We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The suite is sweet”
Review of Altura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altura Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by the owner and he gave us a tour of the grounds then showed us to our suite which was really a small cottage with windows all the way around. It was super quiet and peaceful. Food was close by and it is settled in nature. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank mgwdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers the best service possible to be as one with the nature
all around the hotel.

We´re Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

One of the closest places you can stay to the Volcan Poas crater, the hotel has stunning views down to Alajuela and San Jose.

Wonderful architecture and clean rooms (although bizarre over use of plug-in air freshener), and a lovely spacious outside area with relaxed seating all over, and a large fire pit for the evenings.

The hosts family are extremely welcoming - we got driven out for dinner and taken to a local night time carnival, as well as being ferried to local sights such as the crater and nearby La Paz waterfall gardens.

The hotel also has lovely farm elements, with dogs, cows and donkeys on site, but never interfering with your stay (or smelling!).

Stayed with girlfriend in March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Altura Hotel thanks you for such a nice description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our custumers with the best service possible. Such remarks regarding our facilities and staff encourage us to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us.
And its great to have such a good feedback regarding Antonieta(dog) and Julieta(donkey), aswell as the other animals in the farm, loved by our customers because of their natural charm.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in two rooms with a family of 6 for two nights. The hotel was difficult to find at night, in a storm, but the reception area was lit up waiting for our arrival. The rooms are nice and clean with hot showers, modern tile, TVs, fridges, and great views. There are heaters in the room and, in July, in a storm, we needed them. We slept very well.

The hotel grounds are fun and beautiful and perfect for children. There are sweet donkeys, friendly dogs, playhouses, swing sets, gardens, and neighboring cows. Unfortunately it was freezing, windy, and stormy during our stay, so we weren't able to fully enjoy the grounds.

The breakfast was great and substantial. We had fruit, coffee, tea hot chocolate, bread, cereals, eggs, beans and rice, cheese, and plantains. The wifi was spotty, but worked well in the breakfast room.

We weren't able to go to the volcano because of the weather, but we did go to the waterfall gardens which was fine to visit in the rain. It is a zoo and restaurant with beautiful natural waterfalls. The hotel was able to secure a driver to take us on very short notice.

There aren't food options in walking distance so we picked up snacks from the market for the evening. Had the weather been nicer, they have a fire pit outside they offered to light for us.

This hotel is 30-45 minutes from the airport so would make a good first or last stop in Costa Rica if you want to avoid the bigger cities.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank florca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks you for your great description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers the best service possible.
Therefore it is gratifying to read your review.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent small hotel on a volcano, very private, next to a dairy farm and with an outstanding view of the valley and the mountains. This hotel is a labor of love for a CR physician and his family. Art everywhere, wonderful appointments and room design and beautiful location and large and friendly gardens. The rooms (I think there are five rooms and a cottage) are large and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and attentive. It's only a few miles from the Poas Volcano National Park. I'd certainly stay there again. A little advice: it's way up the mountain (ca. 6000') and you'll need a jacket or sweater at night; a car is a good idea as there is nothing in the area except a few (good) but isolated restaurants, and the volcano is a few miles away.We arrived by taxi but the staff made sure we got wherever we needed to go.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but the second floor gives the best view. The cottage should be great if there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you truly for such a great description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers the best service possible through personalized attention . And such remarks as yours regarding our facilities, staff and sorroundings encourage us to keep trying our best to make your trip memorable, and hopefully encouraging you to enjoy our country during your visit.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This place was awesome. The surroundings were beautiful, with a hidden patio over an expansive view where you can drink a glass of wine (which they sell by the bottle at the hotel) while watching the sunset.

The rooms are beautiful, clean, and elegant and the staff is friendly and warm.

The included breakfast and dining room were perfect as well.

If you are going to Poas, stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstanwyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best.

We Look forward to be able to serve you again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We - myself, my husband and my 2.5yr old daughter had been travelling for 5 weeks throughout Costa Rica and this was the last place we stayed for two nights before leaving. It is close enough to San Jose to leave the morning of travel and drive 45 min to San Jose airport which already is a major convenience if you are wanting to avoid staying in the city (we did stay in Alajuela on our way in for a night but wanted to avoid urban environment as much as possible).

The whole staff including Ramiro, an incredibly friendly architect who manages the property and is part of the design team for Altura, son muy amable! We returned our rental car in San Jose near the airport and only then realized we'd forgotten our important backpack carry-on -- phoned Ramiro and he drove it down promptly without hesitation - amazing service!! It was in our hands in San Jose airport within the hour - what a gentleman and so kind. We paid for gas and for his time though he didn't ask for that, we insisted. He refused my offer to buy him an espresso at the chic airport Lavazza coffee shop where he came to meet us but did give our daughter a hug and a huge smile. THANK YOU :)

My daughter enjoyed EVERY aspect of the property including: the cat Lulu (adorable), the donkey and her baby, the dog Antonietta (fluffy sheep dog who is so cuddly and friendly), the swing, the tree house, the toadstools, the benches, the massive expanse of wandering gardens/lawn, the cows nearby, the little mini garden house she could go in and out of - all of it. We enjoyed the hammocks and all the seating outside in order to watch our daughter and relax at the end of a huge trip. Loved the outside fire when it got cold in the evening with our cocktail which we mixed in our fantastically cool, slick, modern room.

Very close to Poas Nationcal Parque - we walked around there and waited about 30min at the peak for the fog/mist to clear before seeing the beautiful active crater.

The sleep was super comfortable and the bed was one of the best we had in a hotel in Costa Rica. The room was spotless and set up with everything we needed. We asked for extra coffee for the morning since our daughter was on some kind of crazy early morning rise schedule and they provided it gladly. Room service was great. I would have liked a better heater for the room as our room was rather chilly but it didn't affect our ability to enjoy our time and I was glad to have packed my down-jacket from BC Canada. The rooms are modern, clean, sleek, non-cluttered and the bedding/pillows/blankets are all fresh as well. Nothing is damp or dank or old or musty.

The whole design of the place is cool. I love all the funky features and design aspects including the main reception area too. The reception washroom is gorgeous. The use of light and windows is very well done as well.

My only suggestion would be around the food. We were surprised the spectacularly delicious local mora and fresas (blackberries and strawberries) were not featured as part of the breakfast. We bought them multiple times from road-side farmers/sellers and they tasted incredible....seems a shame not to highlight them at breakfast. If they cost more than the other fruit given then perhaps provide a smaller amount - quality over quantity. The main breakfast was simple and well done but the same every day. Would be nice to offer something a bit different day to day I guess for those staying more than a night. Simple, nothing extravagant. Or even ask people how they'd like the eggs if possible. Also the plain white bread for toast is a bit yucky. Easy to get nicely baked bread that is more wholesome for toast. I would suggest mantequilla (butter) over margarine as well, less chemicals and again, a natural food (there is afterall, a lovely old dairy farmer on the neighbouring property with about 45 cows!!)

Fabulous stay, Perfect place for 2-3 nights. Lovely staff. Only improvements are minor and around the food in my mind. THANK YOU :) If we are ever there again, we'd stay at this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharmeen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear customer,

Altura Hotel truly thanks your description of your experience with us, and feels encouraged by it to keep trying our best and therefore becoming a memorable vacation. We ´ll make shure to Ramiro
knows about yor review.

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed 1 night at the altura hotel while making our way to la fortuna. Arranged for a shuttle to drive us from sjo ~1.5 hrs - windy but paved.

The owners of this small hotel really took care of us. They gave us a ride to the poas volcano and back and made sure we were able to walk to the 2 restaurant options just up the hill.

Pros: good shower, clean room, heater works well enough, very close to poas volcano, delicious costa rican breakfast included, cute and thoughtful details throughout the property, playful dog and cool burros on property.

Cons: bed is a little on the soft side for my tastes, better to have a rental car (we did not!), spotty wifi, bring warm clothes as it was windy /cold when we were there

Staying at this rural (by my standards) hotel is an experience in of itself.
There are so many details on this remote property nestled in the mountains. Would stay here if you are looking for something different than a standard hotel and are prepared that you may not see the poas crater due to the weather! Definitely a good alternative to staying in San Jose/alajuela enroute to La Fortuna. Waterfall gardens are also nearby, but we did not have time to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowbear613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiji2076, Public Relations Manager at Altura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear customer,

Altura Hotel thanks you for such a description of your experience with us,
we thrive to offer our customers with the best service possible. Such remarks regarding our facilities and staff encourage us to keep trying our best to make you feel at home with us.
And its great to have such a good feedback .

Looking forward to have you with us again,

Best regards
Alejandro Esquivel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poas Volcano National Park
1.8 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
5.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,308 reviews
6.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
368 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
700 reviews
6.5 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altura Hotel

Address: Nr. Estacion de Servicio de Poasito, Poas Volcano National Park 20802, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Poas Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poas Volcano National Park
Price Range: £92 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altura Hotel is a small resort that blends the essence of the rural lifestyle with the comfort that offers a great hotel room, altogether at a mystical place filled with fog, rain, wild animals and an incomparable view of the central plateau and the Nicoyan Gulf on the Pacific coast.The Hotel located 24 km away from the city of Alajuela, and International Airport and 5 min drive from the Poas Volcano ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Altura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing