We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Altura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altura Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“NICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Comfortable beds, great hot showers. Ample breakfasts. Location is great for poas volcano and la paz waterfall. At night they light up an outside fireplace and you can look down towards San Jose. Would stay again.....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you for such a nice description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers with the best service possible. Such remarks regarding our facilities and staff encourage us to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us.
And its great to have such a good feedback .

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    43
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
121
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We picked Poas as a destination because it was close to San Jose so a good first night stop on our way from the airport to La Fortuna...and wow were we impressed by the hotel. Just gorgeous rooms - stylish, clean and comfortable. Same with the grounds, which overlook the san jose valley and are loaded with flowers, hiking paths, etc. The service was super too. In fact, we didn't have a car (long story) and they insisted on driving us everywhere rather than call cabs - really, it was wonderful - like staying with old friends.

Overall, if you are in Poas, I can't imagine a better place. And if you're looking a for a destination near San Jose, you may really enjoy Poas and Alura Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jspier00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us, through personalized attention and therefore becoming a memorable vacation.

We Look forward to be able to serve you again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

It is really a special place where this hotel is built. The architect also has done his utmost to make it a specialty. No expenses have been spared. But for us it was hard to stay and have a good sleep in a bed of 1.40 x 1.90 meter (for $125,-).. To make things worser there was a penetrant chemical smell in the room and it took till 2.00h in the night before we discovered somewhere down the electric smell dispenser (pura vida ?) that probably should give a fresh odor to the room. How glad we where we could stop it, although the chemical stink was still there. Wonder that the cold breakfast room didn't look inviting next morning? The breakfast however was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear costumer,

Altura Hotel truly regrets your unpleasent experience at our hotel, non the less feels obligated to share certain points worth mentioning. For example that the "smell" that you describe, could be related to Volcanic activity, fumes containing sulfur and other compounds which would explain a bad smell; considering we are very close to the volcano (less than 3 miles), and there have been recent activity, smell that would inpregnate the air even indoors. This of course after assesing the room for any particular smell, which was done by our staff.

Secondly the size of the bed is standard queen size, as shown in our hotels website, if
this could have been for you an important consideration, through a call or e-mail regarding this matter could have helped us to serve you better.

Thirdly, you have to keep in mind that we are located in a mountain of over 2000 meters high, therefore inherently cold, and surrounded by wilderness, an essential part of our beauty as a destination, and present everywhere.

Lastly, I would like to let you know that this review well be taken to our General Manager for his attention.


Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a repeat of my review under a different contributor name. Still a great place to stay.
"My husband and I stayed there in late February and it was a great experience. Very convenient to Volcan Poas Park and La Paz Gardens. The hotel is next to a small dairy farm and there are also livestock on the hotel property. Unique artistic touches fill the property. The rooms are modern, large and well decorated. There were lots of air freshener dispensers in use in our 1st floor room. My guess is to hide the scent from the livestock. So beware if you get reactions to air fresheners or farm animals. We were fine with it. I do wish there was a blow dryer provided. But that said, we really enjoyed our 2 night stay and would stay there again if in the area. Breakfast was great, but is the only meal available on the property. If we were people who could spend a relaxed week in a pastural setting we would have tried to stay longer. As a bonus, we happened to be present to see one of the neighbor's cows giving birth in the middle of the field. How many hotels can give you that that experience?"read less

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janaroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you, for making time to review our hotel again, without leaving any details out of your experience with us.

Hopefully you will come and visit us again in the future.

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our entire trip. Eight nights. Most travelers seemed to stay one or two nights and then moved on. Yes, this fabulous hotel is down a road that is challenging to most suspensions, but I began to view it as a security feature that keeps non visitors away. Your alarm clock in the morning will be the moping of cows or the wire d over the mountain. There are a number of great things to do within a short drive of here. We never got bored. The owners and workers are the Pura Vida, that is said so often. Both Robertos (the owner and the baby donkey) were a pleasure to interact with. Breakfast is awesome. The grounds are immaculate and well thought out. I spent a number of evenings reading by the fire pit or on the lower veranda. We stayed in room 3. I loved the loft, just remember the last step is a big one. The room is very comfortable and spacious. It felt like home from the moment we arrived. The mini fridge was an important piece for us since many restaurants close on the early side. Just don't take Antoinetta's soccer ball away. That sheepdog loves her ball.

Room Tip: Get the room with a loft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coldbrewky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your great description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us, through personalized attention and our great natural sorruondings. We hope to become a memorable vacation.
I'll make sure to let Roberto (the owner) know you where pleased with his attention, he will be more than pleased.

We Look forward to have you with us in s near future,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
552 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This little B&B might be a little hard to find, but its well worth the little effort it takes. When you first arrive you might be struck by the well manicured property, as well as the local donkey who effortlessly manicures the lawn .. lol. The gentlemen who met us and checked us in was extremely informative and very helpful when we asked about the surroundings of not only the hotel but also the nearby volcano. (you can recognise him by his large fashionable spectacles)

The rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable. Wifi is free and good. The views from the rooms are also wonderful. We woke to a great breakfast that was prepared 30min earlier than normal for us as we wanted to start our volcano expedition early as possible.. we were treated like special guests and made to feel right at home for our entire stay. I highly recommend this place for anyone interested in a comfortable stay that is just about as close to the volcano that you can get.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you for such a nice and heartfelt description of your experience with us,
We thrive to offer our customers the best service possible. Such remarks regarding our facilities and staff encourage us to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us.

And its great to have such a good feedback regarding Ramiro´s performance and well meant manner, we will most certainly let him know..

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The room was very clean, great views, funny to see cows out the window! We walked up the hill to eat dinner at a big restaurant. Breakfast on the property was good, fun to talk to other visitors. We got a ride to see the volcano Poas with Ramiro before our Sansa flight to Bahia Drake. Enjoyed talking about art with Ramiro. Very scenic area, lots of photo opportunities. The room (downstairs) was very attractive, with stone and wood, a little too cold for me. We would come back to Altura Hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the downstairs room nearest the dairy farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy78730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best and therefore becoming a memorable vacation. We hope you where able to enjoy the viewpoint's scenery too, superb on it's own way.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
5.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
6.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#14 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altura Hotel

Property: Altura Hotel
Address: Nr. Estacion de Servicio de Poasito, Poas Volcano National Park 20802, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Altura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altura Hotel is a small resort that blends the essence of the rural lifestyle with the comfort that offers a great hotel room, altogether at a mystical place filled with fog, rain, wild animals and an incomparable view of the central plateau and the Nicoyan Gulf on the Pacific coast.The Hotel located 24 km away from the city of Alajuela, and International Airport and 5 min drive from the Poas Volcano ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Altura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing