location because it was so close to Poas Volcano as well as La Paz Waterfall Gardens, so we could do both places in one day. I took a group of 6 girls and we stayed the entire weekend. However the location turned out to only be one of many things that made this place shine above the rest. Battling for the top prize is the breathtaking view and the exceptional customer service. Stephan and Jimmie not only welcomed us but prepared for us great meals and even handed us cozy blankets to use while we sat by the fire and watched the glimmering lights shining from the city. The rooms are cute, clean and the beds were so comfy! I could go on and on about this place but there really are not words to describe it. It will be one of my favorite memories for long to come and I will be back soon! Thanks Stephan and Jimmie for such a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Both the rooms we had were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Poas Lodge. They brothers who own it are friendly. They are very knowledgable about the city and provided great suggestions on activities/places to enjoy in Costa Rica.

The room was clean and had an excellent view of the city. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of blankets and pillows.

The food was fabulous! The view from the dining area was beautiful both during the day and night.

They have seating where you can relax and enjoy the view or sit in front of the fireplace at night.

I highly recommend Poas Lodge. I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gstidham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
5.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,278 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
6.4 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
863 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
134 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Property: Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the summit of Poas Volcano, this is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of the central valley of Costa Rica. We are just 5 minutes to Poas Volcano National Park, 10 miles to La Paz Waterfall Gardens and 45 minutes to the airport. Poas Lodge is more a B&B than your typical lodge. We offer clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. We also offer free wi-fi, cable and coffee machines in rooms. Our restuarant is open for guest most nights with a fresh daily menu. Breakfast is included with the rooms. The atmosphere is just amazing at our lodge, just ask any of our happy guests. We invite you to visit our home. Children 8 years old or older can be accommodated at the property. Check-in is from 3pm to 8 pm local hotel time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing