We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different caldera than HI but interesting”
Review of Poas Volcano

Poas Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.11*
and up
Half-Day Trip to Poas Volcano from San Jose
More Info
US$107.00*
and up
Costa Rica Day Trip from San Jose
More Info
US$168.14*
and up
Private Tour: Coffee Plantation, Poas Volcano and La Paz Waterfall from San...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Different caldera than HI but interesting”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Living in HI, i thought this would be rather boring. But surprisingly, it wasn't. It's not as interesting as HI Volcano National Park because you don't get to walk around the rim and experience the different tpes of lava flows but it was still good. You view it from up high and you can see right into the middle. They have a ride up to the observatory if you need it but it's a pretty easy walk for people without disabilities.

Helpful?
Thank retired43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,662
    915
    349
    97
    35
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cloud Forest plus a Volcano”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We were fortunate as we had a supremely clear day to view an active volcano.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim11502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was so much different than Arenal which we visited on a previous trip. Seeing the smoke coming out of the crater was incredible. The walk up to the lake looked like you were going through an enchanted forest from a movie. I only wish people had warned us about the temperature difference. We went early in the morning so it would be clear and it was quite chilly, particularly compared to what we had gotten used to in Pavones. You will want a jacket at least. Otherwise it was amazing!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Expediciones Tropicales – half day Volcán Poás tour”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The brochure and website show a clear day at Volcán Poás, with the promise that you too will enjoy seeing the impressive main crater and learning about the different ecosystems found in the park around the volcano. However, after circling the city picking up other passengers for at least an hour, we slowly made our way out of the city with some interesting commentary from our guide – but as we got closer to the park we ran into rain and increasing fog. At the top, we were dropped off at the visitor centre, completely enveloped in thick fog and heavy rain, with instructions to be back at the front door in two hours. So much for our guide. We walked to the edge of the crater, but with the fog so thick, we could barely see the guide rail, and certainly not the crater. Cold and soaked, we returned to the visitor centre for some hot tea, and learned from park staff that it rains most of the time and that the crater is frequently hidden by clouds and fog. When we all got back into the bus, there was no further commentary, or acknowledgement that the visit had been much less than promised. Because we were only doing the half-day tour and others on the bus were doing the full day option, everyone had to sit waiting in the bus for our connection, and then when it arrived, we joined others in the second bus that were waiting for yet another connection – it all felt very unorganized, haphazard, and tourist unfriendly. We were finally returned to our hotel almost two hours later than promised; fortunately we did not have any afternoon commitments. Obviously the tour company cannot control the weather, but they could be more honest about what we might see and have a “plan b” if the weather prevents full enjoyment of the promised itinerary. Otherwise it is just about taking money from tourists.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Don_G_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice sight -- if you go early and you are lucky!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Poas is so nice, not only because its crater offers an amazing view, but all around that area gives me peace. Even the ride up there is really wonderful. You have to be aware that there is a possibility you wont' be able to see the volcano. To see the crater you have to go on a day that is very clear and when is early in the morning. After 10am there is usually too much fog to see it. Beware that if it's cloudy in San Jose the day you are planning to go , you won't be able to see the crater at all. If you want to have the best chance to see the crater, wake up at 5:30am when the sun comes out. Look up towards the northern mountains. If you can clearly see the peaks of the mountains with no clouds... get out of bed, get dressed and leave for Poas. If the sky is gray or if you can see clouds by the mountains, stay in bed.

If you go to Poas, plan to be there at 8:00 am for your best chance to see the crater and the Potos lagoon. During the rainy season (June to November), it rains every afternoon, but it gets cloudy about 10am, sometimes earlier. On the rare clear days, most of them in the dry season (December to May) you can still get clouds coming in and out, specially after that hour. If you ignore what I wrote because you wanted to sleep more, or because you are simply too stubborn to follow any advice and you only read reviews in tripadvisor because you are force to do so, or if you have no choice on choosing the day to go and you find the crater covered with clouds: Be patient. Sometimes there is a clear and you might be able to see something, specially after rain. Good Luck! Al Que Madruga Dios lo Ayuda

Helpful?
5 Thank pitirrewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poas Volcano also viewed

Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Braulio Carrillo National Park, Province of Limon
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Poas Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing