We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altura Hotel
Nearby Hotels
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante(Poasito)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
1915 Hotel(Alajuela)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mango(Alajuela)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mi Tierra(Alajuela)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
185
48
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
48
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitdairy farmthe ownerpoas volcanosan josereception areabeautiful locationcosta ricatraditional breakfastlovely hotelstandard roomgreat thingsgravel roadthe main housefriendly animalsla paz waterfallnational park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I can't say enough about what a terrific place this is. We stayed in the suite and it was wonderful. The hotel is actually on a small dairy farm. It is a very quiet place and the views are spectacular. It is a short drive from both Poas Volcano and La Paz Waterfalls. There isn't a restaurant but they do serve a delicious traditional Costa Rican breakfast every morning that includes fresh cheese made on site. My only complaint was that the hot water in the shower was a little quirky (hot one second and cold the next) but considering everything else it doesn't merit withholding a star. This place is a jewel, a family owned place that remembers that service matters!
Hint: Bring a jacket! Even though it was 87 degrees in San Jose it is MUCH cooler in Poas!

Room Tip: Spend the extra few bucks and get the suite. The views are nothing short of spectacular and its set away by itself. Very private!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear customer,,

Altura Hotel thanks you for your great description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers the best service. Remarks as this, encourage the whole staff to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Ps.I will make sure to look into your observation regarding the hot water, thank you for letting us know, in which areas there is room for improvement..

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The place is a little bit hard to find at first. You don't see the sign very well as you are driving on the way up to the Poas volcano. Just look for a white sign on the left side of the road. It is only a short drive off the main road.

The family run hotel is in a beautiful setting. The furnishings and design of the rooms were first class. The family was so friendly and hospitable. If i had known how nice it was, i would have stayed another night. The breakfast was also amazing and homemade. I could say enough good things about this place. Definitely worth it!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grepthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your description of your experience with us, we keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us, through personalized attention and therefore becoming a memorable vacation.

We Look forward to be able to serve you again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My husband and I stayed there in late February and it was a great experience. Very convenient to Volcan Poas Park and La Paz Gardens. The hotel is next to a small dairy farm and there are also livestock on the hotel property. Unique artistic touches fill the property. The rooms are modern, large and well decorated. There were lots of air freshener dispensers in use in our 1st floor room. My guess is to hide the scent from the livestock. So beware if you get reactions to air fresheners or farm animals. We were fine with it. I do wish there was a blow dryer provided. But that said, we really enjoyed our 2 night stay and would stay there again if in the area. Breakfast was great, but is the only meal available on the property. If we were people who could spend a relaxed week in a pastural setting we would have tried to stay longer.
As a bonus, we happened to be present to see one of the neighbor's cows giving birth in the middle of the field. How many hotels can give you that that experience?

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timjan1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel thanks you for such a nice description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our custumers with the best service. such remarks regarding our facilities and sorroundings encourage us to keep trying our best to make your trip memorable.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Altura during our recent trip to Costa Rica. We have selected Altura based on rave reviews and proximity to Poas volcano and were not disappointed. The hotel seems lost from civilization, but convenient to many attractions, including the Poas park, waterfall gardens, and a coffee estate. Too bad the two night stay did not leave enough time to enjoy the hotel itself, with the beautiful overlook, garden, and the fire pit. The staff was super friendly and helpful with recommendations and advice. The room modern, spacious, comfy and clean. Although we stayed in the downstairs one bedroom suite, the huge windows allowed for great views. It was one of favorite places to stay during our two week trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aga15951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your great description of your time with us,
We thrive to offer our costumers the best expirience possible. None the less we are aware of our great surroundings which undoubtedly give us a hand in make it achivable.

looking foward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My partner and I stayed two days at the Altura Hotel and absolutely loved it. The staff was friendly and the room was perfect for two people. We had a beautiful view of the valley below. The hotel is close to the Poas Volcano. The Viewpoint was very peaceful and had a wonderful view.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our costumers the best service possible.
Remarks like yours encourage us to keep trying our best .

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews