We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
37
18
2
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
18
2
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful placeno hot watercosta ricaviewrestaurantwindyshowerfriendshome
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2015

This was our first stop on a 2 week trip. It was my husband and my first time to Costa Rica and this was by far our favorite place we stayed. The hotel was a little difficult for us to find, the GPS we originally rented with our rental car was unable to locate it. We ended up having to stop a couple of times along the way for help with directions but the locals were so helpful and friendly. Sarchi is a fantastic area full of wonderful people.
Once we arrived at the hotel, it was gorgeous. The view from our private deck was breathtaking and we fully enjoyed sitting outside in the evening just listening to the sounds and watching fireflies. It was the most peaceful experience.
The rooms were great; clean, comfortable and we had plenty of space to spread out. There was a mini-fridge that worked great, a nice small table and a small TV. The wifi did not reach our room but we enjoyed walking up to the front desk area to check email or make calls while chatting with the staff.
The restaurant served amazing food when they were open; we visited during the off season so we had to check with the front desk as to when they would be open. A few times the restaurant would be closed but they must live very close because they would run down, cook our order then deliver to our room or to the front desk. They never seemed bothered to help, always more than willing to bring down our food for us which was more than appreciated. The restaurant is up the hill from the hotel, but it was a short 5 minute walk along a narrow road. It is not a sight to be missed as it sits up on a hill with a gorgeous view overlooking the hillside. They have a pool table and very friendly, helpful staff. We highly recommend asking about the local drink they make in house; cannot remember what they called it but it is made with local berries and home made liquor. We were given shots of it each time we went, even with breakfast and ended up purchasing a bottle.
The highlight of our trip to the hotel was one of the staff taking us on a tour of the area. He led us to a nearby waterfall and some lagoons that were far off the beaten path. Our spanish is minimal and so was his english but we had such a great time teaching each other phrases and words.
We later stayed near Tamarindo and Jaco but Sarchi was by far our favorite area and Hotel Alto Palomo was a major reason we enjoyed our stay. The staff is 1st class, the view and food is to die for. It is not a 5 star hotel by American standards; the shower takes some getting used to in order to get hot water, there isn't cable TV and you probably won't have wifi in your room but why do you want to spend all you time consumed with technology when you are in such a beautiful place filled with wonderful people? You will be hard pressed to find an area with better people and better ambiance.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altopalomo, Director de Recepción at Hotel Alto Palomo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Doña Jennifer thank you very much for your comment. It was a pleasure for us to serve you and will even see them again in our hotel. With respect to liquor you take that call "spirit of the mountain" and again whenever we can send him home. Jajajajajajajajajaj. Maybe you come by parcel. Saludes and Blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

We booked this through a vacation package deal for seven nights. It was very windy and cold and the metal roof rattling kept us up most of the night. There was also no hot water and so we never bathed. We left after three nights although we had paid for seven.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altopalomo, Gerente at Hotel Alto Palomo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinión.
Lamentamos que su experiencia en nuestro hotel no aya sido la mejor, tomaremos sus opiniones en cuenta para poder mejorar en nuestro servicio al cliente.
Estamos para servirle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We recently visited Alto Palomo for several days.The hotel is in the mountains and was surprisingly cold, if visiting be sure to bring some warm clothing. The views were incredible and the area very tranquil. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is somewhat remote and requires quite a drive to get there. Our GPS lost connection many times slowing down our journey. The internet was down the entire time but did have cell signal. The price for this place is quite good however we did have some issues with Food. The first night we ordered food from the restaurant and got incredibly sick, which lasted several days. We suspect due to low occupancy the food may have been kept around longer than it should have. I recommend taking your own food & snacks.
Also, be aware that you can hear everything from the neighbouring room. There is no sound proofing at all. This can make for interesting back ground noise!
In any event this is a nice place to stay for a few nights to relax just eat at your own risk! Lol

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catty_Vega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altopalomo, Gerente at Hotel Alto Palomo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinión, estamos para servirle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014 via mobile

The rooms have great view. Accommodation is nice and comfortable. Could use cable TV. There is a trail inside the property, very nice for a morning walk. Landscapes in general are great, and road to the hotel is paved. Food and attention at the restaurant was remarkable. Despite the restaurant is 300 meters away from the rooms, you just need to take a quick walk or get there in your car. If someone feels
distance is too long, then he/she should go stay at a boring city hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LuisCa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altopalomo, Gerente at Hotel Alto Palomo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinión, estamos para servirle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I visited the hotel with my girl friend on june 29th. The room was excellent a King side bed with a breathtaking view in the balcony. The room had a hottub but you have to fill it using the shower bath and since the watter is so cold we did not use it. I strongly recommend you to take the guided walk, its around 1:30 hiking walk around the whole property by one of the owners. In regards of the restaurant the breakfast was really good, fruts, coffee or tea and gallo pinto. BTW there is no cable TV on the rooms and it could be a rainy and cold night so try to bring a movie or your PC.

Room Tip: Room 8 was terrific, the only drawback is that there is no wi-fi on that room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altopalomo, Gerente at Hotel Alto Palomo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su opinión, estamos para servirle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews