We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best start in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best start in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

This hotel was so much more than I was expecting. The view from our room and the restaurant was amazing. The staffs were very friendly. If you are going to Paos Volcano you must stop there. It's one hour from San jose, and you are at 5 minute from the volcano.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPhil915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    88
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
267
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

This place was purchased a couple of years ago by a South African company who sent two of their own people about 10 months ago for hands-on management to whip it into shape. Mark and Oliver are tremendous in every sense of the word. They are transforming a slightly ragged around the edges four-room moun tainside lodge into a boutique rustic inn through gourmet meals and incredible accommodation. The rooms are basic but improving under the guys' care, including the finest mattressess/pillows we slept on in Costa Rica. We did not have a car, and Mark shuttled us all over for little or nothing, including two free trips to try unsuccessfully to see into Poas volcano (which was typical, we learned). Instead, he drove us to LaPaz waterfall and nature center, a beautiful alternative.

All this attention came with a great breakfast at an unbelievable $40 a night for two. I doubt whether there's a better bargain in Costa Rica. While the Poas leg of our trip was not the most exciting, none was more cozy thanks to these exceptional innkeepers.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Cheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

No photos can do this place justice, you just have to go. We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts. Prior to arrival they were very helpful and quick to respond to emails. The views are breathtaking and I refused to shut our curtains incase I missed the sun coming up on a morning. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable, with very nice pillows. The restaurant food was fresh, tasty and good value. The short distance to Poas Volcano meant that we could get there early and miss the crowds. Visibility of the volcano can been hard but be patient, it will reveal itself eventually.
I will never forget our stay at Poas lodge and would love to return some day.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mantropik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

OK - who ever is opening or investing in a new lodge or hotel should hire Mark & Oliver to run it. All the reviews I had read prior to visiting the Poas Lodge were dead on. My life partner, her son, and I showed up at the Poas Lodge New Years Eve at approximately 830pm. Mark & Oliver were there to greet us and got us settled. They could not had been more accommodating. We truly felt like we were at home. I even made another run back to SJO to pick up two more in our group and upon our return (right before midnight) Mark & Oliver welcomed us back with a roaring fire in the fireplace and by pouring us Champagne as we walked through the door (I am not exaggerating) . We rang in the New Year with Mark & Oliver and watched the fireworks go off in abundance in the valley below us. It was incredible. The view from the Poas Lodge into the Central Valley is truly stunning - day or night. Mark & Oliver then opened up the kitchen and made us all the most incredible food. Their butternut squash and roasted garlic soup was out of this world. The rooms were incredibly clean and cozy - every room had a wonderful Central Valley view. Additionally, contrary to a previous report - yes - they have hot water - plenty of it. Just turn the blue knob horizontal and wallah ! Breakfast was remarkable - everything was fresh and delicious. We spent two days with Mark & Oliver and it was a wonderful experience. We will definitely visit again soon...and will follow Mark & Oliver where ever they end up opening another establishment.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank viator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetLBrown
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

We came to Poas Lodge for one night and stayed for two nights, deciding to leave from here for our flight out of San Jose rather than spend the last night near the airport. The end of our holiday was much more enjoyable because we were at Poas Lodge. A room above the clouds looking over the Central Valley was magical. The amazing view changes all the time, just a few kilometers below the top of the volcano.

It was easy to visit La Paz Waterfall Gardens from the Lodge. The waterfalls are spectacular, plus the Butterfly Observatory, Hummingbird Garden and Serpentarium make it a worthwhile experience.

Poas Lodge has helpful friendly hosts, good food, amazing views from the big windows, and comfortable surroundings. It can get chilly up on the mountainside, so I especially liked the warm cozy duvet plus the white fluffy towels in our room. Mark and Oliver are upgrading the place all the time. WiFi on the premises was an added bonus.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetLBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

We spent the last 3 days of our honeymoon at the Poas Lodge. Mark and Oliver, the hosts, were absolutely fantastic. They were incredibly accommodating (arranging a taxi for us at 9 pm the night we were supposed to arrive because we couldn't get a rental car). They also offered lifts into the local town and to the Poas Volcano itself.
The restaurant was great, and our room was beautiful (and incredibly priced at $40/night). What really made the stay (besides our friendly hosts) was the breathtaking view of the San Jose valley.
If you decide to stay at Poas Lodge (which we HIGHLY recommend), try to bring a rental car so can get around to a variety of places (coffee tours, the volcano, San Jose, canopy tours, etc). Also, bring something warm -- it gets chilly up there at night (elevation is over 7,000 feet).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaGuerita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, TN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

The cleanliness of the rooms, the incredible view of multiple cities and the kindness and hospitality of the management makes a stay at this location well worth the drive. Additionally, the remote setting of the lodge adds to the intimate feeling and admiration of the beauty that exists in Costa Rica. This non-commercial setting is a real treat when you want to get away and relax. We highly recommend the lodge to anyone that is considering staying in the Poas Volcano area. It's truly a great place to include as part of a Costa Rica vacation!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.9 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
4.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#14 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poas Lodge and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poas Lodge and Restaurant

Property: Poas Lodge and Restaurant
Address: 4kms before the entrance to Poas Volcano National Park, Poas Volcano National Park 20801, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Poas Lodge and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the summit of Poas Volcano, this is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the most spectacular views of the central valley of Costa Rica. We are just 5 minutes to Poas Volcano National Park, 10 miles to La Paz Waterfall Gardens and 45 minutes to the airport. Poas Lodge is more a B&B than your typical lodge. We offer clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. We also offer free wi-fi, cable and coffee machines in rooms. Our restuarant is open for guest most nights with a fresh daily menu. Breakfast is included with the rooms. The atmosphere is just amazing at our lodge, just ask any of our happy guests. We invite you to visit our home. Children 8 years old or older can be accommodated at the property. Check-in is from 3pm to 8 pm local hotel time; Check-in after 8pm requires advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Poas Lodge and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poas Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Poas Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing