We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying with family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altura Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas, nv
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Like staying with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I were just there for New Year's Eve. The hotel hosted a free-of-charge party for the guests. They had all sorts of food, drink, and music. We went and watched fireworks from the property at midnight since we could see the whole valley. It was the perfect way to spend the evening. They have a couple cows, a donkey, dogs, and cats roaming the property. We loved it!! The staff were super friendly and accommodating. Rooms are nice, but a little chilly. Be forewarned that the area is much colder than the beach so pack appropriately. Free wifi was perfect. And the breakfast was delicious!! Two thumbs up to the chef.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jperoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for such a nice and detalied description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our custumers with the best service. Such remarks encourage us to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    41
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
118
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Small, modern, extremely clean, and with a staff that cares! I would recommend this property to anyone. It is only 5 minutes from the Poas Volcano Park. Their mananger Romero is a very fine man who has the gift to help you feel at home and welcome immediately.

The beds were comfortable. There were plenty of pillows. We read in one of the reviews that the television was too small and it is small...so if you came to Costa Rica to watch television you better stick to a hotel with a big television. It was small, but adequate for the very few minutes we needed to catch up on what is going on in the world. But who comes to Costa Rica to watch television when you have the stunning views that the Altura Hotel offers.

I am not sure that the name really depicts the true essence of the property. It is more like an upscale bed and breakfast with small kitchen area and a bar area which overlooks the central valley.

Poas Volcano is probably the most impressive Volcano Park in Costa Rica. So if you have kids and want them to experience a volcano (sorry no lava flows, but plenty of rising steam) this property is perfect for a family of up to 4. There is a children's playground and some very friendly dogs. I read one review about the owners mistreating their dogs...I never saw anything but happy dogs...and boy were they happy.

There is a very nice restaurant just UP the mountain...don't eat at the restaurant just below the hotel...the food is terrible.

This small hotel property is a real gem and good value and Romero their manager is a very special human being who speaks excellent English

Room Tip: We saw two rooms...they were both great and on the second floor....I would recommend asking for seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eagleheart222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your great description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers the best service possible.
Therefore it is gratifying to read your review. You can be certain will let our staff know of this encouraging remark.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Pros: very clean and family oriented; the Altura staff are VERY friendly and speak excellent English; the location is perfect for the Poas Volcano, La Paz Waterfall Garden, and Doka Coffee Tour; quiet at night; nice views all around; animals on property are friendly; fantastic breakfast.

Cons: the driveway leading to the property isn't paved and is very bumpy; windy conditions extinguished the pilot light (located outside) so there wasn't any hot water for showers (Altura staff fixed this immediately!); no dinner served by hotel (although dinner options are close by).

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Altura and can easily recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Views from the Suite are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JE and JA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your description of the experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best to make you feel at home, and therefore becoming a memorable vacation.
We'll make sure to let the staff and owners know of your comment, hence we thrive to excellence, and remarks like this make it fulfilling for us to serve you.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We loved our stay at the hotel. the property landscape and the interiors are very tastefully done. we got a chance to meet with the owners and they we so hospitable. they served us breakfast and gave us tips for touring the surrounding area. we really liked the stay at this hotel which is only about 5-10 mins drive from the poas volcano and about an hour from the airport(which makes it convenient enough to reach the airport if you don't want to spend a day in Alajuela/san jose simply to catch a flight or if you want to spend the first day in CR after a long flight). Once again, I cant stress the excellent personal service enough.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1 which had a bed and 2 couches. The couches are not big enough for a third person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pratik_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you for such a nice and heartfelt description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers with the best service possible.
And its great to have such a good feedback regarding our landscapes and the hotel in general.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed our first night in CR in November 2013. Two adults with 2 kids. We were warmly welcomed by the owner's cousin (owners were on vacation at the time). She gave us excellent advice on the things to do around the area and really made us feel welcomed! Hotel was a stand-alone very modern building in the middle of the farm. Room was more of an apartment with a small living room, bedroom and kids loved "tree house" type room in the attic were they slept! We could see cows and donkey right outside our window. The entire family didn't want to leave this place! Very nice breakfast, made pancakes for kids on request which was very much appreciated! Very close to Poas Volcano and to La Paz Waterfall. Thank you Altura Hotel to great memories on our trip to CR!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you for such a nice and heartfelt description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers with the best service possible. Such remarks regarding our facilities and staff encourage us to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us.
And its great to have such a good feedback regarding our cousin´s performance and well meant intention manner, we will most certainly let her know..

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We got to "Altura" after a long ride, after sunset. We found a great place, well beyond our normal standards (that are far from being low...). The brothers Alejandro and Ramiro welcomed us and gave us great advises about the area. It was easy to see that they truly care about their guests and want us to enjoy Costa Rica as much as possible.
The garden and the farm animals, our huge room, the clean and spacious bathroom and the fireplace made us feel right at home.
And after all that, we were still amazed by the breakfast and coffee - the best we had in throughout our 3 weeks in Costa Rica.
And to make it clear how much I enjoyed from staying there - I decide to wake up at 5:50 am, becuase when I went to bed the night before I felt I didn't have the chance to enjoy the place enough. I spent a perfect morning reading in the garden and taking a walk around and felt like I am still dreaming :)

(And it's 5 minutes drive to Poas - Costa Rica most spectacular volcano...)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yigal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you truly for such a great description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers the best service possible through personalized attention . And such remarks as yours regarding our facilities, staff and sorroundings encourage us to keep trying our best to make your trip memorable, and hopefully encouraging you to enjoy our country during your visit.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Altura hotel is a nice fine small family owned hotel. as we understood the hotel was refurbished in the last few years. The room was great, clean and equipped. coffee machine, WIFI, TV, etc.. all in the room. but the heating was a bit weak. mentioned this to the clerk an it seems he is aware of the problem. the view is outstanding when it's clear. Poas volcano is a few minutes from the hotel.
we slept there at our first night straight from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ylorig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your great description of your time with us,
We thrive to offer our costumers the best expirience possible. None the less we are aware of our great surroundings which undoubtedly give us a hand in make it achivable.

looking foward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
4.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
6.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altura Hotel

Property: Altura Hotel
Address: Nr. Estacion de Servicio de Poasito, Poas Volcano National Park 20802, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Altura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altura Hotel is a small resort that blends the essence of the rural lifestyle with the comfort that offers a great hotel room, altogether at a mystical place filled with fog, rain, wild animals and an incomparable view of the central plateau and the Nicoyan Gulf on the Pacific coast.The Hotel located 24 km away from the city of Alajuela, and International Airport and 5 min drive from the Poas Volcano ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Altura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing